PDA

View Full Version : Trimming when coming off the plane

BrisFisher12
04-03-2015, 09:07 AM
I'm still fairly new to boating so I hope this isn't a silly question, I've recently repowered my boat with a 100HP 4 stroke from a 90hp 2 stroke. With the new motor when I slow down from being up on the plane and fully trimmed in, I can see a wave start to form behind the motor, if I were to reduce the power quickly I suspect the wave would break over the motor. If I adjust the trim while slowing down I can reduce the effect of the wave and come to a slower stop without any issue.

I don't recall it being an issue with the old motor, I found with the old motor I didn't need to trim the motor in fully when up on the plane. I suspect the weight of the new 4 stroke is the major difference here and I'm OK with that, the new motor is fantastic in all respects.

So my question is this, is it normal to have to trim the motor out while slowing down? Or am I missing something?

stockhorse
04-03-2015, 11:22 AM
Are you traveling at the same speed on plane with the new motor as you did with the old motor? If you are traveling faster when you drop of the plane you will push more water and actually be reducing speed faster and that will cause a following wave.

Chimo
04-03-2015, 11:30 AM
Hi

You recognize that the new motor is a fair bit heavier and your still happy so in reality you probably need to slow down more gradually to avoid the following wave and reduce the chance of water washing over the stern. And; see below.........

Why do you think you need to trim the new motor in vs the old one?
Are you running bow up without doing this?
If so you perhaps have so much more weight that you may need to consider some changes to get some more rear lift.

What is the boat?

Do you have trim tabs on the boat?

Do you have foils on the motor?

Is the motor fitted high enough on the transom?