PDA

View Full Version : hard tops

Jsmfun
04-06-2015, 07:52 AM
hi all just after some pro's and cons about these new trailer boats with hard tops
?do they make the boat top heavy
?what sort of maintenance is involved
?what makes them good or bad
? if you where looking for a boat with a hard top what features would be in the hard top and why.

i have looked at the cruiser craft 625 explorer H/T and the haines hunter H/T
they both look great but i am a novice only ever had clears and they SH.',T me lol

cheers scott

mull dog
04-06-2015, 08:19 AM
No idea but interesting topic you've started.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Chimo
04-06-2015, 10:08 AM
Hey Scott

Cooler.
No rain leaks
Kept the clears above the glass as good to get a breeze on hot days and they can be closed to keep rain and spray out when traveling
Modified the stainless on the Vagabond to carry the fibreglass top that was also reduced in size and thinned to remove built in plate to originally carry radome.
Polished the same as the rest of the boat and you can sit / stand on it to do it.
The boats not top heavy but Vags are solid / heavy. Maybe some of the newer egg-shell shaped for strength, thinner glass boats; who knows?
Mines good; others may or may not be or may even be better?

I needed to replace my original sunbrella top as it had a few age leaks etc and the the glass top was offered on AF so I was lucky enough to get it and as with all "free boat stuff" then proceeded to BOAT actually two by the time all was welded, cut , shaved, flocoated, fitted, wired and polished.

Thats B O A T ing for you tho!

Cheers
Chimo

blairv70
04-06-2015, 10:28 AM
Interesting Topic this one. i am looking at replacing my cnavs Bimini with a light weight hard top for better life span and the ability to mount things on top of it.

I am looking at a light fibregalss hardtop or some sort of molded plactic one that will then clip and lock onto the exitsing frame that was there for the bimini.