PDA

View Full Version : Another hydrofoil question>

Rhys_Mav
09-02-2015, 06:22 PM
i recently bought a new boat it a 455 sea jay side console with a f60 yammie on the back. The f60 is the max hp for the boat but the previous owner has fitted a hydrofoil. My understanding after some research is the i shouldn't need the foil if the motor is set up right. I was thinking about removing it but just wanted some opinions on weather i should or not as I'm new to this stuff.

Thanks Rhys

scottar
09-02-2015, 07:18 PM
Won't hurt to take it off and try it but I suspect it is there for a couple of reasons that ultimately go hand in hand. Due to the weight of the modern day 4 stroke, extra boat speed is required to get the boat to climb out of the hole and onto the plane as well as to stay on the plane. In dead flat calm conditions, this is not an issue but in choppy conditions it can make for an uncomfortable and if bad enough, damaging/dangerous ride. I ran a foil on a similar size hull with only the weight of a 40hp two stroke for a lot of years that was fairly heavily used offshore. It could get on the plane down to a speed of 8-9 knots quite comfortably in conditions that without the foil, turned the boat into an absolute pig due the extra boat speed required or burned a stack of extra fuel because I wasn't properly on the plane and was pushing water.

Harmytage
10-02-2015, 10:05 AM
Scottar has got it right in my opinion, I have a 4.1m tinnie with a 40hp yammie four stroke on the boat and I have a foil on the back of the boat due to the extra weight of the motor.
Its not so much for hole shot lift but the fact that it helps it to plane at lower speed which is especially helpful in places like moreton bay where the choppy conditions can make for an unpleasant ride home if you have plane at a higher speed or the other option is to drop off the plane and cruise home at 6knts. Some people are against them but I for one have had a foil on the back of my last 3 outboards.

Dan5