PDA

View Full Version : Second hand boat needs new trailer

Berger4
12-11-2014, 05:46 PM
Hello new to the forum as I moved from WA about 2 years ago and just finding may way around the bay now. I recently purchased a second hand boat a 4.7m Cruise Craft to replace my Quintrex 455 topender (which I will be selling soon), any way the trailer on the boat I just purchased has basically seen its day as the 2 main cross member are broken and will cost over $2000 to fix everything. I have been quoted a few prices for a new trailer with best best being $3630 for a new Redco trailer, my main problem is that I can't really drive the trailer anywhere and I was thinking about transfering the boat onto the new trailer myself. I have never done this before, is it hard to do? and how hard is it to set up a new trailer?

Any help, ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Noelm
12-11-2014, 07:15 PM
Pretty simple job, the boat comes off onto the grass, new trailer roughly adjusted to something like the old one, winch boat on, and do final setup, go fishing!

Berger4
12-11-2014, 08:12 PM
Pretty simple job, the boat comes off onto the grass, new trailer roughly adjusted to something like the old one, winch boat on, and do final setup, go fishing!
Thanks for the reply noelm. The go fishing bit I have all stitched up its the finer points of the rest I am not sure about. Do I need to put the boat on tyres? A mate has suggested this. Do i have the trailers attached to the ute when unloading and loading? I have read a bit about adjusting the trailer and think I can deal with that it is just the in between bits, it is the first glass boat i have owned. Am I being over cautious because it is a glass boat

marto78
12-11-2014, 08:46 PM
You will need 2 or 3 tyres along the keel and something to keep your boat stable, either chocks or if you can tie it off to something to keep it balanced that will do.
Don't worry anout hooking the car upto the trailer.