View Full Version : seapen v boatlift

tjotter
29-11-2018, 02:55 PM
Hi,

What are the Pro/Cons of a Seapen vs a n Boat-Lift ?.

I do not know what names are generic or brand names so to clarify,
by Seapen I mean boat stays at water level, wrapped in a net thingy with a bilge pump.
by Boat-Lift I mean boat sits on floats that are 'lifted' above water level.

We have a pontoon on the goldcoast in a canal.
Pontoon has water and 240v.
The canal is quiet, ie little traffic.
It is tidal and a bit windy but there is no current.
There is heaps of water depth at low tide.

Thanks.

29-11-2018, 03:30 PM
Also in the same place as you.
See the pictures of the damage to a boat that sits in one of the netted thingo and the osmosis in the hull is not good.
It seems the net never dries out and the hull is always wet.
Get an Air Berth and lift the hull out of the water and it will stay in good condition IMHO118250

You may be able to get a good second hand Air Berth for a reasonable price and second hand they seem to hold their value so if you buy a used one you almost have money in the bank!

PM if you want more info.

Any_Weather
29-11-2018, 03:35 PM
Gday Tjotter, mate I have no experience with the seapen but I have lots of experience with the Airberth. The genuine Airberth is the pick of the lift units from what I have experienced. I have mates that have had Airdock brand and you need to operate 4 valve independently whilst raising your boat depending on weight distribution. With the Airberth, it doesn’t make any difference If there is people moving about in the boat it just comes up level. I also like the idea of the boat being on a slight angle to drain without pumping water out.

Lee

Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish forums

bluefin59
29-11-2018, 04:51 PM
What size boat are we talking about ,I know a bloke who has an air tasker job to remove an air birth somewhere on the Brisbane river . Not sure what brand but I believe it’s in good condition,I will get the info on it tomorrow . Matt

tropicrows
29-11-2018, 05:03 PM
My mate was going to get a sea pen, and talked him in a boat lift. Best thing he did

Sent from my [device_name] using Ausfish mobile app

tropicrows
29-11-2018, 05:04 PM
Boat is out of the water and nice and dry. Flushing the motors can be a challenge depending on motors and hull type.

Micadogs
29-11-2018, 05:19 PM
I have had a seapen for close to 8 months now. I have experienced no issues and can confirm it is fully dry once pumped out. They have new pumps that dont require anodes so they are virtually maintenance free. They are easy to board boat when in seapen and operation and docking is really easy. I looked at both prior to my decision. I had a 23 foot mono in it, now a 30 foot Cat.

Aesthetically, in my opinion, they are much nicer, the air docks are monsters of machines.

Having transom mount transducers did cause an issue, (the pen moved them out of alignment) you can get special plates made which were expensive. I now have through hulls which aren't a problem.

29-11-2018, 05:19 PM
You can flush motors easily if you get yourself a little rough tinny to do your odd jobs and even use as a tender.

We still don't know how big a boat we are going to store?

soulfish
29-11-2018, 05:52 PM
Hi tjotter...theres pros and cons alright,,i owned an airberth when I had a 685 cruise craft and it was very good with a mono hull..,but the guy a few berths down had one with a power cat 2600 and his out boards used to get water halfway up the engine cowls when launching his boat..because you couldn't control the lowering or raising of boat..also you didn't have access around the boat...I currently have a Hydro lift under my 2700 noosa cat,it is great as you can lower boat and raise boat with total control as you can shut off or turn on the 4 compartments..the con though is it is made of galvanized steel and mine is 91/2 years old and needs a rebuild in the next 12 months probably around 4k..also it is great that you can access both sides of boat to clean and do whatever..As for the sea pen.it seems a good concept but you don't have access down both sides plus I know of one that had blocked bilge pump so wouldn't drain..also the bag sprung a leak after 51/2 years which cost 12 thousand to replace so pump wouldn't turn off also and burnt out ...2 specialist fibreglass boat repairers I know told me they cause osmosis to certain hulls as it never dries properly..also I know a bloke that has osmosis in a 625 cruise craft that has a legal case against them...its a personal choice but I would prefer a hydro lift over anything if they were made from stainless

myusernam
29-11-2018, 07:21 PM
A guy o bowen had an air berth on his scimitar 1010 so they can be big. Way to go i reckon

scottar
29-11-2018, 07:34 PM
No experience with either other than having mates with both. Only negative comment I have heard on the seapen came from a fibreglass guy and echoed the responses already given.

Dignity
29-11-2018, 08:58 PM
What size boat are we talking about ,I know a bloke who has an air tasker job to remove an air birth somewhere on the Brisbane river . Not sure what brand but I believe it’s in good condition,I will get the info on it tomorrow . Matt

Is it the one that was being removed at Comslie yesterday. Looked in reasonable nick.

gazza2006au
29-11-2018, 10:28 PM
what about those plastic docking platform things they look much better than these air filling chambers that cradle and lift the boat, what happens if a leather jacket bites a hole in the rubber could be costly

bluefin59
30-11-2018, 04:31 AM
Is it the one that was being removed at Comslie yesterday. Looked in reasonable nick.

Not sure , a mate at work has apparently got the job to remove one on the river somewhere.
He was talking about selling it because it was in good condition and the people just wanted it gone ,I will know this morning and post up the results.

bluefin59
30-11-2018, 07:13 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181129/40e10a2bd00c03d90f62dfc113690040.jpg

This is it apparently it all works my mate is going over to it this weekend to check it all works ( which he was told it does ) and take some more photos . It’s at west end apparently . Matt

30-11-2018, 11:00 AM
Does it have the blowers and hoses?

If so tie a tinny to it and push it to where you want it after its pumped up.

How much do they want for it and what size is it?

https://www.airberth.com/

bluefin59
30-11-2018, 11:05 AM
Does it have the blowers and hoses?

If so tie a tinny to it and push it to where you want it after its pumped up.

How much do they want for it and what size is it?

I don’t know how much he wants , he is going to see what it’s got and if it works on the weekend. He won’t want a lot I wouldn’t think , he was told it works just the people who bought the place aren’t boat people and want it gone . As soon as I find out more I will let you know. Matt

tjotter
30-11-2018, 04:01 PM
what about those plastic docking platform things they look much better than these air filling chambers that cradle and lift the boat, what happens if a leather jacket bites a hole in the rubber could be costly

Hi gazza2006au

do you mean float bricks ? (eg 500x500mm),
if so then YES I have thought about them but most people use them for boats under 5m.
They are commonly sold 3.5m or 4.5m long,
however there is a gumtree advert for one at moment, 6.5m long, configured for 19ft crownline.

I have heard that float bricks were invented in Canada and are designed to withstand ice so very strong.

tjotter
30-11-2018, 04:03 PM
What size boat are we talking about ... Matt
I am wondering about getting something flexible for different sized boat, eg if get slightly bigger boat, keep same dock system.

30-11-2018, 05:22 PM
What range of sizes are you talking?

Have you looked at the range of boats they suit?:o
(https://www.airberth.com/)

Dignity
30-11-2018, 07:44 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181129/40e10a2bd00c03d90f62dfc113690040.jpg

This is it apparently it all works my mate is going over to it this weekend to check it all works ( which he was told it does ) and take some more photos . It’s at west end apparently . Matt

Ok, not the one we saw removed the other day.

tropicrows
01-12-2018, 08:39 AM
Towing my good friends air dock to it's new home. It took roughly 8 hrs from bulimba to raby bay.118265

shakey55
02-12-2018, 05:26 AM
Just saw one if these for sale in Facebook

Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish mobile app (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=91595)

ShaneC
02-12-2018, 06:29 AM
I have a mate that bought a sea pen. It didnt last long he wasn't happy with it. Plus it caught prawns etc in it when the water got pumped out and there was bait around.

What sort of boat have you got? I just so happen to know a guy that will be unloading two airdocks in the very near future....

tjotter
02-12-2018, 08:13 AM
You can flush motors easily if you get yourself a little rough tinny to do your odd jobs and even use as a tender.

We still don't know how big a boat we are going to store?Hi Chimo.

What do you mean "can flush motors easily if get a little tinny" ?.

No I do not what size boat yet.
Thinking a Poly (basher) now and a bigger nicer Glass later. Also which do I buy first, Hen and Egg situation.

02-12-2018, 08:46 AM
Hi tjotter

If the size of boat you have does not allow you to lean over the stern and place ear muffs on your motor (s) as is the case with most boats sitting on an Air Berth and is the case with mine; I find it much easier and safer to simply attach and remove muffs after flushing while sitting in my little tinny while it is in the water behind the Air Berth. It is also handy to do any jobs on the outside of the hull away from the pontoon such as polishing etc. Also much easier and safer to fit and remove a boat cover than the alternative.

If you buy whatever you get second hand at least you will reduce your cost (loss) as you change boats.
Probably more better to get the boat you want to end up with in the near future sooner than later if you go second hand.
If you have a reliable service guy, marine mechanic its not a bad idea to involve him in checking out what you are interested in as he wont want you and him stuck with a lemon.

Also if you are at the age when kids are in the future get you boat first as there will be a long period when it probably won't be allowed to happen (based on past experiences). If you are passed the kid stage then get the boat you want and be done with it.................