PDA

View Full Version : How to drive a Seafarer?

whitebeach
07-05-2016, 02:44 PM
Hi All,

I'm a little embarrassed to ask this question but have seen a poston the Seafarer appreciation post regarding someone who after 20 years of boating still didn't have a clue! This was from Lindsay Fry himself! Well, I have more than 20 years experience BUT I have only just taken ownership of a Seafarer Victory 5.9. I have had crafts from a 6' (a surfboard) - 22' (a sailboat) and many tinnies inbetween, but never a 20' fiberglass Seafarer with a 150 hp 4 stroke hanging on the back and trim tabs. I had a 5.1m Stabicraft before the Seafarer, which is like going from a sports car to a Mercedes sedan. Do I know how to drive it? Good question. Am I doing things right, when the wind and swell get going? I don't know. I live in Tasmania where we have quite a bit of both and one of the reasons to get a bigger boat. I would like to know more, without getting Lindsay in the boat with me I would appreciate some advice, or stories anything that can enlighten me and allow me to get the best out of a great boat.::)

Chimo
07-05-2016, 03:23 PM
WB

This is your hull with a different top.
Have a look at Jabbas pictures of his boat in the Seafarer Appreciation Thread. early pages.

Chimo

#42 (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php/125475-Seafarer-Appreciation-thread?p=777114&viewfull=1#post777114) Jabba_ (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/member.php/46192-Jabba_)
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/metro/orange/statusicon/user-offline.png
Ausfish Platinum Member http://www.ausfish.com.au/yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/starsplatinum.gif http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/customavatars/avatar46192_6.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/member.php/46192-Jabba_) Join DateNov 2007LocationLabradorhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/metro/orange/misc/thread_starter.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php/125475-Seafarer-Appreciation-thread&p=771112&viewfull=1#post771112)