View Full Version : New boat time- Thinking of getting into this cat.

Nicholas2230
29-12-2014, 09:54 AM
G'day fellas

Currently running a 2000 Quintrex 600 offshore with a 130 Yamaha 2 stroke.

Looking at getting into something glass with a 4 stroke. Maybe glass cat maybe glass mono centre console.

Whole rig needs to be under 7.5M on the trailer as I want to keep it on my street without getting fined again $569!!

What do you guys think of this? I cant find alot of info about them.
http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/dealer/used/AG-AD-493359/2013-JACKAROO-ANGLERCAT-550-ANGLERCAT?cr=7&psq=%28%28Make%3DJACKAROO%26%28%28%28SiloType%3D%5 BDemo%20and%20near%20new%20boats%5D%7CSiloType%3D% 5BDealer%20new%20boats%5D%29%7CSiloType%3D%5BDeale r%20used%20boats%5D%29%7CSiloType%3D%5BPrivate%20u sed%20boats%5D%29%29%26Service%3D%5BBoatsales%5D%2 9&pso=0&pss=Premium

Motor has done roughly 100 hours and will come with a brand new dual axle trailer. The beam is only 2.2M as per the jackeroo Website. I am currently in a 2.4M beam will the difference be that noticeable when fishing 2 guys??

Any opinions / options you have seen for sale would be greatly appreciated. i need to buy from a dealer as I want to trade to make the process easy.

Nick

29-12-2014, 10:06 AM
Never been in one of those, or ever seen one, but it wouldn't be my first pick if I wanted to get into a cat....

Nicholas2230
29-12-2014, 10:19 AM
thanks for you input noelm, I haven't seen one before either. Hull comes with a 20 year structural warranty apparently. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Nick H
29-12-2014, 11:35 AM
Hey Nicholas,
I just went through this process but was looking at cruise crafts, stuck with the mono due to the service costs etc. of two engines, after looking at a few cruise crafts I decided to go with a custom built plate alloy boat, mainly due to deck room. There is a big difference between pressed alloy quintrex and a plate boat if your thinking your not enjoying the tin boat. Good value for money and the right layout for you. The only bad thing is the wait but well worth it by looks of the other boats that the builder I'm using has produced. He starts my hull on the 13 of Jan. Good luck and enjoy the process

ozynorts
29-12-2014, 11:44 AM
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

This would fit very nicely.
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/private/used/SSE-AD-3082237/1994-Kevlacat-52-TOURNAMENT?cr=0&psq=%28%28%28Make%3D%5BKevlacat%5D%26Model%3D%5B5. 2%20TOURNAMENT%5D%29%26%28%28%28SiloType%3D%5BDeal er%20used%20boats%5D%7CSiloType%3D%5BDealer%20new% 20boats%5D%29%7CSiloType%3D%5BPrivate%20used%20boa ts%5D%29%7CSiloType%3D%5BDemo%20and%20near%20new%2 0boats%5D%29%29%26Service%3D%5BBoatsales%5D%29&pso=0&pss=Premium

FisHard
29-12-2014, 12:53 PM
This would fit very nicely.
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/private/used/SSE-AD-3082237/1994-Kevlacat-52-TOURNAMENT?cr=0&psq=%28%28%28Make%3D%5BKevlacat%5D%26Model%3D%5B5. 2%20TOURNAMENT%5D%29%26%28%28%28SiloType%3D%5BDeal er%20used%20boats%5D%7CSiloType%3D%5BDealer%20new% 20boats%5D%29%7CSiloType%3D%5BPrivate%20used%20boa ts%5D%29%7CSiloType%3D%5BDemo%20and%20near%20new%2 0boats%5D%29%29%26Service%3D%5BBoatsales%5D%29&pso=0&pss=Premium
Yeah, grab that for mid-high $20's and throw a couple of new yam 70 four strokes on it.

ozynorts
29-12-2014, 03:40 PM
I have a mate here with one and it has the 70 2 strokes and we get 1km/l combined so still not bad with the smokey's on the back.

FisHard
29-12-2014, 04:28 PM
That's pretty good, but I reckon fuel economy is just a fraction of the advantage that four strokes have over the 2 strokes.
Quiet, smoke and smell free, so dam obedient! The modern four stroke is just a delight to own in every aspect.

Sheik
29-12-2014, 09:19 PM
had a look at those jackaroos at the boat show a year or two ago. I as very impressed with teh finish. Made down goldie i think. they had a monohull there about 5.5m so they make monos and cats, or at least they used to.

Flex
31-12-2014, 09:39 PM
No way on this earth I'd own a offshore cat with 1 motor.
you need 2 motors to trim a cat correctly. You wouldn't get anywhere near
the full performance possible being 1 motor.
im sure the boat itself is well built. But my cat hardly ever runs with motors trimmed same height.
id be looking at a different cat imo.

Darren Mc
31-12-2014, 09:54 PM
I have what might be a dumb question but i'll ask anyhow..
If possible to fit, could you put trim tabs on to help with the trimming issue flex?

Alwayskeen
05-01-2015, 08:38 PM
Nick,

I might be one of the few that own one, took a gamble on limited information and brought a centre console with 4 stroke single. Two people on the one side offshore is no worries, they are quite stable.

Take this with a pinch of salt (pun intended), comparing it to similar sized mono's of tin and plastic (the few that I have been in) I think the ride is better even with a single outboard. That being said, it would be ultimate with twins. For me it was a compromise driven by cost, no regrets so far. Happy to provide more info.

sharkcat one
06-01-2015, 05:52 PM
hi guys,
went on a friends cat about 6mths ago and it was a single engine cat from Jackaroo as well.
I was surprised as well that the boat handled extremely well with a single outboard , stability was not an issue with only one outboard.
It made me think twice about the expense of having two motors on my shark cat.

mitc69
07-01-2015, 07:00 AM
cat with 1 motor only good if it under 6m... anything over u need 2 motors.. especially if it's glass too.. the weight and turning would be too taxing on fuel :).. no idea about the boat :)

Nicholas2230
07-01-2015, 09:06 AM
Thanks for all the responses fellas, went and had a look at the boat but it wasnt much chop, looks like its been kept outside uncovered for its entire life. They will struggle to get $30k on it...... I shall keep looking but im starting to think I will hold my boat and keep it stored when not in use for another 24 months and look at something 6m+ with twins.

Bremic
07-01-2015, 09:38 AM
There is another one on Boatpoint, $28k. Also at Coomera.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/dealer/used/OAG-AD-576163/ANGLER-CAT-550?cr=0&psq=%28%28%28BoatType%3DPower%26Make%3D%5BANGLER%2 0CAT%5D%29%26%28%28%28SiloType%3D%5BDemo%20and%20n ear%20new%20boats%5D%7CSiloType%3D%5BDealer%20new% 20boats%5D%29%7CSiloType%3D%5BDealer%20used%20boat s%5D%29%7CSiloType%3D%5BPrivate%20used%20boats%5D% 29%29%26Service%3D%5BBoatsales%5D%29&pso=0&pss=Premium

Failing that, the link Ozynorts put up has a proven performance, and generally well regarded. Be a bit of a long trip bringing it home if you are in QLD though.