View Full Version : Heavy duty spinning rod options?

ignition
22-10-2014, 03:37 PM

Can you please supply me with a list or recommendations of some heavier duty spinning rods?

I am looking at buying a rod to match my spinning reel that will be spooled with ~ 500 m of 65 lb braid, however in the future I may go up to 80 lb braid.

I'm after a rod that will be somewhat universal and around the 7 foot size range.

I do like the Terez rods, particularly the 40 - 80 lb and 50 - 100 lb options (I have read the associated Terez thread). I've notice the ShimanoEdge guys use a 40 - 80 lb Terez on a large number of targets ranging from Kingfish, Mackerel, Tuna, and Marlin and wouldn't mind something of a similar caliber.

I'm just curious what other options are out there that people have either used or recommend, particularly in the same price range or even lower?

Cheers! :)

ignition.

22-10-2014, 04:54 PM
The T Curves have some nice rods that might suit, steer clear of the cheaper range, when I was looking for my 2 piece rod I looked at all sorts, and played with some heavier Tcurves.

Jsmfun
22-10-2014, 06:55 PM
The diawa demon blood range are very nice about $100 more than a terez but great feeling rod

Nabba1
23-10-2014, 11:57 AM
I second the t curves...

I've got a T curve bluewater spin, 7 foot 6 inch in the 30 to 50 lbs. Awesome rod could easily run 80 lbs over it i reckon. Had it for 5 or 6 years and loaded it up to the max on several occasions.

ignition
25-10-2014, 12:01 AM
Thanks for the feedback fellas!

I will have a look into the rods next time I pop by the tackle shop.

With regards to size, if you have to head in either direction of a smaller rod of the 6 foot range or a larger rod of the 8 foot range, what direction would you recommend?

This will be my first heavier duty set up for the boat, I have never done the likes of jigging or popping so I'm curious what you guys prefer for general use (dead bait, live bait etc.).

Keeping in mind I already have a 7'2" D.A.M Futron 15 - 50 g CW, ~ 30 lb rod (Fiberglass & Carbon construction similar to a Terez and Ocea Offshore) paired with a 4000 reel, it's a lovely lighter medium set up.

ignition
25-10-2014, 12:06 AM
I'm considering one of these with the PE8 line rating (maybe the PE6), can get one for ~$120, what are your thoughts?

http://www.noeby.cn/en/pview.php?id=419

http://www.noeby.cn/en/pview.php?id=420

They come with the Fuji guides, mount, and gimbal. Just a little thrown off by the length as I would have loved ~ 7' foot.

26-10-2014, 07:04 PM
I personally would stick with a Terez but by all means try the noeby and let us know how it goes

Tim_N
27-10-2014, 01:43 PM
I bought a Terez 40-80 and took it to 1770 and knocked over heaps of big reefies, Macks, a small Black and some Noah's that were huge.
Great rod for the price. Still go.t enough tip to chuck a big plastic, but heaps of grunt throughout
I fished it over a Saragosa 10000 and a full spool of 50lb Powerpro.
I also used SD wind on's also and they were awesome.
Still,managed to get busted a few times and loved it.

ignition
27-10-2014, 06:44 PM
Hey fellas,

Thanks for the continual feedback I really appreciate it.

I went into BCF on the weekend and came across quite a few Terez rods - white and black, and my word they were lovely in the hand.

Tim_N I'm glad you recommend the 80 because after having a look I felt I would like that one the best, even though the BCF didn't stock one. I felt the 100 was a little too stiff and heavy for what I was after the the 50 was a little too light. I only now need to look around for an 80. Also Tim_N what size do you use?

Secondly regarding the Noeby rods I think I'll just get one of the larger ones to use off the rocks with the large spinning reel. After handling the Terez the reel I intended to partner it was just seemed ridiculously too big.

Cheers!

sam687
28-10-2014, 08:09 AM
Ignition,

I also have the same setup and Tim_N, Terez 40-80 with saragosa 10000SW, first fish i caught was a 17kg Spanish mackerel while flicking a 80g flasher.

I have also used the rod for basic bottom bashing and with the great tip im still able to feel every bite but when you hook something big you know you can wind up the drag and give it all you got.

ignition
28-10-2014, 11:30 AM
Thanks sam687,

It's sounding like the 40-80 is the go. Out of curiosity what size are you using? 6'9", 7'0", 7'2"?

sam687
28-10-2014, 11:37 AM
I have the 7'0" Tzs70xhpw

28-10-2014, 07:27 PM
I also run the 40-80lb but mine is in the 6'9" configuration. I match it with either a Salina 3 16000 (with 50lb) or a Fin Nor Lethal with 80lb Power Pro. Great rod

Tim_N
30-10-2014, 07:55 AM
I run a 6'9"model just like Horse.
Mine is the new model because it is black, unlike the earlier white models and I got it from BCF.

Moonlighter
31-10-2014, 01:42 PM
I have just ordered the Terez 6'9" 40-80lb spin rod in the new black colour, along with a Saragossa 25000. Will spool it with either 50 or 65Lb powerpro.

A mate used this exact setup on our trip to 1770 a couple of weeks ago and it easily accounted for decent reds, a big cod and some 15-20kg amberjacks out on the deep ledges in 110m. With 20kg of drag, those Saragossas are one beast of a reel!

ozynorts
31-10-2014, 07:18 PM
I have been pondering this same question for a while and couldn't decide. Went and had a look at a Terez the other day and wow, what a rod. So much power in a light rod. Didn't want to pay that much for a rod but it will take a lot to sway me away from one now.

ignition
02-11-2014, 12:17 AM
Hahahaaa ozynorts I feel the same, a month ago I couldn't comprehend paying for it until I saw them in BCF last week.

Thanks for the continuous feedback, it sounds like there might be a shortage of the 40-80 as I can't actually find one anywhere.

sam687
02-11-2014, 08:13 AM
Have a look online you should be able to find some at a better price.

ozynorts
02-11-2014, 09:11 AM
Have a look online you should be able to find some at a better price.
Got any links for them mate, would be interested to see the price difference.

ReefRobber
02-11-2014, 09:35 AM
$250 at ########

http://www.########.com.au/terez-3108851.html