View Full Version : Securing a large esky

Deeg164
05-10-2016, 11:30 AM
Hey guys

Just wondering if anyone would be willing to share how they secured their esky in their boat. I want to secure the esky to stop it from sliding from side to side but still want to be able to lift it out without any hassle. The floors in the boat are marine ply with marine carpet. The esky will be somewhere between 200-300L.

Deeg

shaungonemad
05-10-2016, 12:47 PM
I have rubber feet on my esky and it hardly moves

Deeg164
05-10-2016, 01:20 PM
I did think of putting rubber feet on and then having the esky on a rubber mat but wasn't sure how it'd go.

Triple
05-10-2016, 02:14 PM
I use a large piece of that non slip mesh matting from the dollar shops and it hasn't move since.. And it helps if it's weighed down with a few decent fish ;)

this stuff - https://www.bunnings.com.au/matting-non-slip-magic-stop-90cm-natural-2mag90nat_p6650114

terryc
05-10-2016, 02:51 PM
could buy a couple of cheap straps from bunnings, stable one end to timber floor and secure to esky handles

Kublis
05-10-2016, 03:25 PM
Same as Triple, non slip mesh matting cheap as chips. Holds a 200l esky, never moves .::)

cb

cwcarter
05-10-2016, 03:50 PM
Stainless floor anchors. There's a few types about.

billfisher
05-10-2016, 05:58 PM
It's not really secure unless it's tied down. I made a wooden bracket which attaches to the floor using 2 piece brass latches. I then use occy straps between the latches and the esky handles (one strap for each corner).

gofishin
05-10-2016, 08:00 PM
... I want to secure the esky to stop it from sliding from side to side but still want to be able to lift it out without any hassle. The floors in the boat are marine ply with marine carpet. The esky will be somewhere between 200-300L...That's a big esky, which when even half full, could do a bit of damage if it does move unintentionally.

To stop it sliding you could also glue some marine carpet to the bottom of the esky (upside down of course), as carpet-on-carpet sticks like u-know-what.

However, like billfisher says, that won't 'secure it'.
Brendon

Deeg164
05-10-2016, 08:38 PM
All good ideas to consider. Cheers fellas, obviously when I'm towing the boat it would be strapped down but was just seeing what options were out there for when I'm ishing. My mate has a stainless angle rim around the outside of his to stop it sliding but wanted to avoid that as mine is only a 5.5m so when me and a mate do an over nighter i usually turn it length ways to sleep a swag either side so don't really want the angle under my back while sleeping.....decisions decisions

marto78
07-10-2016, 05:58 PM
I use a couple of these for my esky seat with 2 ratchet straps.

https://www.google.com.au/search?q=flush+mount+tie+down+points&oq=flush+mount+tie+&aqs=chrome.0.0j69i57j0l2.6214j0j4&client=tablet-android-samsung&sourceid=chrome-mobile&ie=UTF-8#imgrc=TSFFPE-BdwAxnM%3A