PDA

View Full Version : Anchor rope knotting up

Andgri
16-07-2015, 12:22 PM
I have a 4.6 Clark navigator with front steer and lean through windscreen to get to the anchor well.

I've become an expert at getting my anchor rope all knotted up, and as a boating novice I often find it fairly urgent to get that anchor down and stuck in the sand as quickly as possible.

Does anyone have ideas for stopping the rope from getting knotted up. I don't mind drillingholes and bolting things on.

Would apprecite any ideas... even bad ones.

regards
Andy

aussiebasser
16-07-2015, 12:46 PM
get a big swivel and put it between the rope and the chain.

Oceanic Dave
16-07-2015, 12:52 PM
Take all your anchor rope out and lay it out. Get rid of all knots etc.

Then I put it all back like your picking up a hose, but lay it nice in the anchor well. That's how I have done it with all my boats and I never get a knot.

WHen you drop the anchor the rope should fall in smoothly. When you bring it back up, bring it up the same way and lay the rope out in circles.

Oceanic Dave
16-07-2015, 12:54 PM
This is how I do it

TheRealAndy
16-07-2015, 05:33 PM
I always run a new anchor line out the back of the boat whilst underway (with no anchor or chain attached of course). Get it wet and let in find its natural twist.

bugsytwoshoes
16-07-2015, 05:34 PM
New rope has to be stretched before use. Try doubleing rope up and put it under extreme tension and leave it that way for a day or two , we tied the rope around a solid object ( tree/ vehicle ) and tied other end to another vehicle and pulled it up to full tension and left it for as long as you can. Depends how much room you have and how long the rope is.

scuttlebutt
17-07-2015, 03:45 PM
Use a swivel, make sure it's stainless. The gal ones don't spin as well.

Noelm
19-07-2015, 06:12 PM
You don't need a swivel, get the rope untwisted, and just make sure how you lay it back in the anchor well.

Chimo
19-07-2015, 07:56 PM
Rope has a natural lay to it.