PDA

View Full Version : Best boat for commuting

WolfRiver
09-01-2017, 07:27 PM
Gday all. Newbie here, both to this forum and boating in general.
We have just bought a place on Russell Island in Moreton Bay.
I work three nights a week at Runaway Bay Coles, which has a dock right outside the food hall.

Rather than take the ferry to Redland Bay, then drive the 45 mins to one hour down the M1 I thought it would be faster and cruisier if I got a boat.
My trip home every night will be at night, otherwise I would get a jet ski.

WIth a limited budget, what would be the best, most economical, yet also get up a decent rate of knots, type of boat?
I am thinking half-cabin with a decent horsepower outboard but know next to nothing about boats.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

up the creek
09-01-2017, 07:51 PM
i dont have any big boat experience i only use tinnies and little motors,so have no advice on that, but im sure a few of the boys will have some suggestions 4 ya mate. but i replied cos i had to say thats gotta be the coolest way to get to work... and if a girl asks to come back to your place after work she will be getting a new experience ride home lol..

WolfRiver
09-01-2017, 08:15 PM
i dont have any big boat experience i only use tinnies and little motors,so have no advice on that, but im sure a few of the boys will have some suggestions 4 ya mate. but i replied cos i had to say thats gotta be the coolest way to get to work... and if a girl asks to come back to your place after work she will be getting a new experience ride home lol..
She sure would, especially after my wife found out >:(

NomadNoosa
09-01-2017, 08:26 PM
Lol...........

What type of limited budget are you talking about?

Have you done any searches to narrow it down to any particular model / brand / size?

Homer_Jay
09-01-2017, 08:33 PM