PDA

View Full Version : Kevlacat 5.2 90hp repower

MadKat
02-09-2016, 05:43 PM
Hi All,

I am new to Ausfish but been reading posts for a long time.....obviously some very passionate and knowledgeable people on here.

Was wondering if anyone has actually re-powered their old pre 1900 style 5.2 Kevlacat with twin 90hp or know of anyone who has? There is a lot of talk about it on hear so was hoping to get some info on it.

What are the positives, negatives? Does it need the larger 1900 style pods? Currently have the older style but the larger one suitable for the 25" legs.

Any help or advice would be appreciated

MadKat

Mupster
02-09-2016, 10:36 PM
I'll be following this one. I have to repower my 5.2 Devilcat so this should be interesting!

SatNav
02-09-2016, 11:04 PM
1. Positives? None that I have ever heard about

2. Negatives? Max HP was 2 * 70

3. Anything less than ULS motors were never viable

4. 90's? Then maybe time to look for a new boat?

5. Oh 5.2KC =/ 5.2 Devilcat, no comparison

Flex
03-09-2016, 03:55 AM
Max HP rating on some of the models was actually 90hp.

I owned a black marlin 99 model with f60's and had slightly larger pods for the 25 legs and rated to 90hp.

I sold it because motor options for the 5.2 is extremely restrictive. The hull is vastly better with 90's on it I believe. The problem is your choice is limited and its bum heavy at rest if your put 90 4 strokes, can still be done just your feet get wet a lot.. Best power for these is 90hp old school 2 strokes for sheer performance and they are light. Although not really and option due to range

I had f60 hi thrusts on mine, it went ok. but I found cruising at 24-25knots instead of 21-22 makes a huge difference in how the hull rides. The boat ran much better cruising at 5500rpm in the chop, hat rpm is unsustainable for most motors.