View Full Version : What do you look for when buying a tinnie

PatricsOnTheCoast
20-04-2015, 07:28 AM
Hey guys,

Taking 5 days off to fix up and sell my tinnie in a big life declutter/clean. My wife and I are sick of the debts of owning a house, two new cars pluss wedding debts etcs... So we are going to knock a few over in the next few years so hopefully we should be left only owing half our current house loan and no other debt (untill the big boat :P)

So I have a really great tinnie that I estimate from doing three years of market research in my area, should be worth 3.5k no worries. Good price considering I bought it off a mate for $1400.

I am going to rego the floor and electrics on it. Polish up the ally. Maybe carpet the sides for a sound deadening/clean look. Engines great, no worried about extra weight because the 25hp merc flies.

So looking at the floor.. I wasn't going to build in too much storage as it has pedestal seats and a casting deck at the front. so fuel tank is exposed. I'm thinking of building a small rear casting deck to hold the tank under? then I can mount switches too it. and keep everything much neater. the front casting deck has a pedestal hole.. but I'm thinking of just covering it over... I think its useless just personally because while underway, you would need balls of steel to brave sitting up there..

I guess my question comes down too.. What else do I need to invest in to make this tinnie an awesome fishing vessel?
I had a bimini for it, but the rats found that in storage.. so scrap that Idea, but I'm aiming for more bass style boat here. The boat will be sold without a sounder and does not have an electric motor, but should fit one easily as it has a flat nose for it to be mounted too.

I have attached pics below so you guys can see what I'm working with. Thanks for the help fella's!

http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t182/wht-dvl/DSC_0656.jpg (http://s160.photobucket.com/user/wht-dvl/media/DSC_0656.jpg.html)
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t182/wht-dvl/DSC_0655.jpg (http://s160.photobucket.com/user/wht-dvl/media/DSC_0655.jpg.html)
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t182/wht-dvl/DSC_0650.jpg (http://s160.photobucket.com/user/wht-dvl/media/DSC_0650.jpg.html)
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t182/wht-dvl/DSC_0649.jpg (http://s160.photobucket.com/user/wht-dvl/media/DSC_0649.jpg.html)
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t182/wht-dvl/DSC_0648.jpg (http://s160.photobucket.com/user/wht-dvl/media/DSC_0648.jpg.html)

shaungonemad
20-04-2015, 09:19 AM
I'd probably sell it as is make sure the little things are good and I'd leave the sounder in.

20-04-2015, 09:58 AM
Of the debt you have two new cars are the least beneficial.

Banks look on credit cards (the total credit limit) and cars as liabilities and IMHO so should you consider doing the same.

If you were driving less expensive cars and paid some $s off the house loan and kept the tinny for some entertainment perhaps you may be more relaxed about the future?

Then there are the costs that are yet to come with family that is in the future too?

In answer to your original question IMO you probably answered it yourself when you mentioned what you paid; really good value at an appropriate time that fits in with the family priorities. Remember "Happy Wife, Happy Life"

Good luck

scottar
20-04-2015, 10:23 AM
Agree with Shaungonemad. Boat fit out is very much a personal thing - what one thinks is critical the next bloke tears out so why waste the money. I bought a blank canvas not too dissimilar not long back for $2600 with a bit smaller motor that was still under factory warranty and a trailer that was basically new so be careful about sinking money into it. Test the market first and go from there.

stevej
20-04-2015, 01:51 PM
as others have said don't waste money you wont recover
its worth what its worth and that's about it

that pedestal seat hole isn't for travelling with its to put a lean seat in while casting lures to save the ole back

and your priorities seem little skewed as someone else pointed out
the boat cists you nothing to keep for the day you want a boat again
and its worth bugger all so not a huge issue to have 2k worth of boat in the back yard for a while

dnej
20-04-2015, 03:27 PM
Can you get away with one car. I would keep the boat to help you both de stress. . Apart from that don't dress the boat up, you wont recover the outlay.
David

Johnm
20-04-2015, 11:51 PM
I would keep the boat and rationalise on the cars. The boat provides for cheap recreation. If you do decide to sell just touch up the paint work on the floor.

PatricsOnTheCoast
21-04-2015, 07:01 AM
I'm not in such financial strife, I actually have another boat, This one is just small and versatile. I appreciate the regarding finances though.

I have to redo the boat as the main floor (white) is likely the original floor so nearly 20 years old.. and is definitely on its last legs. I also would not feel comfotable selling the boat to someone as is with no anchor light or working nave lights etc. I have however struck a deal with my brother (1/2 owner of our bigger boat) to sell the sounders with this boat and him buy the new garmin echomap 75sv or 95sv.
So as I'll need three sheets of ply to do the job, I will replace the casting deck to something more usable, the main floor to the exact same specs as it is, as modifying the main floor as a purchaser would be very simple. The building a small rear casting deck to house switches.
My only concern is where is the best option to mount the sounder and gps... I could mount them on the rear casting deck but you would have to turn left to see them, and likely step on them if using the deck... My other option is to build a long rectangular box on the right hand side and fix them to the top of that?

scottar
21-04-2015, 07:25 AM
That's the personal bit. You could simply put in a bracket to mount them, do something similar to what is there, make a side pocket and mount to that or as you have suggested build a rod locker down the starboard side. Some buyers will love the rod locker but some will hate the space it takes up. Same goes with the rear casting platform. It will come down to the way your potential buyer uses their boat

PatricsOnTheCoast
21-04-2015, 07:40 AM
This is a fair point, i know I like the side pockets I've made, but the rear of the boats fairly useless as is, hence why I think the floor will be great. I'm a salesman by nature so I guess I can use that to my advantage to describe why I've built it. By its also going to store fuel tank and the battery which has been an issue also!
I guess I'm building it to suit me =/ apart from carpet the build cost will be low at least.

stevej
21-04-2015, 08:04 AM
it is not going to make it worth 100 200 500 more whether you fix it or not thats the point