View Full Version : River Mulloway

setthehook
04-05-2003, 05:11 PM
;DThis jewie took my RMG diver on the 3rd cast in daylight.I was pretty wrapt with this fish.

setthehook
04-05-2003, 05:15 PM
:) :)This my fishn buddy Nathanial who drives 10 hours from melbourne. Here we are at the Shoalhaven River.

setthehook
04-05-2003, 05:18 PM
I caught this mulloway on 3kg line.Probably my favourite jewie fight.

setthehook
04-05-2003, 05:20 PM
These 2 I caught whilst fishing a comp.They were just what i needed to win.I was using live mullet.

setthehook
04-05-2003, 05:22 PM
This jewie took a live yellowtail on 4kg line.

setthehook
04-05-2003, 05:25 PM
;)

setthehook
04-05-2003, 05:27 PM
::)

setthehook
04-05-2003, 05:30 PM
:P http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm13.gif

setthehook
04-05-2003, 05:37 PM
This is my Bait box. Works unreal keeping up to 20 baits alive all night without changing the water. Plus the mullet can't jump out!!! http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm44.gif

setthehook
05-05-2003, 12:29 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm41.gif

setthehook
05-05-2003, 12:33 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm17.gif

Slates
07-05-2003, 05:46 AM
Great fish STH.

Ever fished the Barwon River in Vic?

Cheers, NS

setthehook
07-05-2003, 07:20 PM
No mate never fished in Vic. I have tried Batemans bay but no luck there.All these fish are from the Shoalhaven river in Nowra N.S.W.I have a friend in Carrum Downs Vic and he comes up here each year to fish with me and he tells me not to bother fishing Vic cause i have it all here?????

Slates
08-05-2003, 04:38 PM
yeah, good point! ;D

SherKahn
16-05-2003, 08:51 AM
Could u post what u used to make the bait tank please as am looking for something the same to make for boat that is easily moved.

setthehook
17-05-2003, 05:31 AM
No Worries
I used a clear 90 litre tub with a lid. Dont get a cheap one as the plastic is to brittle. Make sure the plastic is pretty tough.I aslo bought 2 air pumps from the local tackle store.I paid a little extra for water proof pumps as i stand in the rain alot when fishing for jewies.The pumps came with air stones but i through them away as after a while they crumble and brake.I bought 2 plastic air pieces instead from an aquirium shop.These will last forever.
Once you have this stuff, drill 2 hole in the lid at one end in both corners just big enough to slide the air hose in.On the air pumps there is a hook, Measure the hook and make 2 more holes the same size to fit the pumps on.
If you want you could also cut a door in the lid and put a hinge,handle and latch for easy bait scooping.Thats my next step.
All up it cost me
Box-$30
2 pumps-$40
Airstones-$2
$72.00

Im going to build a huge one soon useing a 120lt box.
Here is a better pic of the box, I used it for garfish here while fishing for bluefin up north.
Hope this helps. ;D

SherKahn
17-05-2003, 05:58 AM
Thanks ;D

spinna
18-05-2003, 01:11 PM
Setthehook
Good to see you on here and great to see someone else from the shoalhaven in here. Now lets see how good your memory is. Do you remember sitting in our cars one night as it was pelting down rain at the island you had gotten there late.
See you out there soon 8)

cheers spinna ;) ::)

setthehook
18-05-2003, 04:39 PM
Hmmmmm
Lets see????
Im always late, :-/
Seems to rain out there about 50 % off the time, ???
Got me bugged???
give me a hint!!! :P

spinna
20-05-2003, 05:14 PM
Hmmm
let me see i was in a white ute and when i was going i gave you some nice bait size mullet the ones you had may have been a tad big. I had one rod in the stump root to the left from the seats. Im not sure what the tides are doing this weekend but i may see you out there if your going. If the tides are no good ill hit kinghorn.

cheers spinna 8) ;)

setthehook
21-05-2003, 07:09 PM
Say no more!!
Sold my car mate and now i have a lowered V8, Got worries about getting out the island in it!!! Especially after all that rain.Maybe a canoe would be more suitable!!! ::)
Never hit kinghorn, Might give it a try soon.Let me know how you go.
Cheers Rob.

spinna
24-05-2003, 03:18 PM
Hey setthehook
You will have to let me know when you take the new car out there as i think that i would get some great pics to post when you try to go through some of those bloody big holes :o ::). If i get out to kinghorn on the weekend i'll let you know how i go as the tides aren't looking good for the island.

cheers spinna ;) 8)