PDA

View Full Version : from QF researcher. Matt Campbell

Lucky_Phill
14-04-2015, 07:53 PM
Hello All,

As most of you are aware, I am a fisheries biologist working with DAF. I have recently been involved with the sand crab stock assessment process, the results of which will be available soon and I will post more information on this thread once the stock assessment has been finalised. One of the issues that came up when doing the stock assessment was the accuracy of the recreational catch and effort data. The RFISH surveys conducted periodically over the last 20 years (https://www.daf.qld.gov.au/fisheries/monitoring-our-fisheries/statewide-and-regional-recreational-fishing-survey/queenslands-2010) provided our best estimates of the annual recreational catch of sand crabs in south east Queensland.

I am currently involved in a research project with objectives of identifying data gaps/improvements and developing novel data collection methods in the line fisheries (Spanish mackerel and coral tout/ red throat emperor) in northern Queensland and the crab (sand and mud) fisheries in southern Queensland. Although this project will collect information on the commercial and recreational sectors within these fisheries, my area of interest is the recreational crab fisheries in Moreton Bay. I would like to get information from sand and mud crab fishers about the data collected from this fishery, any potential improvements to these data and possible methods for contemporary data collection such as phone applications or e-logs.