PDA

View Full Version : Springwood Marine Never Again

Mickywilly74
11-04-2019, 05:49 PM
Hi all, This is my first post on here as a paid member and sorry if its more of a rant but the level of incompetence from Springwood marine was so appalling I decided to become a paid member to advise of my experience. I'll try and keep it short as possible. Let me start by saying I am not here to debate who has the better motor and so on, all my problems are human error from Springwood marine and no fault of the motor.

I will also say that I am not a boat mechanic and some of the terms are probably incorrect however here goes.

1. December 2018 purchased a new Quintrex Renegade from Brisbane Quintrex. The original package had a 40hp TS E-tec on the back but I wanted the maximum hp so negotiated a 50hp at same price. I'll start by saying Paul at Brisbane Quintrex was helpful and I had no problems with his service. New package was assembled and off I went in the new tub.
2. Initially it ran like a treat and with the missus and 2 kids on board the hole shot was awesome. Then one night it suddenly starting revving high at idle and because of this would clunk into gear. So back to Brisbane Quintrex.
3. This is where the problems began. Brisbane Quintrex at present do not have E-tec technicians (which is about to change) so all the E-tec work is performed by Springwood marine. I was a bit worried as I had read a terrible review here from years earlier regarding them but that was when they were a sales yard also. They are now just a mechanical service as I understand.