jake187
02-02-2019, 08:17 PM
im thinking about buying a new to me 6-6 1/2
boat and after a few ideas my criteria are
hardtop
enough room to sleep on forward bunks for 2
good compromise between rest and ride
200+ liter fuel tank
not looking at a custom build budget wont stretch that far thinking between 60 & 70k
will be used mainly in vic waters around welshpool and the prom.
we be towed by a 100 series diseal with aftermarket turbo.
like the look of profile and senator boats but dont think they have enough room to sleep.
any ideas or suggestions welcome

ranmar850
02-02-2019, 09:58 PM
If sleeping aboard is really high on your priorities, I just wouldn't be going alloy. Even a 50 footer is like sleeping inside a rainwater tank being showered with rocks, unless a lot of insulation has been added., if you are up in the vee. I did this for many years. The smallest ripple makes alloy very noisy. On the other hand, I sleep in my 6.4 metre glass like a baby, even in strong winds. You can still hear it, but very muted.

scottar
02-02-2019, 11:54 PM
Agree with Ranmar about the noise. Especially in anything with a wide chine. Used to run around in a 6.8 Senator. Awesome rig but noisy to sleep in.

jake187
03-02-2019, 07:27 AM
i sleep on my mates 6m stabi a bit and doesnt seem to worry me, but will give it some more thought.

jake187
06-02-2019, 08:30 PM
does any one have any real life reviews of the mclay 651 crossover. had a look at one today and gotta say i was very impressed

07-02-2019, 07:01 AM
Yep I rate the Mclays. Just talked one of my regular customers into one but $100K+ with alloy trailer and 200hp Merc from Karee marine. Yet to go out in it for a test ride but he is loving it, having come from a Mustang 2000 glass boat. Anyway of all the plateys I have been out in, I rate Marty's (Captain Seaweed) big Noble Super V the best, then Fadil's (My Way) 650 Mclay then my 609 Stabi then the 585 Mclay I had in that order.

gazza2006au
07-02-2019, 12:58 PM
Never been in a Stabicraft people say they are an eye sore but i think they look bloody unreal that big tube look makes them look unique and robust kind of looks like its industrial grade

jake187
07-02-2019, 04:09 PM
yeah the look of a stabi doesnt phase me at all. i do like the look of senstor/profile boats but hard to get a look or run in one.
thanks heaps smithy for ya thought too good to here they are a good boat

07-02-2019, 04:24 PM
A good mate of mine has a big Stabi hardtop, fished on it lots of times, it is OK, but I don't think it would be my choice for the money he paid, the workmanship and so on is first class, but they are just not my "thing"

Dirtyfuzz
07-02-2019, 07:39 PM
If I was in the market for a boat and wanted plate and $$$ were not an issue it would be hard to go past the moda built boats, they are floating works of art! But I think the smallest is 8m

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

catshark
07-02-2019, 07:55 PM
mclays look real nice but the price tag is a downer....super noble looks very nice too but serious money to hear bloop bloop.... Go glass give tin the arse.

jake187
07-02-2019, 08:34 PM
problem with glass is in a 6m+ boat is getting to heavy to tow

catshark
07-02-2019, 09:52 PM
okay lighter to tow, those waveriders boats look pretty good too

08-02-2019, 09:35 AM
problem with glass is in a 6m+ boat is getting to heavy to tow
A decent plate boat is not real light, don't get confused with something like a pressed Quintrex when comparing weight.

jake187
08-02-2019, 07:31 PM
yep i appreciate that noelm but a good plate boat will be lighter than a glass of the same length

Alchemy
08-02-2019, 07:52 PM
yep i appreciate that noelm but a good plate boat will be lighter than a glass of the same length

My old 6m (6.6 loa) fisher was 2400kg on a steel trailer with bugger all fuel and no water or gear. I did have three batteries and two esky in that weight.