View Full Version : What do you use for Beach Rod Holders on your car

TroyVIS
24-09-2014, 10:44 PM
Hi All,

We're off on to Fraser on Sat and I just realised I can't use my old rod holders anymore since I bought a new car and haven't had a bulbar fitted yet.

It's a Toyota Prado and has Toyota roof racks, I don't have time to make anything up. Are there generic roof rack rod holders I can get somewhere around Brisbane?

I'll only use iron up there but I don't want to keep dismantling the rods to get them in the car.

I've seen the Alvey ones, although the shop I was in were sold out, I'd prefer not to cut the rack rubber.

Any help appreciated.

Troy

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

spelchek
25-09-2014, 12:08 AM
Here's a thread on just what you're looking for (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?178316).

TroyVIS
25-09-2014, 08:14 AM
Thanks spelcheck, those look good just won't be able to get them in time.

-Shay-
25-09-2014, 10:18 AM
dude there are heaps of ways to mount them to a roof rack. Just got to any reasonable tackle store and grab something like this

http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Rapala-6-Rod-Deluxe-Rod-Holder.aspx?pid=131985&menuFrom=30604#Cross

and then zip tie it to the roof racks

Axl
27-09-2014, 06:02 AM
I have a set of the magnetic vacrac's and they are brilliant. We were at Iluka a couple of months back and a mate brought a new 13 foot Wilson down there, when we packed to go home he realised he couldn’t get the rod home unless he let it bounce around his boat for 300kms so I lent him the vacrac's. Travelled over 300kms at 100kms an hour no worries.

pipifin
29-09-2014, 10:09 AM
I just cut pvc pipe to size, rag around the tip and the but, seal up the ends with a rag and tape, zip tie to the racks..... but then I'm a cheap prick.

TroyVIS
07-10-2014, 01:57 PM
Thanks all, ended up going with Alveys roof rack rod carriers (http://alvey.com.au/products/roof-rack-rod-carriers/) just lifted the racks rubber up a bit and zip tied it back in place for the week we were on the island. Worked a treat. When we left took them off, replaced the rack rubbers all good to go.