PDA

View Full Version : Diy trailer skid options 'A' or 'B'

ashh
18-07-2016, 09:50 PM
I have a little 3m flat bottom aluminium punt and I'm repurposing our 6x4 box trailer to carry it.
i was just carrying it upside down like a cartooper, but when going solo it would be much easier having it the right way up. I do have the fold down wheels which mean I can launch it just about anywhere without a boat ramp, but when there is the option to use a ramp, it would be a lot easier launching it the traditional way....
Anyways, I'm a plumber of sorts and have a heap of pvc pipe I can use as skids. For fixing the pvc pipe to the trailer bed, I was going to drill a hole big enough to get a 10x16 metal screw down inside the pipe and fix the pipe down to the trailer bed through bottom of the pipe so there's no screw heads that could gouge the bottom of the boat.
I was going to use the blue Teflon skid stuff you can get from whitworths but they aren't thick enough and the keel is a good 10mm deeper than the depth of the blue strips and would drag along the trailer bed, so the pvc pipe idea makes the keel clear the trailer bed perfectly.

Option A: would have one length across the rear with a V cut out as a self centring guide for the keel and the rest of the lengths running the same way as the chines and positioned so they support between some of the chines.

Option B: would see all the lengths running horizontal to the chines with a V for the keel cut in each one....

thoughts?

http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j224/ashgilliver/Mobile%20Uploads/IMG_0300.jpg

gofishin
18-07-2016, 10:51 PM
Motor on or off when you are using your box trailer as a 'boat trailer'? If motor on, what will the transom overhang be? I wouldn't suggest motor on though.

Option B will kill your bottom sheets/tinny, quick smart.