View Full Version : Best fishing boat in the 6-6.5m category (Cabin)

millzee
22-01-2020, 08:23 PM
I've been researching a lot and would love to here some feedback from owners of cabin boats in the 6m to 6.5m range. The good, the bad and the ugly. Every salesperson and marketing ad all say that there boat is the best so it makes it very hard to choose. I'm going to go to the boat show in Melbourne this year to get aboard a few that I like the look of and arrange a water test as I know that'll be the only way to know if I like the feel of the hulls but hoping you guys that have seasons of experience in them might help steer me in the right direction. I'm looking to cap my spend at around 80k so second hand with low hours will be a good option. Lets hear what you love and hate about your boat?

ozynorts
23-01-2020, 07:34 AM
For that money you can get yourself a brand new Yalta 2200 with lots of extras and still have lots of money left over for more tackle, beer and fuel.

23-01-2020, 07:52 AM
I guess first off you need to sort out your compromises, like bigger bunks or less floor space, very deep V for better ride, or flatter for stability, all sorts of stuff needs to be sorted, what makes something "the best" for me, is not your best.

Paul071978
23-01-2020, 08:02 AM
All comes down to what you intend to use your boat for the majority of the time. There is no one perfect boat for all occasions.

23-01-2020, 09:12 AM
Is there such a thing as "The best" :-? As has been mentioned all boats are about compromise it's just about how many compromises you are willing to except to get what is "your " perfect boat .

Maybe to assist with some guidance - why don't you jot down how you intend to use the boat (style of fishing , overnighters , beach launching / landing , towing , how many people etc) There are some pretty switched on types that can point you in the right direction .

Maybe spend an afternoon watching the Captains series on youtube

www.youtube.com/channel/UCLTE7shdCFTNEyrnzVQTYmA/videos (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLTE7shdCFTNEyrnzVQTYmA/videos)

Watto79
23-01-2020, 09:43 AM
"Fishing boat"

From my experience, would favour plate alloy over glass for the above..

Been in LOTS of different boats in this 6 - 6.5m range..

Would suggest looking at the bar crusher, surtees or Extreme type boats..

Also a custom plate alloy, most reputable brands make good ones and really comes down to taste and budget at the end of the day..

Couple I would happily recommend that will not disappoint are the old Noble Super Vee (before they went to China), Rip Tide, Fisher or a performance plate boat..

Probably if going to go to the hassle of building your own would talk to Sam @ Performance plate boats as he is in my opinion building a great boat and very reasonable however you will need to be patient and willing to wait as they are always busy!

Lots of compromises when it comes to declaring the best boat but the above from a pure fishing perspective are up their with the best in my experience..

Good luck and happy hunting :)

millzee
23-01-2020, 05:23 PM
Yeah, sorry, should have said that I'm leaning towards a glass boat. Will be a ramp only boat that I'll sleep out in from time to time but fishability trumps over comfort for me. I'm live in Victoria so a lot of bay fishing and coastal from places like Portland. The Haines hunter Offshore 625, Signature 650f are the two that I keep coming back to.

Ducksnutz
23-01-2020, 06:26 PM
Haines signature, 632f. Did everything you have asked for. Older model is the 630f newer model is the 650f. Might be a big brand name, but from personal experience with the Haines boys, they know how to build a boat. They also own The Seafarer moulds and the 6 metre Victory would arguably be one the best riding hulls in that range and they also own Tournament pleasure boats which are a good value for money boat.
Disclosure- I owned a 632f and currently own a Tournament 1900 Bluewater centre console. ( possibly biased)😂😂😂

Paul071978
23-01-2020, 08:00 PM
After recently purchasing a second hand boat myself I’ve found what I had in mind and what I ended up with were quite different haha. Mainly due to price availability engine and fit out. Just couldn’t find what I was really after even looking for 15 months..... I looking for a Caribbean or seafarer or Haines hunter. Ended up with a Boston Whaler

shakey55
24-01-2020, 05:45 AM
Is there such a thing as "The best" :-? As has been mentioned all boats are about compromise it's just about how many compromises you are willing to except to get what is "your " perfect boat .

Maybe to assist with some guidance - why don't you jot down how you intend to use the boat (style of fishing , overnighters , beach launching / landing , towing , how many people etc) There are some pretty switched on types that can point you in the right direction .

Maybe spend an afternoon watching the Captains series on youtube

www.youtube.com/channel/UCLTE7shdCFTNEyrnzVQTYmA/videos (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLTE7shdCFTNEyrnzVQTYmA/videos)

How do I find this captains series

Shakey - If only I lived near the coast

shakey55
24-01-2020, 05:53 AM
The seafarer Vagabond is a nice boat.

Sent from my iPad using Ausfish forums

24-01-2020, 06:22 AM
I think so too.

gazza2006au
24-01-2020, 08:28 AM
Just seen a HH or HS 1950 on fb gee they are a nice looking hull sits really well at rest

Sent from my SM-G900I using Ausfish mobile app (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=91595)

Ducksnutz
24-01-2020, 10:03 AM
I would also have a look at the Cruise Craft 625/685 Explorer/Outsider. Did a Bar crossing course years ago in Bill Cortens 685 and it was outstanding. 685’s are expensive but every now and then a second hand one comes up in your budget.

Vromme
24-01-2020, 10:27 AM
Easy answer. Cootacraft BadBoy. Nothing else in its class comes close.

Watto79
24-01-2020, 11:41 AM
Seafarer victory 6.0 (fry hull if you can get one - little biased as was my last boat), Haines patriot, Whitley Sea legend..

Not a massive fan of the Cruisecraft, in my opinion they are ok but think they are over rated and over priced..

Same vote for the new and improved Seafarer victory..

And hope your not a messy and rough fisho Millzee and enjoy lots of cleaning when you get home! hahaha

24-01-2020, 01:16 PM
How do I find this captains series

Didn't the link work ?

Ducksnutz
24-01-2020, 02:08 PM
Agreed. That or an Edencraft 6.0 offshore or Bass straight. Wouldn’t have thought ithese would come under his budget though of 80K?
Maybe he’d get lucky with second hand but they’re bloody rare.

Anyone know the build cost with complete fit out on the above mentioned boats?

Ducksnutz
24-01-2020, 02:12 PM
Seafarer victory 6.0 (fry hull if you can get one - little biased as was my last boat), Haines patriot, Whitley Sea legend..

Not a massive fan of the Cruisecraft, in my opinion they are ok but think they are over rated and over priced..

And hope your not a messy and rough fisho Millzee and enjoy lots of cleaning when you get home! hahaha

The beauty about Cruise Craft is they seem to hold their value from a re-sale point of view.

24-01-2020, 05:23 PM
Nothing comes close in what way?

Ducksnutz
24-01-2020, 06:06 PM
If your budget is $80k, don’t rule out cats. I’ve seen a few Kevlacat 2400 go for that second hand. Would certainly be a contender for your needs if you have the tow vehicle.

Paul071978
24-01-2020, 06:44 PM
Ride maybe but not stability for the cootacraft

Ducksnutz
24-01-2020, 06:48 PM
Agreed. Compromise is The key to boating. Nothing unless you can have 3 boats will do everything you want.

BigE
24-01-2020, 07:00 PM
You can get one of these for 60k -65k brand new. (2200 yalta fisherman)
pictures are worth a thousand words so have a close look. they are a genuine no frills fishing boat. there also about half the price of a haines or cruise craft
set up with a boat catch i can launch and retrive solo in 4 mins without weting my feet. has a loo . 320lts of esky. 180ltr of fuel and fuel burn is about 1.9 LPK and as good as 2.2 LPK if your light for a day trip.

have a mate who is in love with his 6.7 crusher and we fish together regularly and down hill there about the same but into em he always tucks in behind and the glass rig and is about 10kph slower for the same ride (both have tabs)

BigE

millzee
24-01-2020, 10:28 PM

I'll do what it takes to get the fish and clean up when the funs been had lol

millzee
24-01-2020, 10:41 PM
That boat is nuts, just watch the captains review on Bad Boy, crazy

shakey55
25-01-2020, 06:51 AM
Didn't the link work ?

No buddy. If I put Captain, or Captain Series into the search I get a choice of animated video’s.

No worries

Dirtyfuzz
25-01-2020, 08:21 AM

Made me ill just watching it rock side to side but if you enjoy that while fishing then I Guess nothing does come close!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gazza2006au
25-01-2020, 10:54 AM
You can get one of these for 60k -65k brand new. (2200 yalta fisherman)
pictures are worth a thousand words so have a close look. they are a genuine no frills fishing boat. there also about half the price of a haines or cruise craft
set up with a boat catch i can launch and retrive solo in 4 mins without weting my feet. has a loo . 320lts of esky. 180ltr of fuel and fuel burn is about 1.9 LPK and as good as 2.2 LPK if your light for a day trip.

have a mate who is in love with his 6.7 crusher and we fish together regularly and down hill there about the same but into em he always tucks in behind and the glass rig and is about 10kph slower for the same ride (both have tabs)

BigEThat thing is sexy as look at those massive eskys i would never fill them, and huge amount off room

What do one of these sell for tho? Looks expensive

Sent from my SM-G900I using Ausfish mobile app (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=91595)

gazza2006au
25-01-2020, 10:55 AM
Made me ill just watching it rock side to side but if you enjoy that while fishing then I Guess nothing does come close!

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkPretty sure the captain done a review on the cootas and they.mentioned the divers love them as they get out and back fast but not a good fishing boat

banshee
25-01-2020, 11:24 AM
Not much love for the Cruise Crafts..........I would give my left nut for a big Explorer.

scottar
25-01-2020, 01:10 PM
The best boat - no such animal. The answer to that question can change in 15 minute intervals over the course of a day depending on sea state and what you are fishing for. Some boats do some things well but then lose ground to others in other areas. It all comes down to what you want to do and what you personally find the most important. There are also hulls that don't shine as being the absolute best at anything but really good allrounders. Personally I own a Seafarer Victory and IMO, it is one of the better in the latter category. Are they without fault - no boat is - and the more specialised a hull becomes in one area, the less it will shine in others. Better to compile a list of things you want in a boat, breaking that list into categories - must have, nice to have, can add later - and then see which ones fit as best possible so you have at least some ideas of which rigs to try and get a run in.

As an idea - Hard top with full glass, top with clears, canvas top, bunk length - if you want bunks at all, fuel capacity, fresh water, rod storage, rod holders (number and location), bait tanks, kill tanks, seating, storage, ease of going forward for berthing or anchoring, able to fit an anchor winch, room for electronics, towing weight, storage - height, length and width,

As to ride quality - this one is a hard one to gauge without going for a run yourself. there are so many variables with set up, skipper capability and skipper expectation. I can turn my own rig from a comfortable cruise into a banging pig simply by doing things wrong with weight distribution or driving too hard in the wrong conditions. That said there are generalisations that in the main run true - things like bigger deadrise equals a better high speed ride - at the loss of stability and some economy.

shortthenlong
25-01-2020, 01:13 PM
What do one of these sell for tho? Looks expensive

You can get one of these for 60k -65k brand new. (2200 yalta fisherman)BigE

I reckon 60k-65k....

Vromme
25-01-2020, 01:58 PM

Fun factor, isnt that what its meant to be about?

Just stirring the pot. They are an absolute beast. But not in that budget (around double decked out).

Stability of them is about the same as the same size Grady White (6.5M). The GW has a heavy roof which doesnt help it. The BB is a heavy boat (below water line) and still beamy (2.5m) so it is much more stable than the smaller Cootas (though Cootas smallest boat now is the BB).

gazza2006au
25-01-2020, 03:22 PM
Thanks matt i didnt see that

Flex
25-01-2020, 06:08 PM
Hands down the best trailer boat you can buy is a 2300 walkaround Noosacat IMO.
Not many other boats tick as many boxes as this.
-Twin engines for safety
-best riding trailer boat you can buy.
- twin beds for sleeping.
- top shelf build quality
- full walkaround so you have 360 deg fishing.
- walkthrough transom.
- super stable at rest when actually fishing.

Second hand (if you can find one) about 70-90k

Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish forums

Ducksnutz
25-01-2020, 06:28 PM
-Twin engines for safety
-best riding trailer boat you can buy.
- twin beds for sleeping.
- full walkaround so you have 360 deg fishing.
- walkthrough transom.

Really hard to find Flex. They are so rare on he second hand market but agree with you on the best in its class.

Ducksnutz
25-01-2020, 06:55 PM
My last word, 685 Cruise craft explorer/outsider will do everything you want and more. Re-sale value exceptional, huge bedding area, proven hull and you’ll find one in your price range.

gazza2006au
25-01-2020, 06:59 PM
Could old mate possibly get a Formular 233 for this kind of dough? Im not familuar with all these big boats

Flex
25-01-2020, 07:08 PM
Really hard to find Flex. They are so rare on he second hand market but agree with you on the best in its class.

Currently one for sale at 80k on boat sales

Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish mobile app (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=91595)

Ducksnutz
25-01-2020, 07:42 PM
Could old mate possibly get a Formular 233 for this kind of dough? Im not familuar with all these big boats

Possibly Gazza. Would probably need work or re-power. Arguably one of the best riding mono hulls. Doubt his budget would be enough for a turn key 233.

BigE
25-01-2020, 10:23 PM
They sell for 60k with a 150hp which is heaps after that you can spend as much as you want, mine owes my about 70K all up but it has some fruit. way cheaper than a cruise craft or a haines and in the ball park of a bare bones platey. The fishing space has to be seen to be appreicated I've fish 4 but you could fish 6 if you wanted to. 2 up it an absolute ballroom.

the esky set up absolutely makes the boat they slide up out of the way when fishing, have split lids so you dont have to move them double as extra seats and pull em out and you can sleep on them up off the floor.

BigE

BigE
25-01-2020, 10:24 PM
I reckon 60k-65k....

They sell for 60k with a 150hp which is heaps after that you can spend as much as you want, mine owes my about 70K all up but it has some fruit. way cheaper than a cruise craft or a haines and in the ball park of a bare bones platey. The fishing space has to be seen to be appreicated I've fish 4 but you could fish 6 if you wanted to. 2 up it an absolute ballroom.

the esky set up absolutely makes the boat they slide up out of the way when fishing, have split lids so you dont have to move them double as extra seats and pull em out and you can sleep on them up off the floor.

BigE

Vromme
26-01-2020, 05:49 AM

Great boats but the build quality on a couple Ive seen recently is significantly lacking. IE brand new had to replace floors no glass on sections of timber!

Only get something pretty rough for that amount.

lethal
26-01-2020, 07:08 AM
Have a look at a Seafox

millzee
27-01-2020, 07:03 PM
I keep coming back to the Haines Signature 650F, seems to tick all the right boxes for me, anyone have experience with them??

jackamundi
27-01-2020, 07:55 PM
I have a 2008 632F and love it. Very forgiving with tabs ensuring you can use the V at all times. The only other boat I would look at would be a @ 2004 HH 650 Offshore.

RayLamp
27-01-2020, 08:54 PM
You might get a better feel for what's out there when and if you go to a boat show. I already knew what i wanted before going to a boat show, but seeing everything available under one roof totally convinced me. I love all boats and was in boat heaven during the show, however i could easily eliminate some boats simply due to their presentation, fitment/quality and inclusions. You also might like the look and style of a particular boat and when you compare them under lights, its horses for courses so comparing can be easier.

Try not to forget things like size (i.e width of where you can store it, same for height and length), what you are towing with and local servicing of the motor etc.

For what it's worth, I ended up with a Cruisecraft and haven't looked back. Love it.

millzee
27-01-2020, 09:10 PM
I have a 2008 632F and love it. Very forgiving with tabs ensuring you can use the V at all times. The only other boat I would look at would be a @ 2004 HH 650 Offshore.

The Hunter 625 Offshore is the other contender at the moment but I like 100l extra fuel the sig can hold

millzee
27-01-2020, 09:14 PM
You might get a better feel for what's out there when and if you go to a boat show. I already knew what i wanted before going to a boat show, but seeing everything available under one roof totally convinced me. I love all boats and was in boat heaven during the show, however i could easily eliminate some boats simply due to their presentation, fitment/quality and inclusions. You also might like the look and style of a particular boat and when you compare them under lights, its horses for courses so comparing can be easier.

Try not to forget things like size (i.e width of where you can store it, same for height and length), what you are towing with and local servicing of the motor etc.

For what it's worth, I ended up with a Cruisecraft and haven't looked back. Love it.

I was like a kid in a lollie shop at my first boat show, lol. Cruisecraft are on the to look t list for sure, just seem a bit pricier than the Haines boats

Whiley_Whiting
28-01-2020, 07:17 PM
The Haines Hunter hull is by far the superior over the cruise craft having owned a 575 outsider and also still own a Haines Hunter V146c. I test drove the Haines Hunter 565 offshore and loved it. I missed out on buying a near new second hand one with a 150 Mercury 4 stroke on the back which would have been magic....

The other boat that is nice is the Caribbean 2400 or 2100... In the end I opted for a Shark Cat 560 and will never look back....

millzee
28-01-2020, 09:19 PM
The Haines Hunter hull is by far the superior over the cruise craft having owned a 575 outsider and also still own a Haines Hunter V146c. I test drove the Haines Hunter 565 offshore and loved it. I missed out on buying a near new second hand one with a 150 Mercury 4 stroke on the back which would have been magic....

The other boat that is nice is the Caribbean 2400 or 2100... In the end I opted for a Shark Cat 560 and will never look back....

Cheers, I don't mind the Caribbean's, currently have a 6.2m Tiara (bow rider) but find it to be a tad unstable at rest, maybe the larger model might be a bit better

Richo1
30-01-2020, 01:48 PM
We just bought a Tournament 1900 Bluewater. Family was getting too big for the tinny and I wanted something bigger and more comfortable to get the family out for the whole day.
Have only done 20hrs in it but during that short time we copped 15-20knots crossing Moreton Bay heading straight into the weather. Asked the Mrs if she was doing ok and she replied with a big smile ‘ I love it!’ It was dry and comfy at 18knots through the water. Large cabin area to lie down in and still has good deck space to fish out of 👍

Ducksnutz
30-01-2020, 02:38 PM
We just bought a Tournament 1900 Bluewater. Family was getting too big for the tinny and I wanted something bigger and more comfortable to get the family out for the whole day.
Have only done 20hrs in it but during that short time we copped 15-20knots crossing Moreton Bay heading straight into the weather. Asked the Mrs if she was doing ok and she replied with a big smile ‘ I love it!’ It was dry and comfy at 18knots through the water. Large cabin area to lie down in and still has good deck space to fish out of 

I have the same hull but in the centre console boat. Does everything I need and will be my “forever boat”. Good value for money tub.

02-02-2020, 10:18 AM
Had my Edencraft 6.0 offshore since 2007 Although it's had several upgrades along the way it's one of the toughest boats you will ever find for the size and it measures well over 6 meters.

These things run better the harder you drive it. We quite often sleep 3 up 100klm offshore. They are built to survey standard (look it up if you don't know what that means)

Ducksnutz
02-02-2020, 04:21 PM
Had my Edencraft 6.0 offshore since 2007 Although it's had several upgrades along the way it's one of the toughest boats you will ever find for the size and it measures well over 6 meters.

These things run better the harder you drive it. We quite often sleep 3 up 100klm offshore. They are built to survey standard (look it up if you don't know what that means)

Hey Garry,

love the Edencrafts, with the OP’s budget, would he get a new or used with a budget of $80k? The second hand market for them are rare for a reason with their cult following. Also are they built without wood and are they the same hull as the legendary Haines V19?

Paul071978
02-02-2020, 10:20 PM
Around $80k depending on options.......13 years ago
http://fishingmonthly.com.au/Articles/Display/2784-Be-tempted-by-the-Eden-Craft-60m

shakey55
03-02-2020, 06:10 AM
A quick search in boat sales show a 2015 Edencraft (6 m offshore) $129000 and a 2018 model $155000

Looks like a bit more that $80k required for one of these

Sent from my iPad using Ausfish forums

gazza2006au
03-02-2020, 10:34 AM
Gee 155k for a 6m boat that is quiet the penny why do they cost so damn much money?

Dirtyfuzz
03-02-2020, 04:08 PM
Gee 155k for a 6m boat that is quiet the penny why do they cost so damn much money?

Good old fashion Supply and demand

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

scottar
03-02-2020, 07:13 PM
Supply and demand coupled with fit out. Not unusual at all these days for a 6-7 metre rig to be carrying $30k worth of electronics. Some boats at 10 metres are carrying over $100k in accessories. I know of one Moda that got a full scanning sonar @ $30k plus install.

gazza2006au
03-02-2020, 08:35 PM
Thats the cost of a house in the country...

scottar
03-02-2020, 09:01 PM
Thats the cost of a house in the country...

Yep. I have fitted electronics packages worth more than I paid for my house and land in the outer suburbs of Brisbane some years ago on big vessels. Once you start talking dual station flybridge installations and satellite TV to every berth on a vessel, scanning sonars, 3kw or bigger echo sounders, 25kw radars, sat coms, HF radios, sat compass and so on the dollar values go north at ludicrous speed.