View Full Version : Weighbridge BMT figures

Paul071978
22-02-2019, 12:36 PM
Thought it would be good to hear some real world figures on BMT weights as weighed at weight ridge facilities. I’ll get the ball rolling
HH 565c 200hp DI, single battery, safety gear and full fuel tank 1,830kg

inveratta
22-02-2019, 12:53 PM
what a beast!.I have a 565L 1983 build...150hp 4s dual battery long time since we weighed it ..but it wasnt far different to that number..on Tinka Tandem

Paul071978
22-02-2019, 01:35 PM
Yep tandem trailer too

stue2
22-02-2019, 02:08 PM
Seafarers Vagabond
Twin 90 etc
Empty
2366kg

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Paul071978
22-02-2019, 02:54 PM
Without any fuel?

ranmar850
22-02-2019, 04:48 PM
Swiftcraft Dominator 5.65m. On tandem load sharing Roadmaster, fully cradled/rollered,. Single F115 Yamaha, about 20 l of fuel, all safety gear. 1550kg

Quintrex Navigator 600. 90hp Yamaha 2 stroke, dual batteries, With plate alloy CC and t-top, 16mm marine ply carpet covered floor, thwart seat removed,underfloor 170 l tank maybe half full,, most of the safety gear, on home built ( heavy tandem load sharing trailer) 1500kg.

Haven't weighed the Reef Runner.

stue2
22-02-2019, 07:54 PM
Without any fuel?May have been a small amount.
But not very much

fishingrod
22-02-2019, 08:26 PM
Allison 189 Fisherman (2000 model), 115hp 2stroke, 15hp 2stroke aux, Brooker tandem trailer (apparently 400kg), stainless rocket launcher & bow rail, dual swim platforms, dual battery, 150L fuel onboard, couple small eskys, few rods, standard safety gear and ready to fish the bay.
Weigh bridge total : 1660kg

Towed with manual 2005 VZ V6 Commodore for many years. The clutch really struggled.
Now towing with auto 2012 Prado diesel which is a great match. Hauled from Sydney to Brisbane many times without drama even on +35 DegC days. 16.5L/100km on highway.

Paul071978
22-02-2019, 08:54 PM
So the vag would be over 2500kg with a full tank. Good to know if selecting a tow vehicle

stue2
23-02-2019, 06:59 AM
So the vag would be over 2500kg with a full tank. Good to know if selecting a tow vehicleAdd in safety gear and eskis, fishing gear it all adds up.
Towed with a mates cruiser but getting a Ranger to do the job

Gon Fishun
23-02-2019, 09:35 AM
Haines Hunter V16C, 115hp Evinrude 2 smoke, single axle braked trailer, no gear on board. 1180 kg . 80 kg on tow ball.

Out-Station
23-02-2019, 12:58 PM
Riptide 6500 hard top cuddy with glass
225 4st yammy
alloy trailer
385L fuel
50L water
Maxi drum winch
50L waeco
All permananent type cargo in (excluding fisching gear, ice, bait etc)

= 3,190 on the bridge

running a bit over 200 on the ball

ranmar850
23-02-2019, 01:24 PM
225 4st yammy
alloy trailer
385L fuel
50L water
Maxi drum winch
50L waeco

= 3,190 on the bridge

so is that your ATM or GTM. Is the 3190 on the bridge, still on the ball, or unhitched.?

Paul071978
23-02-2019, 07:31 PM
225 4st yammy
alloy trailer
385L fuel
50L water
Maxi drum winch
50L waeco

= 3,190 on the bridge

That’s quite a sizeable fuel tank for a 6.5!

Out-Station
23-02-2019, 11:11 PM
Unhitched fellas, if i'd worked hard at it and compriised a bit on the fitout i would have got it in under 3 tonne locked end loaded i recon.

scottar
23-02-2019, 11:53 PM
225 4st yammy
alloy trailer
385L fuel
50L water
Maxi drum winch
50L waeco

= 3,190 on the bridge

Wow, she's fat....sorry, big boned. Don't think you will break that one in a hurry

brett62
24-02-2019, 07:22 AM
7m Whittley Cruisemaster

Heavy duty trailer (steel)
half fuel (150L)
No water
No batteries (3 off)
No fishing gear
Mercruiser 300hp sterndrive with B1 leg

3980 kg

CT
24-02-2019, 07:24 AM
= 3,190 on the bridge

That's going to make the tow up Fraser a touch more interesting!

sempre
02-03-2019, 07:15 AM
Riptide 9m on alloy trailer 6.46 tonne with fuel . 560 kg ball weight . That's with no ice and fishing gear .

Out-Station
02-03-2019, 09:05 PM
That's going to make the tow up Fraser a touch more interesting!

CT, headed up early May so we'll see! Used to pull the old one with a Prado, got a Cruiser in front of this one so hopefully all good.

robcam
03-03-2019, 08:23 PM
Had a 5.5m plate alloy centre console built a couple of years ago. (build thread on here somewhere) Expected it to come out at about 1800-1900kg so was a bit surprised when I put it on a weigh bridge and came out 2100kg. That was full of fuel, 190lt, merc 150 and Redco sportsman c channel with every HD upgrade I could do. I now have gone through the brake upgrade ect. to get the trailer rated to 2500kg, stainless calipers and pistons with ordinary steel disks.Cost hurt at the time but it is so much better to tow now, especially on the long trips I can load the boat up and it tows great. Now I can`t help noticing lots of large glass boats with override breaks at the ramp and wonder if the owners know how much they weigh or not...Rob.

ranmar850
03-03-2019, 11:06 PM
They are ALWAYS heavier than the owner thinks--or has bought the trailer for;)

04-03-2019, 06:52 PM
From when I sold my 609 Stabicraft with a F150 Yammie, bugger all fuel and not much gear abord, 1,750 on the dump weighbridge still on the ball with a 2.0T rated gal trailer. Towed it with a BA Falcon sedan with heavy duty springs and a 2300kg tow kit on it. Towed Townsville and back one trip. Did put an old caravan load levellor on it and my last couple of boats I towed with sedans.

Paul071978
04-03-2019, 10:25 PM
Smithy so your boat would have been over the 2t with full fuel and all your fishing gear for the day?

05-03-2019, 12:07 PM
Dunno about over, maybe right on. I am sure if the scaleys pulled me over I would have been able to grab enough gear out of the boat and put in the car that they would let me drive off all legal. Rods I used to always put in the car.

Dirtyfuzz
11-03-2019, 03:06 PM
Just put my old girl on the weighbridge at Yandina, Kevlacat 6.2m Mk1 90L of fuel, 3T on the nose. So full of fuel ready to fish it would be approx 3.3T, Bt50 seems to tow it with no issues!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Dignity
11-03-2019, 07:24 PM
Put my Allison 195 Vision on the local tip weighbridhe when I changed the pod over to a deeper but shorter ally job. Pretty well loaded her up except for fishing gear and tackle, food and ice,2080 kg.surprised the hell out of me as always thought it around 1800kg fully loaded. Spent quite a few dollars upgrading the trailer with electric /hydraulic brakes and bigger rated tyres to 3T.

gazza2006au
11-03-2019, 07:37 PM
I've been to a weigh bridge a few times and everytime they pop there head out of the office window and tell u to unhitch before giving u the reading

Dirtyfuzz
11-03-2019, 08:14 PM
I've been to a weigh bridge a few times and everytime they pop there head out of the office window and tell u to unhitch before giving u the reading

It was a self serve so I drove on and unhitched,drove the Ute off the weighbridge punched in the rego details and it printed out the gross weight results!

Any_Weather
11-03-2019, 08:57 PM
Gday guys, weighed my 7.8m Riptide on the way home from fitout. Went 3320kg. This was dead empty of everything consumable. No anchor or rope. Batteries, cushions and the likes included. With 540lt of fuel, bait, ice and gear (??kg lead) I think I would be pushing the 4000kg which is my max for the cruiser. The cruiser is an awesome vehicle but it certainly knows it is towing the boat. A Dodge would be more appropriate I think but I don’t tow it very far or very often and as a daily driver, I think I know which vehicle would be easier to park.

Lee

Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish mobile app (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=91595)

gazza2006au
12-03-2019, 07:10 AM
It was a self serve so I drove on and unhitched,drove the Ute off the weighbridge punched in the rego details and it printed out the gross weight results!

DF what happens if its a new trailer no rego how does that work being self served? i have never seen that before, our weigh bridges down here are either the tip or ran by service stations

Dirtyfuzz
12-03-2019, 07:24 AM
DF what happens if its a new trailer no rego how does that work being self served? i have never seen that before, our weigh bridges down here are either the tip or ran by service stations

If it’s just to check weight I’m Pretty sure you could just make up a rego number and will still give a print outhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190311/9493fca7d3a7a6cae9e6ab0195a29b99.jpg

Dignity
15-03-2019, 11:21 AM

The tip was easy drove on got an GVM, drove car off the scales got weight on rear wheels, I already knew my towball weight so easy to calculate. I do need to load her up for bear one day and leave a little earlier and go to the weighbridge up at Palmview.

Darren J
16-03-2019, 10:39 AM
I just go to my local scrap metal yard. They were a public weighbridge, but are not any more but have no issues with drive in for a check that does not need a certificate issued.

BMT glacier bay 2270 cat, alloy trailer. 3.2t completely dry and no gear on board.

Out of interest for tow ball weights, I have torsion axles. Boat is set to ride with trailer dead level on the tow vehicle, but changing tow ball height by about 100mm equates to 100kg change on tow ball due to the variance in axle group loading (lower the front takes weight off it). So if weighing wheel loads with torsion axles, ensure trailer is fairly level. When attached to car, and not dropped as it drives off the bridge. Or it could have a fair effect on numbers. It’s obviously a little dynamic on road, but I doubt that argument would help if explaining to transport on the side of the road why your 250kg tow ball suddenly seems to be 350.

Dirtyfuzz
16-03-2019, 12:43 PM
I need to put airbags on my bt 50
For this very reason to bring the trailer back up level, in 2 years the springs have sagged 5”

Darren J
16-03-2019, 11:54 PM
Height adjustable hitches are good to set it up close to perfect. Mines alloy, you can set them to suit the actual vehicle droop when loaded.

5” is a lot. I had a navara with medium OME leaves in the rear and if I dropped around 300 kg on it I believe it dropped 75mm. Car appeared level at that load as well. Not legal, so I no longer have it.

Dirtyfuzz
17-03-2019, 09:34 AM
Height adjustable hitches are good to set it up close to perfect. Mines alloy, you can set them to suit the actual vehicle droop when loaded.

5” is a lot. I had a navara with medium OME leaves in the rear and if I dropped around 300 kg on it I believe it dropped 75mm. Car appeared level at that load as well. Not legal, so I no longer have it.

Yeah mate it’s a known fault with the bt50, lot of complaints online about how soft the rear suspension is on them

jackamundi
17-03-2019, 09:47 AM
Put the 2008 Haines Sig 632F hardtop over the local dump weighbridge...2350kg fuelled, ice etc while still hooked up to tow vehicle. Hope this info helps someone.

FisHard
17-03-2019, 06:43 PM
Last boat was 580 SLF Haines and it went 1.54t before fit out (hull, trailer, motor, nothing else)
Current project is Blackfin 26. It went 3.88t completely stripped inc no motor 😳

ericcs
17-03-2019, 10:14 PM
For this very reason to bring the trailer back up level, in 2 years the springs have sagged 5”

be careful putting airbags with leaf springs. many examples of bent chassis' on the internet!

https://4x4earth.com/forum/index.php?threads/air-bags-dont-go-there.9759/

Dirtyfuzz
18-03-2019, 04:12 PM
be careful putting airbags with leaf springs. many examples of bent chassis' on the internet!

https://4x4earth.com/forum/index.php?threads/air-bags-dont-go-there.9759/

Sounds scary, Thanks for the heads up I will have to do a bit of research and may just go heavy duty rear springs Instead!

scottar
18-03-2019, 08:00 PM
Sounds scary, Thanks for the heads up I will have to do a bit of research and may just go heavy duty rear springs Instead!

Have seen the odd post from time to time about this sort of thing. Can't comment on effectiveness or drawbacks from any personal experience though.

http://www.ironman4x4.com/products/load-plus/suspension/load-plus-helper-spring-lp4

gofishin
22-03-2019, 07:37 PM
My previous boat was a Cruisy 685 Outsider + Yam F250. Put her on an alloy skid trailer to keep loaded weight <3t. Dead empty but with anchor & normal ground tackle and safety gear she was 2480kg. Trailer was 600kg of this.

Sent from my iPad using Ausfish forums

stue2
25-03-2019, 05:54 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkGo another leaf.
Airbags are risky

ranmar850
04-04-2019, 08:06 PM
Visited a weighbridge today, as I had to tow the boat down to town for a service.
Caribbean Reefrunner 6.4m, 150 Merc 4 stroke, 305mm drum winch up front, electric capstan for pulling craypots, most regular fishing gear, but only 85 out of 225 litres possible of fuel. 2,300kg on the ball (GTM), 2550kg unhooked ( ATM). Trailer is rated for 2900/2700, with a Tare of 680kg, so the big girl is , fully fueled, just on 2 tonne sitting in the water.

Paul071978
04-04-2019, 11:48 PM
All the info helps people get a realistic tow figure and also calculate what type of breaking system is required.
Thanks mate

Paul071978
04-04-2019, 11:52 PM
That’s interesting. Don’t these boats come packaged with a 2t trailer? The reef runner?

ranmar850
05-04-2019, 07:48 AM
Yes, they do. Now, mine is a fairly heavy fitout, with the 1500w 305mm Tuffwinch up front, reinforced hardtop with the Rupp outrigger bases fitted, the craypot winch ( which is removable and only on while I have pots in the water), and a water bladder w/electric pump to shower. ptrobably only 20 litres of water in the bladder at the moment. Bt, going on the GTM of 2300 kg weighed, I think you'd be battling to get down to the 1999kg ATM rating of the standard trailer package usually offered. Maybe with a bare fitout, no tabs, winch, and no gear on board. Or much fuel. And remember the standard trailer is at least 70 kg less than mine Tare, perhaps more. People go to great lengths to avoid the breakaway EOH brakes requirement of the over 1999 kg rating, and they will live in denial of the true weight of their trailer. And the dealers are complicit in it.

ranmar850
05-04-2019, 02:09 PM
I justed checked on the trailer manufacturers website, and the one fitted as the standard package from the dealer here weighs in at 480 Tare, so 200kg lighter than mine at 680 kg. So there's 200 kg difference, which gos some way to explaining this. ut still marginal with norml safety gear and full fuel.

Paul071978
06-04-2019, 01:54 PM
I justed checked on the trailer manufacturers website, and the one fitted as the standard package from the dealer here weighs in at 480 Tare, so 200kg lighter than mine at 680 kg. So there's 200 kg difference, which gos some way to explaining this. ut still marginal with norml safety gear and full fuel.

Oh ok so with full tank of fuel and a large empty esky plus fishing and safety gear would be under 2t

gofishin
07-04-2019, 09:22 AM
Don’t forget that some trailer manufacturers are very light-on with their TARE weights. I would be extremely surprised if a HDG trailer to suit a 6.4m glass boat could be as light as 480kg. If it was, I would look at a better trailer if buying, as there would have to be a lot of good stuff missing!

Sent from my iPad using Ausfish forums

ranmar850
07-04-2019, 10:47 AM
I would argue that the one under discussion is inadequate. It is running 90mm c-channel sides,dual slipper springs, over-ride brakes and 13" wheels. A really good design, IMO, within its ratings, I just wanted the heavier rating and proper load sharing rocker/roller suspension.

So mine has 125mm channel, ( with bracing across the channel), Load-sharing suspension, 14" rims and steel guards, and EOH braking. The basic frame design is still the same, great for drive-on. My side frames would be twice the weight of the lighter one.

This is the layout of mine, rear view and side view. The other one has an identical layout. Now, the tare doesn't really come into it, IMO, as long as you don't overload it and the design is right. IF you can find a 6.4 m boat that comes well within the rated ATM/GTM, you would be fine. BTW, 6.4 was the max for that trailer, I'd say it would be better suited to 5.7 to 6m.

https://photos.smugmug.com/Boat-build/i-9MZLK7H/0/eac3123e/XL/20180622_095506-XL.jpg

https://photos.smugmug.com/Boat-build/i-DThMNvP/0/3349c9e3/XL/20180407_110357-XL.jpg

Here's a quck quiz. Spot what is wrong with the setup on the bare trailer pic. It took me a while to realise it, made a big difference.

SUPERDAFF
07-04-2019, 02:10 PM
Can't see a motor there

Paul071978
07-04-2019, 04:54 PM
I would argue that the one under discussion is inadequate. It is running 90mm c-channel sides,dual slipper springs, over-ride brakes and 13" wheels. A really good design, IMO, within its ratings, I just wanted the heavier rating and proper load sharing rocker/roller suspension.

So mine has 125mm channel, ( with bracing across the channel), Load-sharing suspension, 14" rims and steel guards, and EOH braking. The basic frame design is still the same, great for drive-on. My side frames would be twice the weight of the lighter one.

This is the layout of mine, rear view and side view. The other one has an identical layout. Now, the tare doesn't really come into it, IMO, as long as you don't overload it and the design is right. IF you can find a 6.4 m boat that comes well within the rated ATM/GTM, you would be fine. BTW, 6.4 was the max for that trailer, I'd say it would be better suited to 5.7 to 6m.

https://photos.smugmug.com/Boat-build/i-9MZLK7H/0/eac3123e/XL/20180622_095506-XL.jpg

https://photos.smugmug.com/Boat-build/i-DThMNvP/0/3349c9e3/XL/20180407_110357-XL.jpg

Here's a quck quiz. Spot what is wrong with the setup on the bare trailer pic. It took me a while to realise it, made a big difference.

Boat is missing on the first pic. That would make a big difference

scottar
07-04-2019, 07:00 PM
More fall on the rear centring guides??

Unfortunately this habit dealers have of supplying trailers that either just do the job or were never up to the job is pretty widespread. I have seen some that were obviously way below what was required over the years

ranmar850
07-04-2019, 08:40 PM
It's the front wobble roller on the RHS. It was mounted back to front--they have a stopper on one side, and are weighted so they should fall towards the centreline. This was mounted so it wanted to fall outwards, kept getting wrong side of the strake and didn't want to drive on straight. Fixed that, a few tiny tweaks including height of front centre vee-guide. Drives on a dream now. Took me 6 months to work it out :-[ Doh.

ranmar850
07-04-2019, 08:59 PM
Unfortunately this habit dealers have of supplying trailers that either just do the job or were never up to the job is pretty widespread. I have seen some that were obviously way below what was required over the years

Had an interesting conversation with a trailer manufacturer the other day on this topic. I had emailed them hoping to get an exact part number for a hub disc assembly so I could buy a spare to carry on long trips. The owner rang me back. We got onto the topic of ratings, and I mentioned my recent weighbridge results. He said he wished there were more like me--the dealers just say they want a trailer rated for X kg. They want the cheapest, and not necessarily something with a margin. If more people weighed their BMT's , pressure might go back on the dealers when people realise they have been sold something which is not necessarily fit for purpose.
I've seen the story, first hand, of the buyer of a brand new Bar Crusher. Normal safety gear, full fuel, was over. Confronted the salesman, he actually laughed and said " don't fill it right up"

ranmar850
07-04-2019, 09:05 PM
Anyway, I can add a few more weighbridge numbers to this from previous boats.

Swiftcraft Dominator, F115 Yamaha, tote tanks. 1550 kg ATM AFTER I had converted it to tandem with OEM parts and had it re-certified by manufacturer to 1800kg. . Was originally on a 1200Kg single axle ::)

Quintrex Navigator 600 CC with a 90Hp Yamaha 2-stroke. 150 litre underfloor tank half full, all gear, 1500 KG ATM on a very sturdy trailer I built myself.

swof63
10-04-2019, 08:30 PM
480kg for a 6.4 trailer seems incredible.

I’ve got a 5.3 sig with a very sturdy 1650kg single axle easytow trailer and that trailer is 400kg.

My last boat was a 6.3 mtr Haines hunter and that had an ALLOY trailer which was 480kg.
My last big steel trailer was under a 6.3 whittley ( Clearwater) and that easytow was 800kg tare.

I’ve had enough of borderline trailers.
Mate just bought a well known platey console (5m) that he ordered the higher weight trailer for, but they supplied with the standard lower rated trailer anyways. Did the sums, figured he had about 30kg after a full fuel tank before he was in trouble. Had to press the matter with dealer but is now getting the trailer he ordered.

Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish forums

scottar
10-04-2019, 08:46 PM
It's the front wobble roller on the RHS. It was mounted back to front--they have a stopper on one side, and are weighted so they should fall towards the centreline. This was mounted so it wanted to fall outwards, kept getting wrong side of the strake and didn't want to drive on straight. Fixed that, a few tiny tweaks including height of front centre vee-guide. Drives on a dream now. Took me 6 months to work it out :-[ Doh.

I saw that but didn't give it any thought. Plenty of manufacturers over here don't bias their roller cradles. It doesn't take much to catch a strake and cause grief.

ranmar850
31-05-2019, 12:47 PM
Bump. Anymore contributors?
I did a towing favor foe someone recently. Bloke needed to get both his boat and new caravan about 1300 k to Coral Bay from Perth for an extended holiday. I told him I could take it 440 k north from where I was on a certain date, had some work up there. He snagged someone willing to tow it the 600 k to my place. The boat was a 600 Signature (RF) with 150 yamaha four stroke. He knew he was marginal on the over-ride brakes, so he weighed it , over 2040kg. Fuel was removed to get it legal.

So, Signature 600 RF, 150 yamaha 4 stroke, fuel not full, no ice or eskies, no fishing gear, basic safety gear ( and no winch), 2000kg.

Paul071978
31-05-2019, 04:49 PM
I’m not surprised

Dept of transport should be weighing more trailers for the safety of public but I’m guessing there’s not enough accidents to warrant the expenditure?

tropicrows
01-06-2019, 08:44 AM
Swiftcraft Dominator 5.65m. On tandem load sharing Roadmaster, fully cradled/rollered,. Single F115 Yamaha, about 20 l of fuel, all safety gear. 1550kg

Quintrex Navigator 600. 90hp Yamaha 2 stroke, dual batteries, With plate alloy CC and t-top, 16mm marine ply carpet covered floor, thwart seat removed,underfloor 170 l tank maybe half full,, most of the safety gear, on home built ( heavy tandem load sharing trailer) 1500kg.

Haven't weighed the Reef Runner.Interesting figures on the swiftcraft. I purchased one, stripped it out, redid the stringers, floor and transom and had it painted. The hull alone came in at 950 kg, with 120L fuel, motor, fishing and safety gear plus dual axle trailer it came in around 1795 kg

Sent from my [device_name] using Ausfish mobile app

ranmar850
02-06-2019, 10:00 AM
Interesting figures on the swiftcraft. I purchased one, stripped it out, redid the stringers, floor and transom and had it painted. The hull alone came in at 950 kg, with 120L fuel, motor, fishing and safety gear plus dual axle trailer it came in around 1795 kg

Sent from my [device_name] using Ausfish mobile appMy hull was all original-- perhaps your rebuild added some weight, easy to do. Also, I was running tote tanks, only had one on board at the time with 20 l of fuel.

tropicrows
02-06-2019, 03:54 PM
My hull was all original-- perhaps your rebuild added some weight, easy to do. Also, I was running tote tanks, only had one on board at the time with 20 l of fuel.

Sent from my [device_name] using Ausfish mobile appWhat year was your hull, an earlier model with straight sides or the latter model with klinker sides.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

ranmar850
03-06-2019, 06:07 PM
Later model, 1982, clinker sides.

tropicrows
03-06-2019, 07:07 PM
Later model, 1982, clinker sides.Same as mine.
This is after I sold it and it went down to Adelaide 119412

ranmar850
04-06-2019, 08:24 PM
Looks great, obviously put some time and money into it.[emoji106] Mine was in excellent original shape when I bought it from the original owner. Needed some wiring and updated electrics, and a cut and polish.