View Full Version : Looking to buy a 4.2 m Stacer with 30 Hp-first time boat purchase.

darter
13-01-2019, 12:04 PM
Looking at a few listings here in QLD for my first ever boat purchase,looked over a few 4.2 m boats with 30 HP motor,had one lined up
that had a 30 HP Suzuki 2008 motor on friday for $2800 but seller pulled out. I have since found another listing by a boat dealer at Yatala a Stacer 4.2 m with 2002 Yamaha 30 HP motor,has flat floor and useful looking bimini -listed price $3900, but can pay cash so could put an offer in.

Does anyone here have similar or same as above? any advice would be appreciated,never bought a boat before,I'd like to take someone with me if I go to this Yatala dealer that has experience but cannot get on to any boating mates at present.So thought I'd ask here on what to look out for. I do prefer a 4.2 with 25/30 hp motor,the design of front and high sides seems to give a chance to sneak out side on a good day for a bit to chase mackerel.

Thanks for any advice.

13-01-2019, 01:21 PM
Probably be better if you gave us a model, Stacer have made hundreds of different 4.2m boats, some cheap, some not so, 30HP will be a minimum, more than 3 people and it will struggle.

Shawn 66
13-01-2019, 01:54 PM
Probably be better if you gave us a model, Stacer have made hundreds of different 4.2m boats, some cheap, some not so, 30HP will be a minimum, more than 3 people and it will struggle.
Agree with Noelm.30 HP would be underpowered in my opinion.
Shawn

gazza2006au
13-01-2019, 01:56 PM
I would think 4k is a bit steep for a 2002 30hp but its the usual case of a shop rear ending you for their sake of making a buck on a customer, i recently sold a 25hp Yamaha 2004 for $700 as a guide

what u can do is piece together a price what is the boat worth? trailer worth? and engine worth? than tally it up and make a offer to the shop

being summer everything cost more than as in winter, in winter u would probably get that 4k boat for $2.8k

13-01-2019, 03:02 PM
A 30 on a lighter open tinny will be OK, but start adding floors and casting decks and stuff, and the weight just gets out of hand, you can put a lot of "stuff" in a 4.2M tinny, or buy one of the fully fitted out models, and a 50-60HP is what you need.

Chas & Clarry
13-01-2019, 03:16 PM
A 30 on a lighter open tinny will be OK, but start adding floors and casting decks and stuff, and the weight just gets out of hand.

100% agree. Our first boat was a 4.2 dingy with a 25hp tohatsu and it was PERFECT for us in the estuaries...it only had a small ply floor & with just Clarry and me it was great.

We’ve had a couple of 4.2s since then, each one heavier and more decked out than the previous one. We have a 40 on the back of the present one but it’s a much more solid boat with full casting decks etc and though the 40 is absolutely fine I wouldn’t go any lower and when we re-power it we’ll go for a 50.

darter
13-01-2019, 08:37 PM
Sorry was a Stacer 'Sea Horse' thanks everyone for all your helpful advice-its been very good to read!

gazza2006au
13-01-2019, 10:24 PM
Darter 3 years ago i bought a 4.3 meter tinny 30hp Yamaha 3 cylinder the 3 cylinder Yamaha's haul ass over any of the 30hp 2 cylinders this little tinny smashed along i think the carburetors may have been upgraded to a higher hp because it had so much power it was crazy fast

my mate found this boat on Gumtree in the middle of summer as a "Make and Offer" was classed as a meter boat and parked in a back ally way in the city of Sydney under a mulberry tree just deteriorating i offered $3500 and offer was accepted i think i over paid but had the cash and it was 40c sunny days, tinny was decked out with a nice carpeted floor and seats,floor was all nice frame work someone had spent a bit of time fitting it out it also had a side pocket with lid all carpeted

that 30hp Yamaha was oil injected

darter
14-01-2019, 07:07 AM
Looks good Gazza, That's about what I am looking for and about my budget, Thanks all for your advice and pointers I am learning more on what to look out for. Cheers.

ericcs
14-01-2019, 07:20 AM
The general rule of thumb is, budget allowing, choose something that has as close as possible to the maximum allowable HP. better to have an under stressed bigger motor with power to spare, than a smaller motor working it's ring out!

darter
14-01-2019, 07:26 AM
Had a look around and found a 3 cylinder 30 HP motor, how does this price seem Gazza? https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/reedy-creek/boat-accessories-parts/30-yamaha-3-cylinder-long-shaft/1206351747

I have had a bit of a look arround on Gumtree found this https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/yatala/tinnies-dinghies/stacer-4-2m-open-dinghy-with-30hp-yamaha-item-7401-/1204226033 its about what I am looking for in terms of size of boat,but going by advice here seems high price-I might put an offer in of $2500 cash and then look for a better motor.

ericcs
14-01-2019, 11:11 AM
cheapest way is to get a whole package, piecing one together will cost a whole lot more.
the boat in that boat package to me looks a bit unusual. To me, the transom looks to have been modified somehow. I have never seen one shaped like that, maybe someone else can explain it!

14-01-2019, 11:39 AM
Kind of looks like it was cut down to fit a short shaft outboard at some time, it looks like it has a long shaft now I think, so it will be too low?

gazza2006au
14-01-2019, 01:48 PM
If your keen on that tinny in the link go around and take a look at it see down the sides it looks like the aluminium is rippled (dented) if it is its from stress walk away if its just staining than it may be ok to purchase

ericcs
14-01-2019, 02:58 PM
Kind of looks like it was cut down to fit a short shaft outboard at some time, it looks like it has a long shaft now I think, so it will be too low?

it's hard to see what's been done, if anything, from what it should look like. either way, it doesn't look right!

darter
14-01-2019, 03:57 PM
I'll steer clear of the one in above link,but its a bit of an idea of what I am after,might hang back till winter and join a fishing club and get clued up a bot more,thanks for all that have put thoughts forward its been very helpful.

gazza2006au
14-01-2019, 05:23 PM
Darter don't be deterred because u found one bad egg mate there are tons of great boats out there, Have u tried looking on Gumtree.com.au?

if your going to piece a rig together i would suggest buying a older model Honda, Yamaha, Mercury 4 stroke 40hp u should be able to pick one up on Gumtree for around $2000 $2350 if u haggle it leaves u a bit of coin to buy a hull and trailer but usually if u set out on a 4k budget in summer a lot of people ask to much for there boats because it is the silly season and everyone wants to go boating and fishing

in winter the last thought on someone's mine is getting your shoes off in 14c weather with water just as cold to launch the boat so its harder for people to sell a boat in winter and a lot easier to find a cheaper and better rig as a buyer

a lot of people try sell their boats in winter too because they arn't using them for a good portion of the year people see it as invested money just depreciating when a boat sits throughout the colder months

gazza2006au
14-01-2019, 05:35 PM
Check out this one https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/ascot/tinnies-dinghies/stacer-tinny/1206771035

bluefin59
14-01-2019, 06:25 PM
Check out this one https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/ascot/tinnies-dinghies/stacer-tinny/1206771035

Seahorse hulls are great , it looks like good buying if the motor is ok . MATT

gazza2006au
14-01-2019, 06:48 PM
Two 25L tanks and a hydrofoil would suggest he does some good runs in that tinny, those old Evinrude/Johnsons were really reliable engines, i think itsa good buy for $3400 could even be negotiable on inspection

darter
14-01-2019, 10:14 PM
Darter don't be deterred because u found one bad egg mate there are tons of great boats out there, Have u tried looking on Gumtree.com.au?

if your going to piece a rig together i would suggest buying a older model Honda, Yamaha, Mercury 4 stroke 40hp u should be able to pick one up on Gumtree for around $2000 $2350 if u haggle it leaves u a bit of coin to buy a hull and trailer but usually if u set out on a 4k budget in summer a lot of people ask to much for there boats because it is the silly season and everyone wants to go boating and fishing

in winter the last thought on someone's mine is getting your shoes off in 14c weather with water just as cold to launch the boat so its harder for people to sell a boat in winter and a lot easier to find a cheaper and better rig as a buyer

a lot of people try sell their boats in winter too because they arn't using them for a good portion of the year people see it as invested money just depreciating when a boat sits throughout the colder months

Thanks Gazza - yes still looking,but I am certainly learning from all the advice that people here have kindly offered,I found this offering close to home https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/highfields/motorboats-powerboats/4-2-savage-runabout/1206793913

Looks a bit bigger motor than some of the others I have looked at online.

ericcs
15-01-2019, 09:01 AM
while it's an honest little rig, just be mindful, the hull dates back to the 80's, and the motor is roughly a 1994 model, so it's an older package. the engine looks clean from the 1 pic, but it all needs to be checked properly due to it's age!

15-01-2019, 09:20 AM
Have you priced a new one? a basic open tiller steer, manual start would not be all that expensive, one of those boats mentioned had a tiny trailer, most don't look at that, as long as it's not rusty, it must be OK, nothing could be further from the truth. The sort of boat you are looking at is very common, don't jump in too quick.

stevej
15-01-2019, 09:37 AM
It doesnt take much to deter new boaters from going out then having to deal with 20 year old trailers and outboards
ive never broken down ever, just bought wisely and saved instead of rushing out and taking whats available and avoided taking on projects or repairs
also saved by fitting boats outmyself

you can get a 420 buster with a cv model 25 yamaha for 8k with some haggling

4k for a 20 year tinny id be saving for another year and not buying other peoples problems

buy this and put a second hand 25 or 30 on it for example
https://www.boatsales.com.au/boats/details/2018-QUINTREX-420-BUSTA/OAG-AD-460596/?cr=3&psq=%28%28SiloType%3D%5BDealer%20new%20boats%5D%7C SiloType%3D%5BDealer%20used%20boats%5D%29%26%28%28 %28Service%3D%5BBoatsales%5D%26BoatAll%3Dkeyword%5 B420%5D%29%26%28SiloType%3D%5BDealer%20new%20boats %5D%7CSiloType%3D%5BDealer%20used%20boats%5D%29%29 %26%28SiloType%3D%5BDealer%20new%20boats%5D%7CSilo Type%3D%5BDealer%20used%20boats%5D%29%29%29&pso=0&pss=Price

15-01-2019, 09:58 AM
That's a good plan, but personally I would look for a decent hull and put a new motor on it, rather than a new hull and second hand motor, as mentioned, there is lots around to choose from.

stevej
15-01-2019, 10:18 AM
a good second hand engine :)
but your right noelm

also old tinnys can have many issues due to age fatigue ill conceived fittings and dissimilar metals

darter
15-01-2019, 06:55 PM
Thanks Stevej.

catshark
15-01-2019, 09:09 PM
very good value that 420 busta, trailer as well , ya laughing get a new motor with yamaha finance Not wallet wizard and your on the water, repayments would be $50 dollar a week, AWESOME...

darter
16-01-2019, 07:16 AM
Yes @catshark and all others thanks for your advice,when one considers all the offerings I've looked at 20 years old or older for the prices listed seems high,when compared to a new package. I saw this https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/rockville/tinnies-dinghies/tinny-40hp-yamaha/1183971326

But again early nineties and the hull looks like its had a hard life.

16-01-2019, 07:42 AM
That looks pretty sad to me, be side stepping that myself, just be patient, do the rounds of all your local dealers just to see what's going, something will come up that will suit.

gazza2006au
16-01-2019, 02:22 PM
I picked this up for $4500 about six years ago it was listed or $5500 and it was a deceased estate the poor bloke who owned it was a diver he must have known he was dying as he done a full overhaul of the boat it was in mint condition new paint new upholstery everything, the bloke passed away than his brother was selling off the poor blokes stuff i reckon his brother would have been rolling around down there at the boat being sold for $4500 but the brother also said he didn't know the boats value, its value would have been $8000 to $9000

sadly i had credit card debt so i had to sell the boat and to today i wish i had kept it

darter
16-01-2019, 03:40 PM
oh that looks lovely Gazza!!! yes I think I'll sit on my hands for a while,that did cross my mind a deceased estate and being in right placer at right time. Yes I'll do the rounds have a look here and there and not be in a hurry,I guess when one comes a across a deceased estate offering like you had- one really knows its time to move. Thanks again for everyone's input to helping and advising- Its a very handy forum!

darter
16-01-2019, 03:41 PM
what length on that boat Gazza? - cheers.

gazza2006au
16-01-2019, 04:45 PM
5 meter Quintrex Cruiseabout mate had a old 70hp Evinrude on it to find a deal like this u need to be quick and u need to be looking everywhere i mean everywhere look in the tinny's, boat bits and spare parts, boat and jetski look everywhere a lot of deals like this are listed incorrectly even the titles are basic like "boat" thats it you need to look high and low everyday even morning and afternoon look on gumtree, ebay, trading post, facebook classified when i say look everywhere you'll spend hours each day just looking but u will hit the jack pot

this is not my only boat i have hit a home run on by using the above i get heaps of good stuff from classifieds

gazza2006au
16-01-2019, 05:07 PM
There is one in Noosa https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/noosaville/motorboats-powerboats/quintrex-cruiseabout/1202144586 they vary from boat to boat, mine had 2 beds inside the cabin up the front half of the boat is actually a 3/4th cabin all round 3/4th in height 3/4th long beds etc.. i am 5 foot six tall and i slept in the cabin perfectly fine on mine but i have seen some where the owners have ripped out the beds for more storage

darter
16-01-2019, 07:41 PM
Thanks Gazza.

catshark
16-01-2019, 08:00 PM
those cruiseabouts have a good reputation and for a old rig they can be a great seaworthy jigga.....you'd go coastal fishing in one of those easy peesy.
i think the key here is old mate is looking for his first boat so perhaps a few tinnies mention for the price range would be ideal, it will be a cheap introduction into boating and like we all know , BOAT = bet on another thousand..... you never find the right boat until your on about the 5th or 6th one any how, so whats a few battle scars on a tinnie, could very well out fish a lot of newer rigs....Darter take a second set of eyes with you and have a geeza at some of those little rigs, see you on the water.

darter
16-01-2019, 09:49 PM
Yes I like the idea of taking another set of eyes @catshark, found this listing and the owner will take $4000 for it,it seems a bit newer than some of the others I have looked at,and has 3 cylinder 2005 30 HP motor.

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/caboolture/tinnies-dinghies/05-sea-jay-angler-3-95-metres/1207054573?fbclid=IwAR19PILSOqvVV6QFAHb-TpZ9G1PdSV7JYNy49-RrsgD6juuSBsk7XyJIdao

17-01-2019, 04:36 AM
Once again, look at the trailer, it's more suited to a JetSki, the boat is small, yet still hangs over the back.

ericcs
17-01-2019, 12:25 PM
Yes I like the idea of taking another set of eyes @catshark, found this listing and the owner will take $4000 for it,it seems a bit newer than some of the others I have looked at,and has 3 cylinder 2005 30 HP motor.

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/caboolture/tinnies-dinghies/05-sea-jay-angler-3-95-metres/1207054573?fbclid=IwAR19PILSOqvVV6QFAHb-TpZ9G1PdSV7JYNy49-RrsgD6juuSBsk7XyJIdao

did you buy it, as it's already sold!

17-01-2019, 12:47 PM
Here you go more boat for your money and a soft dry ride as well.

https://www.boatsales.com.au/boats/details/2010-BETTER-BOATS-TOURNAMENT/SSE-AD-5674593/?cr=101&psq=%28%28%28Service%3D%5BBoatsales%5D%26%28%28Sil oType%3D%5BDealer%20used%20boats%5D%7CSiloType%3D% 5BPrivate%20used%20boats%5D%29%7CSiloType%3D%5BDem o%20and%20near%20new%20boats%5D%29%29%26HullMateri al%3D%5BAluminium%5D%29%26Usage%3D%5BFamily%5D%29&pso=90&pss=Premium

The Stacer you started looking at is one of thousands of similar boats with very similar characteristics and pros and cons.

Think outside the box and reap the rewards.

darter
17-01-2019, 04:42 PM
did you buy it, as it's already sold!

No mate,went quick. I mmay even bay a new package seems around 10K gets a fair amount these days-I got 4 K cash even if I go into hock for the rest.

gunna
17-01-2019, 05:51 PM
Have you thought about the style of boat. You initially talked tiller steer, but you also seem interested in runabouts. Very different in some styles of fishing. Will you be flicking plastics and want a front casting deck. Or an electric motor. Not with a runabout. Or do you want more shade and just soak baits out the back - runabout.

gazza2006au
18-01-2019, 02:42 AM
If u were in Sydney u could have picked up this 474 stacer for $4500

darter
18-01-2019, 06:08 AM
Dang-that does look good Gazza! 70 HP :)

I checked the more local listings and found this https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/gympie/tinnies-dinghies/quintrex-tinnie/1200107236

looks well kept.

18-01-2019, 07:00 AM
New rear end on the trailer kind of worries me, unless it's been regalvanized.

18-01-2019, 10:29 AM
Just a thought on something you may not realise, try to get a boat that has flat gunnels, it makes a much better boat, easier to fit rod holders, and OK to sit on too, lots have them, most cheap package deals don't, but they are nice, I saw a decent outfit today in Sydney for 4 grand, flat floor, full gunnels and a 30HP 2 stroke, plus sounder and odds and ends.

Coontakinta
18-01-2019, 11:30 AM
I've had the 4.2m Seahorse powered with the 3cyl 30DMH yamaha.
It was a great boat & one I miss after replacing it with my Renegade.
With casting decks, flat floor, bowmount electric motor and both a Deep Cycle & lead acid house battery for powering lights, electronics and pumps. It was a great rig and certainly no slouch. Even with two burly blokes aboard with all our paraphernalia.
Cant recall exact fiqures on speed but think I could hit 27knots over flat water one up at WOT.
I miss it coz it was a light n easy to manouvre rig that could easily be readied in hurry and put away just as easily. It was also VERY versatile in being able to fish the creeks n estuary here including the associated bank launching but also capable outside, all be it in the Gulfs of SA, when conditions suited.

DATCOL
18-01-2019, 12:44 PM
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/arundel/tinnies-dinghies/express-4-8-meter/1204375665 these are Great boats

ericcs
18-01-2019, 06:07 PM
how about this one!
https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/371274103675427?surface=product_details

too late, sold!

RayLamp
18-01-2019, 07:04 PM
I reckon a first boat should be new...;D
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/wynnum/motorboats-powerboats/brand-new-cruise-craft-explorer-685-hardtop-with-yamaha-f250hp/1189394756

18-01-2019, 08:21 PM
Saw a one year old Stacer Outlaw for sale (which is a fully fitted out Stacer model) for 10 grand today, which is still over budget, but for a near new rig, it's pretty good buying.

darter
19-01-2019, 06:22 AM
Thanks again for everyone's help and input,I'll be going for a drive on Monday -if a listing I have found is still available- a 4.1 m with 25HP three cylinder motor with electric tilt trim and start is still available $3300. Looks kinda almost like a deceased estate sell out. Have learned a lot from this thread and members here.

gazza2006au
19-01-2019, 03:14 PM
I reckon a first boat should be new...;D
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/wynnum/motorboats-powerboats/brand-new-cruise-craft-explorer-685-hardtop-with-yamaha-f250hp/1189394756

My cousins boy friends cousin just won that 107 mil lotto if that were me i would have bought this boat today lol

gazza2006au
19-01-2019, 03:16 PM
Thanks again for everyone's help and input,I'll be going for a drive on Monday -if a listing I have found is still available- a 4.1 m with 25HP three cylinder motor with electric tilt trim and start is still available $3300. Looks kinda almost like a deceased estate sell out. Have learned a lot from this thread and members here.
Hard to find a older model tinny around the 00 era with tilt and trim so it may be well worth the look tilt and trim on such a small tinny would be awesome