PDA

View Full Version : Trailer Locks

SCTSCT
21-12-2017, 08:54 PM
Is this a good lock to get and is it a good deal??

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171221/975b7b9d0316a37f7c293c4506ab3a57.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

tropicrows
21-12-2017, 09:12 PM
Only as good as the padlock you use. Seen them around the $24 mark.

Sent from my [device_name] using Ausfish mobile app

Crocodile
22-12-2017, 06:31 AM
Hello SCTSCT,
that is what I have been using for the last 25 years or so and the boat is still here.

Remember, locks only keep the honest people out!
If the crims want your boat, car and stuff badly enough they will take it.

Dogs, surveillance cameras (or at least the stickers), 12 gauge shotgun are alternatives
Even parking another vehicle in front of the boat is a good idea.
It is all about making your stuff less attractive an easy so that the crims will be deterred and look for easier targets.

Moonlighter
22-12-2017, 08:59 AM
There are many like that one and you can get them for low $20 price range.

It is a pity that the original “locked-it” coupling locks are not available any more. I still use mine, they are made of HD hardened steel, much more sturdily built than the current ones, and use a really solid lock that is totally contained within the body of the coupling so there is no way it can be cut off with bolt cutters.

At the end if the day as others have said, they are just deterrents. If someone really wants to steal your trailer, they will. But if you make it significantly more difficult to steal yours than the next one along, then they might pick that one instead.

rayken1938
22-12-2017, 03:53 PM
Not much can protect you against a battery powered angle grinder if someone really wants your rig but a substantial lock may make them look elsewhere.No matter what you use a determined thief can beat coupling locks,wheel clamps amd chains.
Cheers
Ray.

ben475
22-12-2017, 04:05 PM