View Full Version : Tow Vehicles...

gazza2006au
17-02-2020, 07:46 PM
Hey guys first repair on the new tow vehicle, pulled into the shops and noticed a squell pulled my drive belt off today and found the bearing in the lower idler pulley was almost shot very noisy bearing

Took it off and put it in the press bearing popped out

Instead of replacing the pulley with a Gates part $$$ im going to replace the bearing with a SKF or SFK maybe another NTN see what the bearing shop has tomorrow

She is getting 168kms to 33.65L of lpg or 19L per 100km

Being told she should use 1/3-1/4th less on unleaded so about 15L 100km

Trying to work out best way to diy removing the windscreen without cracking it, once seen a guy use braided fishing line.

Kind of feeling good about buying a lpg car now fuel in sydney just went up to $1.65L lpg is less than half the price

Sent from my SM-G900I using Ausfish mobile app (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=91595)

shaungonemad
17-02-2020, 08:03 PM
Park the car in the sun and get it nice and hot to soften the glue and or rubber. I have heard of using piano wire. Don’t go anywhere near it with anything metal.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gazza2006au
17-02-2020, 09:14 PM
Yeah ganna give it a go, a window company wants $100 to remove it but they said it will crack and need replacing

Sent from my SM-G900I using Ausfish mobile app (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=91595)

blacklab
17-02-2020, 10:23 PM
Gazza, hold on a minute.. what year is your new car ??
If it's urathane, don't attempt it, I used to use fein tools specifically designed to remove urathaned screens, pay the $100 if it is.
If it's the older method, thermo tapes, you can remove use two bits of dowl with piano wire, but you'll need two people, one either side.
It depends which method is used. or is it a rubber with chrome infills/moulding ? If it's a laminated screen, you will be in a hole lot of hurt if you break one of them.... put a photo up

Col

gazza2006au
17-02-2020, 10:34 PM
Hey Col its a 1999 model i was told the windscreen was just replaced but they failed to repair the sill, it appears only the top is rotted so far but worse case i can weld something in if needed

Whats wrong with this stuff u mentioned?

gazza2006au
17-02-2020, 11:25 PM
Shit not cheap looking at $100 to remove and $240 to install a new glass if the old one breaks

shakey55
18-02-2020, 06:59 AM
Gazza, save your money and buy things that don’t take up your time and empty your wallet. You will be on the old age pension before the boat, motor, trailer are finished.

Good luck with whatever you take on

PS: Not having a dig, just think you are going about things the wrong way in my opinion.

Sent from my iPad using Ausfish forums

blacklab
18-02-2020, 07:22 AM
Hi Gazza, If the windscreen installation method is Urathane, you will struggle to get that out without breaking it without the correct tools.
It is strong stuff Gazza, I have wired out a few, but do not recommend it for someone that hasn't before. There all cut out with fein tools or a sliding blade type set up. Some of the windscreen mouldings just push in to the cavity, but some go under the glass in the rebate and have to be cut out with the windscreen, every vehicle is different..
Auto Urathane is a bit different to marine, it becomes part of the structural strength of the car, 750 pound per sq inch shore strength, in other words, that along with a weak laminated windscreen, makes it extremely hard to remove it without breaking it, especially without the right tools and not having done it before.
I would be looking at paying the $100, let them have a go at removing it, they have a better chance than yourself. I would say, that I was probably at a 70/30 rate of removing successfully, with the right tools, so it's not worth the hurt.
The old method they use to fit with, was far easier, but Urathane a whole different story.
Again, sorry I can't exactly re call how these cars were set up, it's been a while for me, but in all honesty, $100 sounds the best route to remove it.
It would be a lot easier for you to have a go at fitting it, than successfully removing it....

Col

gunna
18-02-2020, 07:56 AM
Gazza, save your money and buy things that don’t take up your time and empty your wallet. You will be on the old age pension before the boat, motor, trailer are finished.

Good luck with whatever you take on

PS: Not having a dig, just think you are going about things the wrong way in my opinion.

What he said. Trailer has been going for 18 months or so.

Fed
18-02-2020, 08:05 AM
Are you sure it's leaking from the screen?

gazza2006au
18-02-2020, 08:30 AM
Trailer was started january 2018 guys so 13 months... the engine is already finished...

gazza2006au
18-02-2020, 08:33 AM
Are you sure it's leaking from the screen?The roof has a rust hole and other rust spots along the top of windscreen, water is leaking from under the dash on to the drivers floor, yesterday i flooded the drain section below the windscreen and no water dripped on the floor on drivers side but a few drops on passengers floor

Its mostly yhe drivers floor im worried about the carpet gets soaked and the door rubbers are in good condition

Fed
18-02-2020, 09:08 AM
http://fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11220972&highlight=au+windscreen+leaks

Got to be worth checking before pulling the screen out.

shaungonemad
18-02-2020, 09:18 AM
How does something with rust holes pass a rwc.

Fed
18-02-2020, 09:34 AM
How does something with rust holes pass a rwc.

Sticky tape.

gazza2006au
18-02-2020, 10:41 AM
http://fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11220972&highlight=au+windscreen+leaks

Got to be worth checking before pulling the screen out.Thanks Fed thats exactly where its leaking from on the inside, i had all that off yesterday minus the wiper motor, tried looking for the leak but couldnt see anything

Windscreen still needs to come.off tho unless i can squeeze some sand paper in the gap to sand the bog

gazza2006au
18-02-2020, 10:44 AM
The rust is under the seal u cant see it unless u lift up the windscreen seal which a mechanic would be liable for damages so they dont touch it

Just fixed my idler pulley i pressed in a Niche bearing cost $12 new pulley would have been $30+ 3-4 day wait and it would likely be Chinese rubbish

blacklab
18-02-2020, 01:44 PM
Gazza, I would get, maybe 3 in 10 older cars with rust in the arperture, caused by many reasons, but the main one is when wind screens are replaced.
The arperture gets scratched down to bare metal if you don't know what your doing, then the remnants of the thermo tapes or Urathane are usually scraped out with a chisel which will cause bare metal to be exposed. By not using the right stuff on installation, it will rust. We even had instances where the metal mouldings in some vehicles would move and vibrate and cause the issue over time and crap blocking ip weep holes aound and under the mouldings, Fords seem to be the worst for this for some reason.
All I can say is, if you go down the path of removing the screen, be prepared for a complete re do and weld up of the arperture surround,,, once the water is coming in, it's either seal failure ( urathane) or it's rusted out, believe me, I've seen the worst,,,, Imagine, a person comes in with a leaking windscreen, or a cracked one, and comments it's been leaking for a while, only to find when it's removed, they are without a car for a week and a couple of thousand to repair the rust, Not a good situation. The fords did have major issues with rusting out in the bottom corners quite badly, so you could well open up a huge birds nest here. Once started, they seem to rust out pretty quick....
I understand that is a pain in the arse to have a leaking windscreen, BUT, this could turn out to be another project type exercise that keeps opening up cans of worms.. If you do decide to have a go at it, my opinion before of getting someone in for a $100 to remove it, is a good move. If you can weld everything up yourself and do the rust repairs, all good, but generally, from what I've experienced, it doesn't end there...
If I was close by, I would come whip it out for you, it would only take 15-20 minutes going carefully, but to far away for that sorry......
Just one thing to add, It very well may be coming in thru the rust holes in the roof, take the inside cowling pieces off on the sides and see if you can see it tracking down on the inside or not, However, it may have rust holes up there, but, it can track around the inside of the mouldings, all around the screen, and cause rust issues down lower, especially on the one piece grill type section on the bottom.
Start by putting a hose, around the wiper motor area, in fact tie the hose there, pointing it left or right, and leave hose on it for 10 minutes, swap and do the other side, if you get water coming in, then yes you have rust at the top, but the biggest issue will be bottom arperture..

Col

gazza2006au
18-02-2020, 03:07 PM
Hey Col i used a 10L bucket filled with water and flooded the well area on both sides, only the inside under yhe dash on passengers side had a small leak about 5 drops

I think instead of poking a stick at a bag of shit im going to leave the windscreen in i do have a gap between the top edge of windscreen and the rotted hole probably 15mm i can easily wire wheel the hole than bog sand and paint just thought since the car is a old classic i would do it the right way

It did cross my mind i may have yhe windscreen removed and the entire thing is rotted that would be a nightmare that i want to avoid

blacklab
18-02-2020, 04:03 PM
Yeah, I think that's a better plan Gazza, look, if classic car rebuilding is what you are into, then that's fine, but this old girl is for towing your boat, so maybe just do what you were going to do, and monitor it for a later job....
I found a 1960 mk 2 zephyr sittin on the side of a road about 20 year ago, couldn't resist it, payed the $200 to an elderly lady and got it towed to my shed. It hadn't been driven in 10 odd years, but within a couple of hours she was paddock bashing around my acreage. Then, the silly decision to restore the old girl. the mechanical side of it was relatively straight forward, full motor and auto re done, diff, suspension, could even get the old lever armstrong suspension reconditioned, it was purely a toy to play with....... BUT, the body work and the amount of coin I thru at that, was worse than my current boat rebuild, once ya start, there's no easy end to it. I know that this was a lot older than your new vehicle, but there comes a time when you just accept what you have or the serious coin starts interferring with your other projects. I sold the old Mk 2 to a bloke in Perth, he flew over and drove her back, I wasn't emotionally attached to it, I got serious money for it, but not if you add up the hours spent, I did it, cause I could scenario.

So Gazza, treat the car as your boat tower and local run around machine, keep it road worthy and don't start throwing coin at it to make it into that silk purse, so when you sell it to upgrade, you wont loose money on un necessary expendature......
Just my view,,,,,,,,,
Now get back on to it with the trailer that's waiting for you........;D

Col

gazza2006au
18-02-2020, 04:40 PM
Yeah totally understand Col when i removed the WS seal it all looks black and dirty but the metal looks rust free maybe it gave me false hope that where the silicone goes will all be.perfect and i thought it would just be along the top section

But the last thing i wanna do is play in the bulls yard... once ya half way over the fence your committed

I will look after her as moderatly as i can but dont want any projects that take weeks or months

gazza2006au
18-02-2020, 04:57 PM
I lost a lot of motivation when i started seeing perfectly good steel trailers selling for $1100-$1200 but shit happens i have regretted building my own trailer for months and months now but im committed i guess thats why i have been building it slowly that and i only get a decent amount of cash ever so often to buy the parts the two financial struggle points have passed now i just need the pick me up motivation

catshark
18-02-2020, 06:59 PM
yeah the LTD will get the job done, longer wheel base a comfy ride gas/petrol gives you options at the wallet .. dont know much about gas cars but i heard a urban myth that you cruise around on gas and do the towing with petrol as the petrol will give you a bit better torque but yeah unsure

catshark
18-02-2020, 07:02 PM
your doing best to build your own alloy trailer. less maintences in the long term equals savings
I lost a lot of motivation when i started seeing perfectly good steel trailers selling for $1100-$1200 but shit happens i have regretted building my own trailer for months and months now but im committed i guess thats why i have been building it slowly that and i only get a decent amount of cash ever so often to buy the parts the two financial struggle points have passed now i just need the pick me up motivation

catshark
18-02-2020, 07:11 PM
wadda ya reckon stick a go pro on the arse end of the LTD and show us a video of the dat fat 302 windsor talking

gazza2006au
18-02-2020, 09:39 PM
Haha came thru a roundabout gave her a squirt she just bit down and locked in

When i first got her she had a slipery ass end might have been from sitting so long

gazza2006au
19-02-2020, 02:27 PM
After i flushed the wells the other day i left the tarp off last night thru a fast moving storm it bucketted down i went and chrcked the car it only had a 10cm radius wet spot on drivers floor so i am thinking maybe the wells were clogged and it was allowing water to back up and flow thru the bolts Fed mentioned

She is eating drive belts has 2 worn in boot and 3rd one on car that is cracked and squeeking $40 a belt too not cheap

She had one headlight blow a few nights ago just got a replacement, looked into hid and led but both are illegal dont want my insurance to say something about it

ericcs
19-02-2020, 10:54 PM
Trailer was started january 2018 guys so 13 months... the engine is already finished...

that equals 25 months!

gazza2006au
19-02-2020, 11:21 PM
Took the car for a scrub tonight wow she came up bloody impressively clean i used the brush with soap than high pressure washer, wherls cleaned up really well so much the polished ally came back in some sections

Couldnt get the bat shit off tho sticky like tar but a clear yellow'ish poo u have to pick off and i wasnt doing that

Jacked her up today to find the wheel squeek on passengers side back brakes are really low and possibly the cause along with the faulty drive belt both hopefully getting replaced tomorrow

There were no leaks inside while washing the car not a drop

Erics 2019 surely u could work that out rather than correct me

Wish i had never takin on the trailer project

ranmar850
20-02-2020, 05:24 PM
LPG will definitely cause a power loss in the older motors, as well as the actual fuel consumption being higher. The last run of LPG engines Ford did, factory fitted, it was said you couldn't tell the difference. I had an XR6, 92 model, that I had converted to dual fuel when the WA gov. was giving subsidies. It was definitely slower on gas. In fact, on a fast ovetake , I would flick the switch to petrol for more go. The overall running costs are less as the stuff is cheaper per litre, but you will definitely get less kilometres out of a litre. I missed your actual purchase--you mentioned LTD, was it a 6 or an 8? Ford sixes were renowned for loving LPG, the 8's, much less so.

banshee
20-02-2020, 06:55 PM
That bat shit needs to come off,will turn into a ravaged rust patch in no time.

20-02-2020, 07:14 PM
Don't know about rust, but, it will destroy the paint in no time, I had some on my old Landcruiser, and the next day, the paint under the bat shit was crazed and almost white.

gazza2006au
20-02-2020, 07:30 PM
Will get the bat poo off tomorrow, she is drinking 26L 100km of urban driving, 19L 100km highway on LPG, im getting 168km highway, 123kms urban to a full tank of LPG very relaxed driving with the odd squirt here and there but no full throttle

Air con is really bad barely works so havent been using it those figures above are without air con

Doing a unleaded fuel test now looks impressive so far used probably 1/10th of a tank for 40kms will report back

May be something wrong with the LPG a leak possibly

Ran its the v8 model120847120848120849

TheRealPoMo
20-02-2020, 09:04 PM
No....lpg is just shite....

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

gazza2006au
20-02-2020, 09:04 PM
Looks like i may be testing the old girl out sooner than later, as mentioned my mum is going in for a operation and she cant come home untill we move so its likely i will have to get a permit to tow the old girl a couple suburbs over as i couldnt find a towie willing to tow the 2.4m wide at the axles load

gazza2006au
20-02-2020, 09:07 PM
TRPM i'm starting to believe that i have done 50kms on unleaded and the gauge has moved 1/4th of 1/4th or 1/16th on the gauge where as on lpg i would be down at 1/2th a tank by now

TheRealPoMo
20-02-2020, 09:24 PM
Old school 5.0 EFI V8s would get better economy than an AU 6 ...IF you had a light foot. I had an AU series 2 5.0 wagon. Ugly but unkillable. Barra's changed that.

21-02-2020, 04:48 AM
Why won't anyone tow 2.4m? that's perfectly legal

ericcs
21-02-2020, 09:16 AM
you can legally tow a 2.5m wide caravan, what's the difference?

Fed
21-02-2020, 10:41 AM
Too afraid to tow illegally for a couple of suburbs, the authorities really have done a job on us haven't they?

Not knocking you gazza, simply noting how much things have changed over the years.

gazza2006au
21-02-2020, 04:35 PM
I was told 2.4m wide drive train is too wide for the tow trucks i called they were also concerned with the over hang from tow hitch receiver to wheel base on rear axle they also questioned the overall height once on the tilt tray

stevej
21-02-2020, 05:04 PM
Push the boat onto the grass and whinch it under a car trailer

Move the boat trailer a second time on the same car trailer

gazza2006au
21-02-2020, 05:05 PM
Fed back in the late 90's i was busted a few times driving without a license even tho i had no license i was disqualified from owning a license for 3 years as i was a habitual driver i had over $5500 in fines i eventually paid off than got my learners and got busted by a couple of cops on push bikes they let me off tho and i got my P's than gold license i havent had a car fine since 2005 when i took my P plates off to sit on 110kph going to wollongong beach

But yeah im a law abiding person now.. havent had a at fault car crash since 1998 only two accidents since than and both other drivers at fault

Last thing i want is to be busted towing the old shagged trsiler unregistered and no permit i will tow it with a permit just to cover my ass if i have to but i will be shitting bricks...

gazza2006au
21-02-2020, 06:36 PM
Must have a gas leak check this out

Lpg 160kms 35L of lpg cost $26 to fill up (highway mileage) 21L/100km $16.77 per 100km

Lpg 123kms 32L of lpg cost $25 to fill up (urbane mileage) 26L/100km $20.77 per 100km

Unleaded 129kms 18L of unleaded $25 worth (urban mileage) 14L/100km $20.30 per 100km

Not really worth running it on lpg

catshark
21-02-2020, 07:09 PM
the petrol average is spot on same as a barra 4.0 the gas usage is way out of wack , wow

shaungonemad
21-02-2020, 07:25 PM
Isn’t a gas certificate required for a road worthy down there

gazza2006au
21-02-2020, 08:12 PM
the petrol average is spot on same as a barra 4.0 the gas usage is way out of wack , wowFirst gas car and yeah looking at the numbers it does look way out therr

gazza2006au
21-02-2020, 08:13 PM
Isn’t a gas certificate required for a road worthy down there

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkAs far as i know a special lpg rego inspector does the pink slip (yearly rego check) its not due for a major lpg check for another 2 years, lpg was installed 2002

TheRealPoMo
21-02-2020, 10:29 PM
Just turn the lpg off Gazza

gazza2006au
21-02-2020, 10:43 PM
Yeah i think i will only be using lpg if petrol goes up around that $1.60-$1.80 mark otherwise its just no cost effective

Unless there is a problem with the vaporiser unit i have seen rebuilds on youtube looks very easy and simple but it does come at a cost if i do it my self and a potentioal for a .... up...

Fed
22-02-2020, 06:05 AM
Is the lpg factory or aftermarket gazza?

gazza2006au
22-02-2020, 11:14 AM
Its factory but its stamped as being installed 2002 car is 1999 the AU model came with factory dual fuel

gazza2006au
22-02-2020, 03:50 PM
Went to bunnings bought this Trade Gas Leak spray bottle absolutely ####ing rubbish waste of money doesnt even work, spray bottles finger trigger bends without spraying the die and the bottle has to be upright to work... the die is so diluted u cant even see it

Going to tip this shit out and put dish washing liquid in the bottle if that fails i'll go get a spray bottle

I think i found one possible leak from a brass pipe that is press fit into the vaporiser the leak is only tiny but it may become worse under more pressure while driving

Lpg out the exhause is very fumie and stinks!

gazza2006au
22-02-2020, 04:11 PM
Was a bit alarmed when i made this post done some looking around checked my cameras and it appears the neighbors friend was looking in my car...

Russians... ####ing weird neighbors i tell ya

Dirtyfuzz
23-02-2020, 11:10 AM
Just as a heads up Gazz you need to be qualified to be mucking around with automotive lpg, if the thing blows up from a gas leak and the investigation finds you did the work yourself you will be liable!

gazza2006au
23-02-2020, 01:37 PM
Fuzz yeah im calling around on monday to find out what it cost to service the vaporiser im not ganna mess with it that lpg is some leathal stuff when it explodes

gazza2006au
23-02-2020, 11:49 PM
First time checking the tanks gauge with a full and empty tank quiet strange, full tank shows 3/4 empty tank shows 1/4 so really im only using half a tank

Squeezed 180kms out of her today sitting on 120, i should be seeing 350-400kms120862120863

catshark
24-02-2020, 06:37 PM
maybe its only registering liquid volumne with the remainder gas filling the void...

gazza2006au
24-02-2020, 08:39 PM
maybe its only registering liquid volumne with the remainder gas filling the void...I donno how it works

gazza2006au
26-02-2020, 02:34 PM
Called Ultra Tune just now they want me to take the car in to be inspected i mentioned its using 26L/100km they said something is wrong with it

TheRealPoMo
26-02-2020, 03:53 PM
Just turn the lpg off Gazza

Sent from my SM-G960F using TapatalkBump

stevej
26-02-2020, 03:57 PM
Take it to a proper lpg mechanic not ultra tune

Will be cheaper and properly diagnosed

Paul071978
26-02-2020, 08:32 PM
Definitely need to take it to a gas specialist not ultra tune

gazza2006au
06-03-2020, 12:23 AM
Was being a bit of a dick today unleashing the power in the wet... never been a rev head maybe the odd sideways around the corner in the old VN... but shit doing 80 than rollin on the power to 119 down the motoway without dropping it back a gear she has plenty of poke to over take nancy drivers

Pulling up at a set of lights 80kph zone thought i would go in left lane to boot around the slowrr cars pulled up first car was a VY SS lol.... we had a go both lost traction i backed off pulled in behind he kept gunning it loud exhaust and a manual... the old 5 litre ford kept up efortlessly to speed limit of course

Still havent fixed the hole forgot to put the tarp on 2 nights ago floor copped a drenching, going to clean the area of grease and oily crap with a tooth brush than wire brush and bog with epoxy fumed silica mix as there is a window sill yhat goes over the lot so should protect it from uv rays

Towed my first load with the old girl the other day just a bike trailer and dirt bike about 400kg load lost what felt like 20% percent in performance

Thinking about pulling the lpg tank out my self to have it restamped to save a lot of money

shakey55
06-03-2020, 06:30 AM
So you were the ######## racing down the road in the rain, changing lanes to get in front, getting into slow lane to race off at light to be the leader.

I saw you.

What happened to slowing down in the wet.

Your boat & trailer will love being towed by you, racing down the road to be first at the ramp

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

stevej
06-03-2020, 10:01 AM
Why bother obeying the 80 zone when you were speeding in the 110 zone

gazza2006au
06-03-2020, 12:18 PM
So you were the ######## racing down the road in the rain, changing lanes to get in front, getting into slow lane to race off at light to be the leader.

I saw you.

What happened to slowing down in the wet.

Your boat & trailer will love being towed by you, racing down the road to be first at the ramp

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Sent from my iPad using Ausfish forumsGot in the left lane just because i hate people sitting on 70 in a 80 zone... i heard cops wont get u if your doing under 10 over lol

Both the VY SS and my self got caught behind a slow driver up a head not doing the speed limit about 65-70 in a 80 zone...

Its sydney drivers like this everywhere

gazza2006au
20-03-2020, 11:04 PM
Put 35 litres in her tuesday morning at $1.13 its now almost saturday morning i have used about half of that 35L for 115-120kms 35L was 3/4th a tank exact

Think there may be money stashed in my fuel tank old mate the last owner must have known i will need lots of moolah to run the old girl haha

The old girl is a bit thirsty i can easily manage the fuel cost but trying to minimise the fuel use by driving less lead footed than usual use to putting my foot down in the xtrail just to keep up with cars..

Still have only towed a bike on a trailer so far.. really hope the day i tow the big old Caribbean down the coast comes soon..

ranmar850
22-03-2020, 11:07 AM
Here's Gazza on his way to the ramp, V8 sedan and all ;D;D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tTYTrWKYUQg&t=2s

gazza2006au
22-03-2020, 03:03 PM
Haha classic lol some old good looking boats in the mix

catshark
22-03-2020, 07:31 PM
oghh my im in tears thats so fricking funny , driver number 11 is a real demon and has two steering wheels in his boat at 5:36sec ...........hands down funny thing i saw all week , hey i think one of those boats was a crest cutter, could do up real nice as a project ha ha

gazza2006au
22-03-2020, 09:52 PM
oghh my im in tears thats so fricking funny , driver number 11 is a real demon and has two steering wheels in his boat at 5:36sec ...........hands down funny thing i saw all week , hey i think one of those boats was a crest cutter, could do up real nice as a project ha haWife needs the steering wheel just like her hubbys balls in her hand bag lol

gazza2006au
23-03-2020, 04:48 PM
Just hit the low tank alarm from 3/4th a tank 175kms now on just under 1/4th a tank seems the problem maybe the engine its not lacking power doesnt use oil or coolant i have topped the coolant up once since buying it as nd oil on dip stick has barely moved

Oil was translucent went i bought the car now its a brown tinted colour

Think the old girl needs a good service, plugs, leads, fuel and oil filters, may need the injectors cleaned about an afternoons work

shortthenlong
23-03-2020, 07:46 PM
Do you ever log the actual litres of fuel when you fill up and the km driven so you have an accurate picture of the fuel used? There are plenty of free apps that can help. Much better than just going off what the gauge says.

LPG is hard on leads and plugs etc. It would be worth changing them.

stevej
23-03-2020, 07:49 PM
cant quote fuel figures going off the gauge its pointless

gazza2006au
23-03-2020, 08:25 PM
Short i havent filled her right up yet mostly put in $30-40 a time she would take about $80 to fill up as a guess

I was just above the read on low tank when i put $40 35L in her so far have gotten 175kms almost out of petrol now

Doing pretty good tho its lasted me 1 week in a v8

gazza2006au
24-03-2020, 02:03 AM
Shes using about 17L/100km i think from memory redbook said this car uses 13L possibly 15L 100km

Sure beats a commodore sucking 22L 100kms lol120948

stevej
24-03-2020, 08:06 AM
Shes using about 17L/100km i think from memory redbook said this car uses 13L possibly 15L 100km

Sure beats a commodore sucking 22L 100kms lol120948

the last work commodore i had was a vz wagon it got down to 7-8l at 110 on highways and 10-12 around town in traffic

gazza2006au
24-03-2020, 02:32 PM
Thats not a v8 Steve my old vn v6 got the economy i get now from my v8

stevej
24-03-2020, 05:19 PM
Thats not a v8 Steve my old vn v6 got the economy i get now from my v8

fair enough i had a Ve ss ute before that and at 6l it still only hit 17 round town and 11 on the highway
22l is a shagged out car or driven too hard

gazza2006au
24-03-2020, 06:03 PM
From what i recall the new commodores uses 22L let.me double check that

gazza2006au
24-03-2020, 06:15 PM
Ok appoligies newer commodores use 14.3L not sure where i read 22L maybe that was the Jeep or something else and got my wires crossed i remember reading it thinking thats what the xtrail was guzzling

gazza2006au
26-03-2020, 04:25 PM
Ive put in $55 for 270kms LOL but im loving it love the power

Stereo has gone on a fail safe volume a little loud sitting at lights cant hear shit on the highway... volume is preset wont go up or down

chocolatemoose
26-03-2020, 05:57 PM
Just to add to the discussion
I had a 2004 VW touareg with a 4.2l v8 petrol. air suspension etc. and when i bought it, man was it smooth. overtaking. towing. anything it was great. but 16 years and 300,000km towing. took its toll and in the end there were lots of little things causing grief.

Fuel consumption Fwrr!! driving comfortably i would get 18-20L/100 Towing... double it. easy, soi was putting in 30 dollars of fuel nearly every day just for commuting.

after she died 3 weeks ago, i ended up with a 2015 jeep grand cherokee overland diesel. and yes ive heard all the things people say about them.

But its been pretty good so far. comfy inside "not quite as fancy pants as the VW" but it makes up for it in fuel consumption. towing oour 3-3.5t boats i get around 12-13l/100km just driving around i get around 9.. and on highway without a trailer. i get a 7's

everyone told me to buy a Ram, or silverado, or f150 or tundra. And lots in my industry have, however with utes being classified as commercial and attracting twice the price for toll roads here in melbourne. that would of been a large cost per month. plus 100+ K for a work vehicle in this climate didnt add up.

So early days. but the grand cherokee so far has been good :D

Moose

gazza2006au
26-03-2020, 06:17 PM
I like the Jeeps Moose but they dont have the best rep in Australia especially the older models i looked at a few online and seems they love chewing the crank bearings hopefully that has changed on late model Jeeps love the look to them

You got pretty good mileage on the diesel 7L geez last time i seen that was when i owned a Hyundai Excel lol

My car has 550k quiet a lot i plan on keeping this car for a long time or untill some AH writes me off

A year or two ago i wanted to go the whole diesel route but on cars i can afford up to 3k if the diesel injector pump goes the while car is just not worthy of a repair i donno why diesel pumps cost thousands of dollars but its just not economical

Lots of old Ford Transit Turbo Diesels out there with failed injector pumps, i think these are a real problem in owning a diesel fueled car today

gazza2006au
13-04-2020, 08:00 PM
Just about to hit low fuel light 295km's to a full tank

Unleaded i think cost me 54L 87.9c cost from memory $51

LPG gets 160km's 35L cant remember how much it cost per litre but full tank cost $26

For the moment it comes out about even but once that unleaded goes back up $1.60-$1.75 i'll be using LPG

catshark
13-04-2020, 11:35 PM
there is only one jeep , coming from a touareg man that must have been nice , but reaching 300 k is a great effort considering VW reputation for electric spaz attacks , but hey those things can haul just look at the videos in snow laden germany .. jeeps are very good, best you learn them and work on them yourself , save some money from the stealerships.. ive found my v8 jeep is slightly better economically than the ford falcon and holden VE sedans ive owned . but then again the 4.0 barra monsters the 4.7 powertech v8 in size, the VE alloytech is from the corvettes family ave 14 ltrs .. best holden motor was the ecotec 3.8 that ran for years and finished in the vy series 2 era , average was under 10l/100

catshark
13-04-2020, 11:39 PM
unfamilar with the winsdor but id expect at least 480 klm per tank, the 4.0 barra could get nearly 550-600klm not towing mind you but at 190kw its a big donk , best engine produced ever reckon , im sure somewhere there is a taxi that got clocked

gazza2006au
14-04-2020, 12:20 AM
Haha yeah the Barra engine has a lot of followers my engine is based on a 1960-1970 model engine from earlier discussion, mine was built 1999 if im getting 295km's to a tank on a EFI engine geez what are they getting on a blown 302 windsor carby 80km's? lol

My engine uses no oil since i bought the car i havent put oil in it that i can recall so unsure why she is gizzling the fuel

I dont really mind at the moment with fuel being under $1 but i reckon i'll struggle to put unleaded in her when fuel is $1.75

Absolutely love the car and i wanna keep it i've got a little plan worked out to easy the b pocket, the lpg expires in about a year and a half so i need yo level out my yearly rego and get the lpg recertified when rego is not due

Unsure as to how much certifying the tank will cost a log with a lpg service i called around but no one wants to give specific prices on the job without seeing the car and in todays world that crys out as in once your foots in there door you'll likely use there service and they will sting ya

Hence no prices over the phone

gazza2006au
24-04-2020, 05:37 PM
Car stalled today but picked back up and started making a bearing noise stupid me replaced the belt without checking the pulleys, new belt on same thing..

Belt off again checked the pulley i repaired just 4-6 weeks ago and its no good, still a tight bearing but its notchy

Bearing was a NTN 6203 high quality bearing i have no idea why it only lasted about 600kms

Could heat be a factor? Im not pissed but dissapointed in the mileage, its only a $11-$12 bearing but i could have been stuck some where a $200 tow home for a $12 bearing and 10mins to fit it! Struth