View Full Version : Show us your weather shots!

imnotoriginal
27-12-2006, 02:33 PM
Hey guys,
Would be interested in seeing some of the freaky stuff mother nature can throw at us out on the water. I love watching lightning burst across the sky, as well as big cloud fronts and those water spiral thingies (I'm sure someone will give the correct name for it). So how about it, your best shots of wild weather out on the water!

I'll start us off with this big storm coming in over the bay last year. My sister got this photo from the Micat as she was heading home from Moreton.
Joel

jimmybob
27-12-2006, 09:01 PM
wow thats a cool pic!
this pic mite be a bit off track.......but its dry out at north pine

Pistol_Pete
28-12-2006, 09:29 AM
Heres a nice storm in Noosa....

28-12-2006, 05:32 PM
The deckie, dogs and me..........rain moving in on the Lake District UK

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/abovetheclouds.jpg

Shower over corn field Scotland

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/ShoweroverPitlochrey.jpg

Breaking light after storm Blackpool UK

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/walls.jpg

Breaking light after storm Blackpool UK

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/cenotaphasstormclears.jpg

Clearing storm at dusk Blackpool UK

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/sea1.jpg

My last home in the UK and why I left ;D

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/homeuk.jpg

imnotoriginal
28-12-2006, 06:54 PM
Some fantastic shots there! And that English Rugby League Player thought Blackpool was better than Bondi.... :o Yeah right!
Joel

28-12-2006, 07:28 PM
The one of the tower............"clearing storm at dusk" isn't ::) ::)

From the sun's position I would say that was shortly after mid-day (west coast).............another reason why I left.............not a soul to be seen..............bloody pommy wusses ::) ;D

Jeeeeeeeeez! I must be old..............it's a bugger when you can't remember what time of day that you took a shot ::) ;D

onerabbit
28-12-2006, 08:17 PM
Here's a waterspout off Ballina that chased us around a bit, then just fizzed right in front of us.

onerabbit
28-12-2006, 08:21 PM
At the time, the wave on the right of the funnel looked to be about 15ft high.

super_mackerel
30-12-2006, 02:02 AM
Hey mate

This pic is 30 min before the storm attacked, I can’t take any photos later because I was to hurry to reached the earth, this is what we called (the silence that come before the storm).

Cheers & happy new fishing year

Murad

Foolish_Chicken
30-12-2006, 06:35 AM
Pics are looking north towards top of Moreton. I'm glad I didn't stick around.

Foolish_Chicken
30-12-2006, 06:36 AM
A few mins later

imnotoriginal
30-12-2006, 05:37 PM
Wags- very familiar sight that one. Was playing volleyball at tanga one year, facing south and watching this big storm just rolling up the island. Minute we felt a raindrop we bolted for cover about 10m away and still got soaked. When they start, they start damn quickly.

Murad- great shot mate, definitely the calm before the storm. Did you make it home dry that day?

Muzz- waterspout! That's what I was talking about in the first post. Good photo, would love to see one of them myself
Joel

30-12-2006, 06:23 PM
A sad note to the shot of the tower.

I heard on the news yesterday that a helicopter had gone down killing all 7 on board heading for a gas rig 20 miles offshore.

If you look along the sea wall to the foot of the tower where the last wave is breaking on the wall, that is the ramp where the lifeboat used to launch, and yes, they do head out in those kind of seas. Nearby Lytham St Annes and Fleetwood lifeboats also encounter similar conditions

It has brought home to me just how brave those volunteers are and how lucky I am to be living here. Those kind of seas are present for at least a quarter of the winter months and even sometimes in summer.

http://www.btinternet.com/~m.fish/stations/blackpool.htm

super_mackerel
30-12-2006, 07:45 PM
I dont think so ;D;D ;D ;D
LOL

Cheers Murad

gunnabuild1
03-01-2007, 09:24 PM
Breaking Light After Storm Blackpool UK.Great shot Kingtin they obviously know how to build a seawall in the UK.
Thank God my however many greats granddaddy got caught stealing that hogshead of yeast all those years ago.

caloundra
03-01-2007, 09:54 PM
a huge front heading our way january 04

Daniel

caloundra
03-01-2007, 09:55 PM
it covered the hole sky

I'm glad I was home that day

Daniel

super_mackerel
03-01-2007, 11:42 PM
Wow :o, nice shots mate

Cheers Murad

imnotoriginal
04-01-2007, 08:30 PM
Fantastic photo Daniel! I'd love to have had a view of the storm that followed.
Joek

caught-ya
05-01-2007, 10:32 AM
there some nice weather shots!! :o ;D

i wouldnt like to be in one of those out on the water !!

keep em' coming

bassamundi,

fishel
05-01-2007, 03:23 PM
Here's a waterspout off Ballina that chased us around a bit, then just fizzed right in front of us.

Cool waterspout.

fishel
05-01-2007, 03:23 PM

Cool waterspout.

marty+jojo
06-01-2007, 01:09 PM
A perfect morning at Redcliffe... lookn across at MoretonIsland
:) ;D :D :) ;D :D

harry_h01
16-01-2007, 02:06 PM
A storm rolling in over Gladstone - looking back from Hummock Hill Island

Harry

DaMaGe
16-01-2007, 02:24 PM
Twister thing working of Double Island point...

onerabbit
10-02-2007, 02:15 PM
Where have all the pics gone???

imnotoriginal
10-02-2007, 07:37 PM
The pics on all old posts got lost when steve converted the site to the new software I believe...
Joel

The BeaR
25-03-2007, 11:11 PM
I love trying to catch lightning. Arm gets tired waiting between strikes though. But here is a good one I caught.

kingtin
05-04-2007, 01:03 PM
I love trying to catch lightning. Arm gets tired waiting between strikes though. But here is a good one I caught.

If you've got a B setting on your camera and a tripod, simply open the shutter and place a piece of card over the lens. As the lightning flashes, remove the card and then place it back quickly. You can do this a number of times to show multiple strikes on one photo.

The BeaR
05-04-2007, 01:14 PM
Thanks for the advise Kev, I will definately give that a go. That's when and if we get another storm.LOL

08-04-2007, 10:42 AM
2 Sunrise shotslooking at North Straddy and a storm coming in south of Blackwater.

imnotoriginal
09-04-2007, 07:43 PM
Here's a few more from Carl's (fish_outta_water) trip to Aus. One is the tanga jetty at sunset, another two of the wrecks at night and one of a storm taken from Tokara canal while we were popper fishing.
Joel

fish_outta_water
09-04-2007, 08:01 PM
hi all
sorry no posts for awhile trying build a website for my photos and videos , keeping me busy , still unfinished but theres loads of photos , and some fishing vids uploaded www.carlokill.demon.co.uk (http://www.carlokill.demon.co.uk) , still to buy a domain name too
all the best and see some of you in bout six months

SIRO
10-04-2007, 08:55 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Owner\My Documents\paul

bdowdy
22-03-2008, 12:42 PM
fiji sunsetssum

bdowdy
22-03-2008, 01:13 PM
storm over fijian islands:o sum

Rocket01
23-03-2008, 10:10 PM
After the 80mph winds that knocked my fence down last weekend :'(
It has just started to snow :( :'(

Can't wait to move out this Country.

http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o304/rocket577/DSC00256.jpg

24-03-2008, 09:00 AM
Heres a couple i have come accross over the years not over water but.....

groverwa
24-03-2008, 02:52 PM
Just a couple of pics

The Causuarina Boat Harbour at Bunbury, Western Australia at sunset.

The sunset taken from the Bunbury Sea Rescue boat when I was member. We were towing the stern section of a yacht that broke up some months before up near Mandurah.

Cammy
26-03-2008, 10:50 PM
here are some of mine, the first one is at kurwongbah dam on sunset, and the second and third is NPD on dusk.

Cammo

Mrs Ronnie H
28-03-2008, 05:29 PM
This was taken from Bribie island, looking towards Caloundra. Lots of lighting just after this was taken

Ronnie

Cammy
28-03-2008, 09:37 PM
hmm looks like my pics didnt work

Rocket01
04-04-2008, 05:29 PM
And it never even snowed yesterday.

http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o304/rocket577/DSC00293.jpg

Bubba Gump
08-04-2008, 09:09 AM
Something a bit different. I took this shot of my mate while we were spey fishing for Atlantic salmon on the Mirimichi River in Canada. We were up every morning at about 7am and this one morning the fog rolled in.

bdowdy
08-04-2008, 03:29 PM
nice photo bubba gump. cheers bdowdy..brett

raben
01-05-2008, 09:54 PM
Just another day on the pine @ DWB ;)

imnotoriginal
02-05-2008, 07:47 PM
Here's a few nice ones. Lovely calm day at Twin Waters and a sunrise at Golden Beach.
Joel

kingtin
10-05-2008, 08:56 AM
An afternoon at Noosa:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/Portfolio/1068603-1-blue-series-dead-calm.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/Portfolio/1067023-2-holding-on.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/Portfolio/1072193-2-the-slabs-alexandria-beac.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/Portfolio/1072318-1-towards-picnic-cove.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/Portfolio/1076859-2-blue-series-dead-calm-2.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/Portfolio/1080317-1-holding-on-2.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/Portfolio/1088505-2-fun-in-the-surf.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/Portfolio/1091541-1-granite-bay.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/Portfolio/1091738-1-granite-bay-2.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/Portfolio/1083832-1-picnic-cove.jpg

compared to pommyland! ;D

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b182/bidkev/Portfolio/1067246-1-angry-sea-4.jpgkev

imnotoriginal
12-05-2008, 08:11 PM
Saw these on your website above Kev. I love the blackpool one, it looks like something out of a Stephen King novel! How do you get such vibrant blues in your photos?
Joel

kingtin
12-05-2008, 10:00 PM
Saw these on your website above Kev. I love the blackpool one, it looks like something out of a Stephen King novel! How do you get such vibrant blues in your photos?
Joel

The Blackpool one (colour) is a fluke. I left the undeveloped film in the car in full sunlight and it changed the properties of the film.

Joel, I try my best to capture what I see, but what our brain recognises, (compensates for), often film or digital doesn't. Like the old adage.....the camera doesn't lie.

We often see what we want to see, but I know that the camera won't depict it that way, so when our brain sees through glare and recognises deep blues, the camera doesn't, so I help it along with a polarising filter that cuts down the glare (shine) and sees through to the colour.

You can further enhance that by using photoshop. As blue is a primary colour, you can tell photoshop to enhance blues, and no other colour. If you told it to "saturate colour" it would saturate all colour, so the blue would still not predominate. You need to "visualise" a pic where blue is predominant 'cause blue represents Qld and sunshine.The skill is taking a pic with no other blues in it, other than what you want to enhance. ie if you want to enhance blue sky and water, just make sure there's nobody in the pic wearing blue rimmed glasses ;D

Folk sometimes think of photoshop as cheating, but it is no different than manipulating in an old fashioned darkroom.............it's still a skill that has to be learned and a skill that is useless if you don't initially "capture the moment" via the camera lens.

Bubba Gump
13-05-2008, 10:59 AM
Hey kingtin, great pictures. The last time I went to Blackpool it did not look like that. Dare I say thet Noosa is a bit cleaner than Blackpool down on the beach!!

Bubba Gump
13-05-2008, 11:05 AM
Here is a shot off the front of my property in Fiji, not a bad day!

kingtin
13-05-2008, 11:43 AM
Hey kingtin, great pictures. The last time I went to Blackpool it did not look like that. Dare I say thet Noosa is a bit cleaner than Blackpool down on the beach!!

Yeah, at Noosa, you don't have to wade through condoms and donkey shit ;D

imnotoriginal
13-05-2008, 08:32 PM
The Blackpool one (colour) is a fluke. I left the undeveloped film in the car in full sunlight and it changed the properties of the film.

Joel, I try my best to capture what I see, but what our brain recognises, (compensates for), often film or digital doesn't. Like the old adage.....the camera doesn't lie.

We often see what we want to see, but I know that the camera won't depict it that way, so when our brain sees through glare and recognises deep blues, the camera doesn't, so I help it along with a polarising filter that cuts down the glare (shine) and sees through to the colour.

You can further enhance that by using photoshop. As blue is a primary colour, you can tell photoshop to enhance blues, and no other colour. If you told it to "saturate colour" it would saturate all colour, so the blue would still not predominate. You need to "visualise" a pic where blue is predominant 'cause blue represents Qld and sunshine.The skill is taking a pic with no other blues in it, other than what you want to enhance. ie if you want to enhance blue sky and water, just make sure there's nobody in the pic wearing blue rimmed glasses ;D

Folk sometimes think of photoshop as cheating, but it is no different than manipulating in an old fashioned darkroom.............it's still a skill that has to be learned and a skill that is useless if you don't initially "capture the moment" via the camera lens.

Cheers for that Kev. So far, I've been focussing on getting it right at the moment the photo's taken, composition, rule of thirds, focus etc... I figure you can photoshop at any time, bit hard to go back and change the angle or placement of the subject later:P . How much does a polarising filter cost? Would this help like polarising sunnies and get you less glare on shots of fish in the water?
Joel

kingtin
14-05-2008, 06:50 AM
Cheers for that Kev. So far, I've been focussing on getting it right at the moment the photo's taken, composition, rule of thirds, focus etc... I figure you can photoshop at any time, bit hard to go back and change the angle or placement of the subject later:P . How much does a polarising filter cost? Would this help like polarising sunnies and get you less glare on shots of fish in the water?
Joel

Yeah Joel, that's what it does, cut down the glare so you can see through to the colour. They work best when the sun is at 90 degrees to whatever you're photographing. If you have the sun directly behind you or in front, it'll make no difference at all. You jut rotate the filter till you see it darken and the glare disappear

imnotoriginal
14-05-2008, 05:41 PM
Cheers Kev. What sort of price would the filter set me back? I'm using the fuji s5700.
Joel

kingtin
14-05-2008, 05:48 PM
Cheers Kev. What sort of price would the filter set me back? I'm using the fuji s5700.
Joel

What size filter thread on the fuji? They vary according to size. My wide angle has a 77mm thread and that bugger cost me a hundred bucks. My standard lens is 58mm and that cost about 35 bucks. I have a spare that you can have at 55mm if that's the thread on yours?

edit; OK, just found out that yours is only a 46 thread si it may be cheaper because of it's size or it may be dearer because of economy of scale (not a lot of cameras have that thread so not as much demand). If it is excessively dear, price a step up ring from 46 to 55 which may only be a couple of bucks and then you can have this spare of mine.

imnotoriginal
14-05-2008, 06:55 PM
Cheers Kev. Will probably be a while before I invest in that. At the moment I have to save up for a big beach rod so I can go jewfishing with Pete! In the meantime I'll just look at my photos with my sunnies on:2vrolijk_08: :hammer:
Joel

imnotoriginal
15-05-2008, 09:38 PM
I've tried to enhance the photo using the program that came with the camera. I think it's improved the colours in the shot. The altered image is on the right.
Joel

catfishkid
31-05-2008, 09:18 AM
here are a few of my pics,the first two are a storm that hit redcliffe a couple of years ago,these pics were taken less than 1 minute apart,the weather in tin can bay and blue moon setting over lake pedder in tassie,

ifishcq1
31-05-2008, 02:14 PM
1 & 2 at the Illawarra range with young Nashy bagged on spannoes and a good feed of reefies bloody storm came up in 20 mins we skirted it getting a little wet and watched Yeppoon get 132mm rain in 18minutes

winter, 10am high a glass off and the bay chocka with mackerel

SL