PDA

View Full Version : Dual Battery system - what batteries

Oceanic Dave
21-12-2015, 01:54 PM
Hi,

I currently have the Marine Pro 720 century batteries on my Victory. They are from 2012 so I am thinking of replacing them, the volts on the dash are sitting around 10-11. It charges when underway but then drops so I rather replace them.

I have read that it is a good idea to have one cranking battery and one deep cycle. The ones that came with the boat are both deep cycle. What would be the best way to replace these? I was thinking of just getting the same unless someone else recommends something else?

I have an etec 225 on the back.

Thanks!

Crunchy
21-12-2015, 02:11 PM
Those Century Marine Pro 720 are a kind of a dual purpose - start and deep cycle cross over, they are very good batteries when maintained properly, it's what I have been running for many years without any complaints. Do you keep on charge when not in use?

Oceanic Dave
21-12-2015, 02:26 PM
No I don't. I usually take the boat out a lot though, but this year it has been quite difficult. Next year will be a different story!

Yes I thought they were a bit of a crossover. I might just get the same!

Dan5
21-12-2015, 03:05 PM
Get the same again or the Exide allrounder version...........maybe consider a small maintence charger also that'll keep em in good nick.

Chimo
21-12-2015, 03:34 PM
OD

I just replaced two motor batteries and a house main and a secondary house, all still in use but it was felt that maybe it was time
What I replaced were 1st house,ACDelco Voyager, Oct 2005 2nd house another AC Oct 2002 Port motor ACDelco March 2003 Stbd motor ACDelco June 2010 and not too bad as it still holds 12 volt so its kept as a spare

Replaced all the above with 3 new HCM27SMF ACDelco High Cycle batteries. Two for start and one for house. Should do the job for another 10 years. Specs. http://odaustralia.com.au/index.php/acdelco-hcm27smf-sealed-maintenance-free-battery-marine-rv-4wd-boats-caravan.html