PDA

View Full Version : New Boat - Stacer Baymaster 449

Bantam
04-03-2016, 08:04 PM
Hi all, boating novice (complete newby actually) here. I have a Stacer Baymaster 449 on order with Evinrude 60hp outboard and Stacer alloy trailer. Having done as much research online as possible and originally preferring a 4 stroke OB the dealer i purchased through uses the E'rude factory fitted from Telwater as standard and ive gone with that despite some negative opinions online. I am probably swayed by the Hi Tec version of the old marine small boat stalwart - the 2 stroke OB. My Grandfather had an old stessl boat with E'rude outboard that i went fishing on as a kid - a happy memory for me which perhaps tipped me also. I would love to hear from people who actually own and run an Evinrude ETec particularly the 40-50-60 series and either put my mind at rest or raise my worry factor further! Thanks

PixieAU
04-03-2016, 08:15 PM
My advice, now that you've got one, don't go looking for problems which may never happen. Just get out there and enjoy it!

Even if you're looking for good things you'll still find bad things.

TruBlue
04-03-2016, 08:51 PM
Welcome to boating Bantam
Congrats on the new boat sounds like a great combo mate, take Pixie's advise b excited n don't start second guessing yourself lol I have been know to do that to myself as well
They r all good machines these days
service it Regularly and it will look after you
That goes for all motor

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

scottar
04-03-2016, 09:07 PM
You will get all sorts of responses in relation to the E-Tec. I, much like yourself was hesitant but ultimately the only hull I could find second hand 5 years ago, that I was happy with had a 200HO on it. That engine is now 10 years old and running strong - can't complain. Like all modern outboards, one of the most critical things is fuel quality. If your dealer hasn't fitted an external water separating filter - get one and never, ever use ethanol blended fuel.

Bantam