PDA

View Full Version : Moreton Bay More Green Zones

whichway
07-01-2006, 10:24 AM
Hi

Heard on the radio that some groups have plans to significantly increase the green zones in Moreton Bay (up to 50% I think was the figure quoted!!) :o :o.

Now I don't want to unnecessarily alarm people, and I have no direct knowledge on this matter and don't know if it is green groups just flying a kite. Not much info on the net as far as I can find. Has anybody got any more information about any proposals to increase green zones in the bay.

Whichway

fish2eat
07-01-2006, 10:31 AM
this topic was put on the General Chat board less than a week ago

Panda
07-01-2006, 12:14 PM
The amateurs are screaming to protect the environment from the Pros, and the Greens are screaming to protect the environment from the Amateurs. From a purely environmental point of view, the Greens argument cant be faulted. From a practical point of view, there needs to be a balance to manage a permanently sustainable fishery for everybody. And "everybody" means --everybody, not just people with boats who like to sportfish, but including the little old Grannies who depend on Pro-fishermen to deliver reasonably priced local catch so they too can enjoy a feed of fresh local fish now and again.

BAIT_MAN
07-01-2006, 12:27 PM
witchway
All the info you need is here.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfish/yabb2/YaBB.cgi?board=News

Derek_Bullock
07-01-2006, 01:47 PM
Hi

Heard on the radio that some groups have plans to significantly increase the green zones in Moreton Bay (up to 50% I think was the figure quoted!!) :o :o.

Now I don't want to unnecessarily alarm people, and I have no direct knowledge on this matter and don't know if it is green groups just flying a kite. Not much info on the net as far as I can find. Has anybody got any more information about any proposals to increase green zones in the bay.

Whichway

Hi Whichway