PDA

View Full Version : Desal plant for Tugan? why there?

Jitlands
14-06-2006, 12:25 PM
Beattie & Co along with the peanut we have as our Mayor seem set on building a desalination plant at Tugan.

That is, salt water + power + industrial land = water for the masses

And whilst Tugan has plenty of salt water is has no power, no industrial land and few residents.

Why drag power from Brisbane valley to tugan and then pump water back again?

Surley a desal palnt on the Bremmer at Ipswich, which has power, water, industrial land and the thirsty masses would be a better option?

jim_farrell
14-06-2006, 02:30 PM
I'm no expert but I believe it has to be on the coast due to the high saline content in the water left after the process. This would be pumped back into the ocean nearby for dispersion. IMO this is the biggest concern. Does anyone have research on effects caused by lifting the salt content on the ecosystem.

SgBFish
14-06-2006, 03:22 PM
Your making too much sence Jitlands ;D ;D ;D

Next they'll be telling us we can't flush our motors.

How quickly did they bury the leaky old faulty council water pipes issue that wastes megalitres each day. >:(

Its an economic problem...charge what is worth and people will respect it and that includes the councils. People have considered water a free commodity for too long.

aussiefool
14-06-2006, 03:37 PM
Gee, I thought it was to tick off the rich folk in Golden Four Dr. ;D ;D

Fishin_Dan
14-06-2006, 03:59 PM
ha ha ha! I thought you were going to tell me that they are going to make fuel for my Fourby nearby therefor saving me diesel fuel costs!!! ;D

Just ignore me and my crazy brain!

Bundy_Burp
14-06-2006, 04:17 PM
I think you may have answered your own question when you said :
(no industrial land and few residents)
But then again I'm a loonie queenslander who think we will win tonight so just ignore both myself and Fishin_Dan . :o :o :o

freespool2
14-06-2006, 04:38 PM