PDA

View Full Version : Butane cooker replacement???

Oog.
25-03-2015, 11:51 AM
I guess I am like many others who as per the threads on these things being banned and dangerous, have a couple on my boat also.

But the big question for me now is what is available out there to replace them with?

I purposely built the stove recess in my recent boat build to accommodate one of these "butane bombs"

I have been using these things on my boats for about nine years and built the recess on the latest boat because, one, they are simple and cheap to use, and two, I did not want LPG bottles on the boat either.

So what is the alternative without going LPG, or is LPG it?

Metho? - I did google the Origo metho stoves and they may be an option - an expensive option.

Anyone had anything to do with metho stoves or any other ideas?

Thanks

brett62
25-03-2015, 02:21 PM
I have a Metho stove and they are ok but you don't get the heat out put so cooking can be very slow. If you are boiling water for a cupper and can be a long wait. I would not be to worried about using gas if you are set up correctly and vented. I have a clamp on BBQ out the back on the swim platform which works well and have the Metho stove in the cabin. I also have one of the little butane cookers which I also will now throw away. I am sure that someone will come up with a fix for them(redesign) as they are very popular.

Shagga
25-03-2015, 04:09 PM
I have just bought one of these for the boat. Seems to be better quality than others I have looked at. If used correctly and maintained properly, I don't see any issue with it. Has anyone else got one of these? If so what is your experience with them. These were not on the list but are still a butane burner.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=108099&stc=1

Oog.
25-03-2015, 07:17 PM
Thanks Brett, I thought the metho stoves might be a bit slow.

I see the specs for the Origo metho stove says it will boil one litre of water in ten minutes.