View Full Version : New Snapper Bag limits

budgebass
21-04-2006, 10:49 PM
Gidday Everyone

I have heard this is talk about new size and bag limits for snapper coming. Is this true? and does anybody know when?

Budgebass

Sorry if it has already been discussed, tried a search and could not find anything.

22-04-2006, 12:08 AM
I heard/read somewhere they are considering changing the bag limit to 2... They were trying to get it in just a few places (Moreton Bay being the main one)...

I think it was in QFM

BAIT_MAN
22-04-2006, 05:20 PM
It would appear that the snapper issue is no longer a rumour and in fact there is a very big push from within fisheries that the bag limit is to be reduced to 2 and the size increased to 45cm. This is because there is a decline of the snapper stocks on the Gold Coast so i have been told.

sempre
22-04-2006, 07:17 PM
Please tell me this is joke , they cant be serious , we have just had one of our best Snapper seasons in ten years and they say stocks are low .
The Snapper numbers appear to doing quite well , this is mainly due to the recent bag and size changes , is there really any need to hit the reco fishermen again .
Sam...

markpeta
23-04-2006, 05:37 AM
Fuel at $1.30 a litre 40km offshore for 2 snapper >:(. As said before best snapper season for ages with 35cm and 5 limit.

outsiderskip
23-04-2006, 05:41 AM
record boat sales last year
high fuel prices
reduced snapper bag limits
why would u want to own a boat for fishing
relaxingnow cost a lot of money to
cheers pete

budgebass
23-04-2006, 10:08 AM
I think I did read about the new limits in QFM.

But the proposal was bag limit of 2 and size limit of 30cm.
This was because too many fish between 30-35 cm were dying when being released.

Budgebass

Derek_Bullock
23-04-2006, 10:15 AM
It would appear that the snapper issue is no longer a rumour and in fact there is a very big push from within fisheries that the bag limit is to be reduced to 2 and the size increased to 45cm. This is because there is a decline of the snapper stocks on the Gold Coast so i have been told.

Interesting comment Shane.

As you know I have been talking for quite some time about a potential Gold Coast Marine Park. If they are now saying that snapper stocks are declining in that area then they have the perfect opportunity to to create some "green zones" to protect future stocks.

Amazing isnt it how things come to pass.

Derek

longtail
23-04-2006, 10:42 AM

and this not surprising really when you read reports of guys going out day after day bagging out on snapper that the average family has no chance of eating fresh.

i have never caught my bag limit of snapper , but when you consider 2-3 good fish will feed a family of 5 for a couple of days , is it really necessary to take 5 , 5-6kg fish?

just my opinion

jason

straddie
23-04-2006, 11:11 AM
With the massive increase in boat numbers and lines in the water plus technology and the information new guys are getting that take them close to walk up starters to catch fish, can the stocks take the absolute hammering they have been copping?

There are more boats sitting out there on some midweek days than there used to be on weekends 20years ago and registrations are still accelerating. Probably better to close the gate before the horse bolts IMHO.

Gazza
23-04-2006, 02:21 PM
I think I did read about the new limits in QFM.

But the proposal was bag limit of 2 and size limit of 30cm.
This was because too many fish between 30-35 cm were dying when being released.
Budgebass

I'm confused [smiley=gossip.gif] , Andy(CFisher) about 2 months ago indicated....

As for the reduction of rec limit to 2, I am on the same committee as Bugman - no mention of such a move there.
Andy

Does Andy or Bugman ,have an update from their end??

or...could it mean 2 snapper allowed 30~35cms , in your bag of 5?

PLEASE explain!! [smiley=dunce.gif]

formosa1
23-04-2006, 07:34 PM
Its coming, new regulations 45cm and 2 per person,dont be surprised if it comes in within the next 8 weeks (before winter!) i have been told.But it is coming in regardless.the pros will be rubbing ther hands together.Reckon there's going to be a few boats on the market when this comes in!

24-04-2006, 11:53 AM
Gaza,

Snapper doesn't come under the control of our committee - that's Rocky Reef. I had heard about 2 years ago that the snapper stocks were in big trouble and there would be some drastic action taken.

Just a thought for all those guys going to the Banks to "bag out" (including me). 10 years ago you didn't have to go to the banks to bag out on snapper. The inshore reef areas held heaps and heaps of snapper. And remember before the bag limit of 5 - some guys were catching lots and lots of fish.

So when the current banks population gets diminished - where do we go then. Is there a new reef in 300m 20km further out that is holding these fish that our new and improved boats and fishing gear will give us access to.

How close to the Indonesians are we? Exploit our local fish stocks and keep searching further afield to keep the catch up. They've just had thousands of more years and millions of more people to do it better.

sempre
24-04-2006, 07:40 PM
I think you miss the point that some people are mearly asking or questioning is there any need to cut these limits any further .
How many used to bag out on 30 pp , i can tell you it was extremely rare , so all this fuss about people bagging out now is blown out of proportion , lets face it , it doesnt take long to bag out on 5 pp .
So correct me if im wrong , is this species is such trouble , that this 2 pp nonsense has to be brought in , the results speak for themselves .

24-04-2006, 07:56 PM
Personally I have also neva bagged out on Snapper but I can see when the Bag limit of 2 comes in that most people would stay out the same amount of time and take home there best 2 ::). I wonder how much that happens to those who consistantly take home there bag limit now :o.

Sad really when you think about it :(

wayne_cook
24-04-2006, 08:44 PM
yea spaniard king I agree.
No one person probably thinks they do any damage individually.
No one likes new laws when it effects them but if need be I would rather have a stricter bag limit then be shut out alltogether through M.P.
It's happening to my favourite spot at the moment.
How would u guys feel if the banks was made a no go zone.

Don't know how to overcome the problem ur talking about.I guess it's up to the individual.

Similar problem I hate to throw back undersized kings when there badly bleeding from the gills just to catch slightly bigger ones sometimes several fish die to abide by the law.

Cheers bear

markpeta
25-04-2006, 06:19 AM
Garry agree with that if your only allow to keep 2 fish and you have two 2kg fish in the esky dead and you pull in a 6kg one which fish will end up in the drink?

sempre
25-04-2006, 08:14 AM
Have the powers to be looked at the Pearlies , how many have got their bag on them lately ,I personlly have caught very few in the last 12 months .
Shouldnt something be done about that , doesnt that indicate a shortage ?
Shutting down the Banks; I have no problem with that , and i fish only out of Mooloolaba .
Are the Pearlies in trouble , or is it me who just cant catch any ?

perko
25-04-2006, 09:09 AM
Got a mate in Sunfish that said it is on it's way. #So called expert scientists have researched it and reckon there is a shortage of small fish coming through. #I know the banks has had a year long snapper season, and lots of people are travelling to fish it. #Can it keep this hot bite up? #Are people towing up to the sunny coast because they can't catch a decent feed at the local reefs because they are fished out? #What has the snapper been like over the last year from Hutchies south? #I think 2 fish per person is a bit extreme, but I do worry that the Banks can't continue to produce with this amount of pressure. #
For the people who are catching heaps lately, are you getting many 30 - 45 cm fish or are they more the 3 - 4 kg fish. #Heard heaps of people saying they released lots of 4 kg fish as they had there bag limits. #Is there any need to keep fishing after you have got your bag limits, and do they survive. #Personally we pull the floaters in and head home or target a different species. #Tony.

karana
25-04-2006, 10:13 AM
I really enjoy it when I see something like "Got a mate in Sunfish that says it's one the way".

Why can't Sunfish just come and say what is happening. It is just a quasi government agency that seems to support any greenie initiative operating on the leak principle.

Grunter71
25-04-2006, 12:33 PM
If we are going to have our bag limit reduced, is the commercial catch also to be reduced.

I don't see much point in restricting our catch, to allow the pros open slather. I respect that they are making a living, however, if the stocks need protecting, surely it should be the same for everyone.

damons33
25-04-2006, 11:16 PM
i cant see any snapper shortages, even in close- been one of the best years in the bay itself......maybe this is due to pro restrictions on mackerel and tuna ring netters.
snapper are a scavenger and the tuna and feeding mackerel creates alot of fallout feed for them and other demersals'
i dont believe pearlys are at risk either, this time of year they tend to slow up a bit and hold up in deeper waters.
i really think the current rules are on the money, and if you want to make changes to these areas, i believe that closing certain vunerable areas seasonally on a rotational basis is a better form of preserving the bio-genetic diversity of all of the major reef areas.
for mine the next big step for the fisheries managers is longlining and estuary protection.
having done something for generations isn't a fair enough arguement for my liking.
i think that the manned line pro's which work seq are a very sustainable method of professional fishing, especially if it kept for small operators working from local ports, they have a respect for their livelyhooods-opposed to a multi-shipped operation which competes with other operators in the same waters.
seems the biggest lack of rocky reef fishes is in the fish trawler fishery whom have scoured their areas in unsustainable numbers of operators- again its the dpi's fault for issuing too many licences before have enough research conducted.....simular in competency issues with saltation, aggricultural runoff's and water management. its easy to make mistakes all the time when ministers aren't held personally and financially liable for acts of managerial incompetence.
time the public sector faced the same music as the private sector legally.........funny they seem to consider themselves as business's these days instead of social, civil and environment administrators of which they were created by the people for the people!
too many things like health, tobacco, mining, forestry, pokies and casino's have proven to the general public that we live in a corrupt society at governmental levels and corporate levels(look at the current tax avoidance problem's of multi-nationals and their offshore tax havenning) this bubble has to burst at some stage.....i watch with great interest to see how it all washes up. its a smoke screen of diversionary tactics in peripheral issues(phillabustering) which keeps theirs heads off the chopping block.
none of the above are worthy of a vote. its a shamocracy!
damon

dazza
26-04-2006, 12:22 PM
hi all,
the research has been conducted at the Deception bay research facility, apparently it looks pretty grim for the snapper. I don't believe the research has been published, or is readily available to the public, i have done a search and couldn't find anything. i personally haven't phoned to see if i can get a copy, recon it would be a foi application. i can pm the name of the researcher if anyone wants it.

would be good to see the research.

from what i have been told it is a done deal, have heard that they dpi&f are keen to get it through before the snapper season starts. (this is only secondhand info)

dazza

karana
26-04-2006, 08:46 PM
Yep, do some research based on an 'idea' someone had, hold the results back until it's just about season, announce the results as a fait accompli at a time when they can't be scrutinised for proper scientific method, get the backing of a government funded group saying they represent recreational fishers then insure the minister appears grim faced at a media stunt and the story is done.

Those "researching' the findings have their names added to list for instant promotion.

It's not called the Deception facility for nothing.

sempre
26-04-2006, 11:05 PM
Hit the nail on the head there Karana , well said .

29-04-2006, 12:15 PM
hi all,
the research has been conducted at the Deception bay research facility, apparently it looks pretty grim for the snapper. I don't believe the research has been published, or is readily available to the public, i have done a search and couldn't find anything. i personally haven't phoned to see if i can get a copy, recon it would be a foi application. i can pm the name of the researcher if anyone wants it.

would be good to see the research.

from what i have been told it is a done deal, have heard that they dpi&f are keen to get it through before the snapper season starts. (this is only secondhand info)
dazza

It all seems 2nd hand info atm ::) :o

First hand info is that I have talked to a fisheries officer involved in research and he knows nothing about a limit of 2 and knows of no current research on snapper stocks. I sincerely hope this is the case.

Ink drys, paper burns, but what is written in the soul will last an eternity.

sempre
29-04-2006, 01:14 PM
Hope your right Kev.

Sam...

29-04-2006, 01:23 PM
Hope your right Kev.

Sam...

Yeah, that doesn't mean to say that there isn't something going on in another dep't of fisheries.......I mean, we can't even get to the bottom of wheat exports so what chance have we of finding out the truth as to this matter ::) ;D

Intelligence is like underwear, everyone has it but you don't have to show it off.

dazza
02-05-2006, 10:27 PM
hi kev,
obviously you have not worked for the qld govt. no employee who values their job would disclose sensitive information to someone off of the street. if caught they would be given the sack in the blink of an eye.
govt departments have documents called code of conduct, esentially they are used as a big stick to prevent employees speaking out of turn. remember the nurse in bundaberg, she was threatened with dismissal via the code of conduct for contacting the local member who blew the whistle
i hope you are right and i am wrong
dazza

budgebass
03-05-2006, 01:08 AM
Yep Dazza mum's the word on this one.

Apparently from a couple of people I have spoken to this is what they believe is going on.
The bag limit on snapper will be 2 and 45 cm, there are some others who believe the bag limit should be 2 and 30cm.

There is also some research around that shows that for every 10 snapper caught offshore only 1 fish is over 35cm. The research apparently also shows that a high percentage of these fish are over 30cm. The research also shows that a lot of these fish do not survive release.
Hence 1 groups belief the size limit should be 30cm.

However the group of this belief have not been invited into the committee to make such a decision.

But the 45 cm deal is already done, a quasi public interest feedback will follow, but the deal is already done.

The matter is when is the timing right to release it but apparently ASAP is not fast enough.

Budgebass

03-05-2006, 04:50 PM
hi kev,
obviously you have not worked for the qld govt. no employee who values their job would disclose sensitive information to someone off of the street. if caught they would be given the sack in the blink of an eye.
govt departments have documents called code of conduct, esentially they are used as a big stick to prevent employees speaking out of turn. remember the nurse in bundaberg, she was threatened with dismissal via the code of conduct for contacting the local member who blew the whistle
dazza

I wouldn't have thought that it was all that sensitive dazza :o

If it's gonna happen, then it's gonna happen and I don't understand what they would have to gain by denying any knowledge of it? If they are so sure that they have a case, then why deny that it is coming?

As I said previously, it may well be that it is going to happen and that my source is simply "not in the loop".

When you are trying to convince yourself something is right, it is usually wrong.

03-05-2006, 05:43 PM
hi kev,
dazza

dazza..that code of conduct isn't worth a cracker...the Govt has major problems sacking anyone.

03-05-2006, 11:19 PM
hi kev,
dazza

dazza..that code of conduct isn't worth a cracker...the Govt has major problems sacking anyone.

So does the oppostion.............they don't seem to be able to get rid of Beazley ;D

When your Mum is mad at your dad, don't let her brush your hair.

04-05-2006, 09:06 AM
I'm interested to guage people's opinion on this.

I've got no doubt - and good information - that it's going to happen.

Is it a good thing or a bad thing.

I'll start. I'm in favour because I'm prepared to catch less now in order to have the same fishery in 50 years.

karana
04-05-2006, 09:14 AM
1. What is the mortality rate of 'undersize' fish returned?

2. What is the tonnage of trash snapper caught annually by trawlers as bycatch?

04-05-2006, 11:42 AM
I'm interested to guage people's opinion on this.

I've got no doubt - and good information - that it's going to happen.

Is it a good thing or a bad thing.

I'll start. I'm in favour because I'm prepared to catch less now in order to have the same fishery in 50 years.

I don't think we can pass an informed comment on something like this without seeing the research justifying it.

You can go anywhere you want if you look serious and carry a clipboard.

04-05-2006, 11:44 AM
1. What is the mortality rate of 'undersize' fish returned?

2. What is the tonnage of trash snapper caught annually by trawlers as bycatch?

No reliable data available.

You can easily judge the character of a man by how he treats those who can do nothing for him.

karana
04-05-2006, 11:56 AM
No reliable data, hmmm.

A 2004 Qld Government report suggested 40 tonnes as trawler by catch waste for snapper.

Various government department reports on snapper from around Australia suggest that the mortality rate of returned 'undersize' snapper especially from deeper water is high to very high.

I am not suggesting all government reports are 'relaible' however I am merely saying what they have written.

baitchuka
04-05-2006, 04:12 PM
We were all bitching down here in VIC when they cut our bag limit to 10 snapper
7 fish to 50cm 3 fish over 50cm total (10) or three over 50cm.
our legal minimum is 27cm..What a joke, i've got bigger goldfish in my fishtank at home.

While i agree with bag limits, i think 2 fish is a bit silly considering the cost and effort involved in you guys just getting to the fish.
I catch snapper within 5 mins of the local boat ramp,in a 12 foot tinny.
But look on the bright side, least you have other fish you can catch.
EG. pearlies, mackeral, jobfish,snapper,trag, tailor , marlin, just to name a few.
All we got is snapper, snapper, and more bloody snapper with the odd gummy thrown in for good measure..

Rather be fishn where you guys are........

DAVO........

Always_offshore
04-05-2006, 08:58 PM
fair dinkum, do you really think bag limits mean anything,last year they culled the liscences for spanish mackeral, havent seen too many of those around,last year pearlies were in plague proportins still ggod this year and like its been said in this thread the snapper are the best weve seen in 10 years.oh forgot to mention the huge cobias that adorned bush and beach covers 6 to 8 mths ago.WHEN ARE YOU GREENIES AND POLITICIANS GOING TO LEARN ABOUT CYCLES

fish2eat
05-05-2006, 09:54 AM
I think a bag limit of 2 is ridiculous. In any case, the price of fuel may end up being the regulating factor in that far less boats are likely to venture out for reef trips.

banshee
05-05-2006, 06:59 PM
A bag limmit of two will be counter productive,people WILL upgrade their bags leaving a burley trail of smaller discarded fish which will almost certainly see more than five fish beng killed by each angler in a good session.In my opinion if they were serious about stocks they would have a closed season affecting commercial and rec fishers alike something along the lines of every second breeding season alternating with a different state so the genneral public could still access fresh Snapper when their own fishery was closed.

dazza
06-05-2006, 07:51 AM
hi brett,
it would be good to see the research. what other management strategies have they looked at ie, rotational area closures, seasonal closures
bit hard to make an informed decision. i agree, we need to be looking to the future and protecting fish stocks from overfishing.
i believe 2 snapper will have an adverse effect on snapper stocks by
1. fishers upgrading size
2. survival after release

i also think it will put alot more pressure on other species, ie pearlies

maybe a total bag limit on all reef speices, may be 10, with a max allowable of 5 snapper of say 50cm.

it is undeniable that our fish stocks are seeing increased pressure. and rec fishing is only one small component of it
what about
1 water quality
2 habitat degregation
3 commercial effort
4 seasonal variations
5 weather/breeding conditions

seems a bit narrow to say, we have research that tells us that snapper are in trouble and it is because of rec fishing. (i agree snapper are one of the #main target species of rec fishos)

has any research been done?? or is this a red herring
some of the researchers at the deception bay research centre where it was supposedly carried out claim not to know about it.
dazza

06-05-2006, 12:21 PM
I have been working on the power to be in TASSIE to have a 2 bag 450mm bag limit on snapper in tassie, I believe it will be a successful outcome.
The reason for this has been
We have an unknown resource, they have been here for ever but there is only small numbers caught each year, the caught fish are only in their hundreds. Not many people fish for them but if a lot of people start to (and the numbers are increasing) then I think its more substainable if we regulate now (currently no regulation at all) than try to regulate after the horse has bolted, so to speak. A lot easier to educate people before they start to fish for them than after when they expect to take what they like.

karana
07-05-2006, 08:55 AM
Hmmm blaze.

If Tasmania Fisheries have done no research on snapper and therefore have no idea of the numbers why at this stage would you want to put such a draconian limit on them?

If their is an investigation and they do it correctly, by that I mean correctly estimate stocks and not take the lowest possible numbr and correctly estimate catch and not take the highest possible number and they find there are a gazillion fish do you think you will ever a reasonable increase in limits once they are investigated.

Tell the folks at Bridport your plans about such a small bag limit, I am sure they will be interested.

07-05-2006, 10:40 AM
Hi Karana
Are you from Bridport
Already explained why I think its a good idea to limit the catch in my previous post.

karana
07-05-2006, 12:15 PM
No I am not and I believe your basis for restriction is absolutely false and faulty.

There are a number of 'green' organisations who base their total anti recreational fishing campaigns on such nonsense.

07-05-2006, 07:20 PM
Karana
what would you prefer. If the goverment for what ever reason hasnt alicated funds to research a non commercial species in a state and supply scientific data, your prefered method is to do nothing?

karana
07-05-2006, 09:02 PM
The short answer is yes.

It is not as though the fish being discussed is a rare species. The species exists from the far north to the far south of the Pacific Ocean.

There are not millions of fishermen who wish to descend and rape and pillage the species immediately to extinction because its location in Tasmania at present has no major close human settlements.

Before the government wishes to restrict it must give some reason at least broadly scientific in nature as to the reason for the restriction and given the nature and distribution of this fish just saying we don't know is not good enough.

There are enough lies told about the effects of recreational fishing now that we have to battle against without knee jerk reactions on possibilities based on no knowledge what so ever.

Now if this species was a newly discovered one of uncertain origin and distribution the answer would have been different.

If the government chooses not to investigate then by that action it must choose not to legislate. The fact that the Tasmanian government has been involved in research on this species for the aquaculture industry perhaps shows where its allegences sit.

damons33
17-05-2006, 08:27 PM
before anything can be managed affectively....... all the facts must be known.

i still believe in seasonal/rotational closures on all species while spawning- why? to defend genetic diversity in species, you've got to protect the most agressive in the brood stock or you just make them unsustainable in the long term.

as for "greens" i reckon i could go into any of their houses(or yours) and tell em' about how many purchase choices they've made which were/are
environmentally a poorer choice then an alternative choice.
how about a push button garage door- then go to the gym for exercise! in the car! to use an electric tredmill in an airconditioned building!
::)

what does it really matter! when "we" contaminate the air and water to the point of breaking earths critical bio-systems, like oxygen replenishment......i don't see too many people prepared to walk anywhere and with more developing nations beginning to get in bigger engined oil burning machines- you don't have to be a genious to know its alll going to turn to sh!t anyhow.

what can you expect from the indulgent baby boomer generation, except procrastination!
:-/

when money is the status quo.........their is no hope, only greed.
what does it say on the "american dollar"......."in god we trust"-seems like idollitery in my book,kids must think g.washington is god!
:-/
damon
:(

Gazza
18-05-2006, 08:17 AM
I [smiley=ears.gif] HEARD [smiley=ears.gif] a RUMOUR...... :-X

Bugman was "run out of town" [smiley=laola.gif]

because he forgot about the spawningsize of SNAPPER :-[
and then forgot there was a minsize increase to 35CMS. fairly recently :-[
and then forgot there was a BAG REDUCTION to 5 :-[

shame,shame,shame [smiley=jester.gif] Tassie is a fitting "PUNISHMENT" [smiley=stop.gif]

KGW2
31-05-2006, 03:18 PM
My 1st post on here.. but not 1st experience with SEQ offshore fishing, and I think a lot of rec anglers are TOO greedy. I see posts on this site and others where there are near 30 snapper and reef fish caught. and kept. I know it's hard yakka going out 30kn to get them, but if we all did that, the only fish you would #see would #be Toadies...
We complain about our Northern neighbours, but are WE much better ? Bugman has a good point.
Just my 2cents 8-)

31-05-2006, 10:08 PM
Looks like they heald a workshop today about it...
http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/xchg/dpi/hs.xsl/30_2460_ENA_HTML.htm

Going off my data, my catch rates have remained steady for snapper. Infact the amount of undersize fish we get is almost next to Nil and I can never remember having a squire go belly up when released, weather it is from 15m of water or 100m of water.

I agree with the other comments, that there will be a lot of upgrading of ones bag if they bring a limit of 2 fish per person in.

redspeckle
01-06-2006, 07:21 PM
[smiley=dankk2.gif] for information There Heath
They could do the same to pearl perch and teraglin jew with bag of limit of 2 as well and other Rocky reef fish species too [smiley=lipsrsealed.gif]
just not the snapper as well
Where is the Recreational fisherman being represented here
On this topic to have his input and say typical as they go about these matters on fishing [smiley=redoff.gif]
Mitch

02-06-2006, 08:25 AM
I agree with the other comments, that there will be a lot of upgrading of ones bag if they bring a limit of 2 fish per person in.

That may occur for a short while, but over time people will accept the rules and adapt. There was a similar outcry 3-4 years ago when the bag limit for snapper was reduced from 30 to 5.

I think it would be very hypocritical for people to toss a dead 45 cm snapper over the side to replace it with a 60 cm model for instance. Most people on here are quick to condemn the 'asians' who flout fishing take and size limits (and rightly so). How is this any different?

02-06-2006, 11:55 AM
No different. However I can almost guarantee if someone has 2 squire on board & they pull a 7kg thumper one of the smaller ones will end up back in the water.
I think most of us agree that reducing the bag from 30 - 5 fish is a good move. However reducing it to 2 is not.

Recfishing & the costs associated with it are the formost on most anglers minds. No one is going to hike it out to the banks & come home with 2 x 2kg squire & throw back the two 8kg models they got later in the morning.

Sportfish_5
02-06-2006, 09:39 PM
Leave it at 5 but maybe have a total boat limit of 15. Also closed season for a month during spawning.

freespool2
02-06-2006, 10:38 PM
Infact the amount of undersize fish we get is almost next to Nil and I can never remember having a squire go belly up when released, weather it is from 15m of water or 100m of water.

Gday Heath,
how do you manage that.
cheers andy

nqboy
03-06-2006, 10:20 PM
Leave it at 5 but maybe have a total boat limit of 15. Also closed season for a month during spawning.
i think your on the money there mate i'm with you

04-06-2006, 10:16 PM
Infact the amount of undersize fish we get is almost next to Nil and I can never remember having a squire go belly up when released, weather it is from 15m of water or 100m of water.

Gday Heath,
how do you manage that.
cheers andy

Now that would be telling wouldn't it ;)
Even the fish that are legal are a bit small in my book. I wouldn't mind seeing a small increase in the size limit.

opimax
17-06-2006, 08:56 AM
once they get the 2 in it will be green zones next you could bet your house on it. we fisher people are a eszy target.

19-06-2006, 06:41 PM
Have the powers to be looked at the Pearlies , how many have got their bag on them lately ,I personlly have caught very few in the last 12 months .
Shouldnt something be done about that , doesnt that indicate a shortage ?
Shutting down the Banks; I have no problem with that , and i fish only out of Mooloolaba .
Are the Pearlies in trouble , or is it me who just cant catch any ?

Giday Sam

The last few trips we have caught good pearlies to 5kg in there usual haunts i think they all went on a summer vacation together for a while there as they were very hard to get for a long time.