View Full Version : 6.2 kevlacat

rosco1974
08-10-2015, 09:52 PM
well the 2400kc sold the other week now looking at a 6.2 kc on the weekend.it has 115 yammie 2 bangers on it so just throwing it out there what sort of fuel economy ya reckon you would get from those motors..i think at the 24-26 knts it would be similar to the 4 strokes but wot and at troll/idle it will be shit house..what ya think..anyone got some rough figures from a similar set up
cheers rosco

08-10-2015, 10:30 PM
Really weird sounding yak!!

09-10-2015, 06:19 AM
I think fuel economy anywhere near the 4 strokes at any speed is optimistic.

feral cat
09-10-2015, 06:21 AM
There's no way at 24 odd knts it would even come close to 4 stks. Mate of mine has 6.2 KC with twin 90 2 strks yammy averages 1.4 ltr per km. I have heard reports of same boat getting .9ltr per km with F115's. Repowering my 660 from 2 strks to 4's has saved me .6 to .7 of a ltr per km.
That should give you some idea.

rosco1974
09-10-2015, 04:11 PM
thanks feral for the info....the figures the bloke who owns it reckons 13ltr/hr per side at 20-26 knts.I reckon it will be more like 45-50 ltrs/hr,was just after some info..
as usual the ######## are on the case again with useless comments

feral cat
09-10-2015, 09:21 PM
thanks feral for the info....the figures the bloke who owns it reckons 13ltr/hr per side at 20-26 knts.I reckon it will be more like 45-50 ltrs/hr,was just after some info..

No worries. My 4 stks tell me i'm using 50ltrs an hr at cruise speed on the gauge. I tend not to look at that as i'm only after ltrs per km at the end of the day.
My twin 140 2 stks reading was up to 75ltrs an hr on the gauge. The 660 is a heavier boat though than the 6.2KC.

The Black Unicorn
09-10-2015, 09:33 PM
Big difference between 20 and 26knots. For a comparison my F115 on a. 5.5 m boat gets around 17lph @ 20kn and 26 knots see's it get around 24lph. I think the owner might have his hand firmly on it Rosco.

The Silver Unicorn
09-10-2015, 09:41 PM

Anybody that believes that has no idea about anything....

I joined "The Rebel Alliance"

Shark Poker
10-10-2015, 03:57 AM
The problem with you, Rosco74, is that you are not a cat person. You like BIG dogs, not medium size cats. This is a critical observation of your situation.
Its time to Man Up!
You need a converted Trawler docked at Manly. With a crab sticker on the front, huge refrigeration, and don't throw away the nets just yet.

rosco1974
10-10-2015, 07:38 AM
no bay trawler for me that's for sure shark poker,not much around in boats/cats really when you really start looking.alot of knocked around boats on rooted trailers and are way overpriced...

Moray2004
12-10-2015, 08:03 PM
Rosco,

Not that it was in doubt but Feral Cat is on the money. I had a 6.2KC with 90 two stroke mariners and changed engines to 115 Suzuki four strokes. Unfortunately I cannot recall the fuel consumption on the two strokes but I definitely noticed an improvement after the switch. The Suzukis used to get 1.2km per L (or expressed differently 0.83L/km) at around 45km/hr. Consumption increased marginally at 50km/hr. While the difference in fuel consumption will be noticeable at speed it will be far higher at trolling speed.

The guy selling the boat is either poor at maths, confused or deliberately misleading.

Michael

Still_Dreamin
13-10-2015, 05:47 PM
found your new cat Rosco!
guessing that if you can afford this than fuel figures don't matter :o

scottar
13-10-2015, 07:34 PM
Good for running down share farmers :rifle:

rosco1974
13-10-2015, 08:24 PM
think that one might be just slightly out of my price range.haha

Still_Dreamin
13-10-2015, 09:07 PM
think that one might be just slightly out of my price range.haha

Which part the f truck, the helicopter or the boat?

scottar
13-10-2015, 09:09 PM
111199Oh well, back to one of these perhaps.