View Full Version : Electric Reel- Shimano Forcemaster 9000

skelly22
24-09-2014, 11:02 AM
G'day all,

Has anyone used a Shimano Forcemaster 9000? Apparently it is the Japanese branding of the Plays 9000. I am looking at getting one with a view to fishing 300-500m for blue eye and whatever else I can find off Coffs, spooled with 80lb and 2-4kg sinkers. I know the Miyas might be a better reel but I am trying to stick to a budget around 700 considering it may only be used a dozen times a year when the current is manageable.(and looking to get myself a Torsa 30 soon also). Was going to get it from electric-reel dot com in japan. Anyone used them? are they reliable? Payment is paypal which helps.

Shane

scorpo92
24-09-2014, 01:28 PM
Hey mate have a look at this one. They are $650 delivered in aus. I just bought the 1200. I am bloody impressed with it. I put 850m of cheap 150lb on it. I run it off a 20ah deep cycle. I havent got to test it in deep water but it dragged a 5kg blackall from 50m in about 15seconds.

http://www.jarviswalker.com.au/catalogue/fishing/reels/electric-reels/electra-electric-reels.html

scorpo92
24-09-2014, 01:30 PM
Also id recommend a tyrnos 30 for conventional reel out wide. Ive used one to fish up to 700m off eden nsw. Bloody quick tough reel.

Rodman
24-09-2014, 02:43 PM
Mate if U buy a Tyrnos 30 invest an extra $30 and upgrade the drag washers to carbontex

ken

skelly22
24-09-2014, 04:03 PM
Hey mate have a look at this one. They are $650 delivered in aus. I just bought the 1200. I am bloody impressed with it. I put 850m of cheap 150lb on it. I run it off a 20ah deep cycle. I havent got to test it in deep water but it dragged a 5kg blackall from 50m in about 15seconds.

http://www.jarviswalker.com.au/catalogue/fishing/reels/electric-reels/electra-electric-reels.html

i like that description scopo- 50m in 15 sec! I did see that but was a bit worried about it being a JW. great value and good specs for that price i must admit, be keen to see how you go outwide with it.

skelly22
24-09-2014, 04:05 PM
also, with the tyrnos 30, do you find it a bit bulky for bottom bashing? i have a tld 30- 2speed for game fishing and it looks a similar size.

scorpo92
24-09-2014, 05:09 PM
i like that description scopo- 50m in 15 sec! I did see that but was a bit worried about it being a JW. great value and good specs for that price i must admit, be keen to see how you go outwide with it.
Its not made by jw. They are just the importer. Fishing aust did a review on them. From what I can find they are massive in european market. And ive found one video that had one and a miya epoch. The chose the wft hands down fishing out wide. Only downside is instructions arent in english. But jw has very informative easy to follow instruction videos.

Ive never really noticed the bulkiness of the tyrnos. Ive had it for nearly 7 yrs now and fished everything from 2.5m to the deep stuff. I just like the line retrieval.

Aussie123
24-09-2014, 05:22 PM
Both the Simano and WFT reels a great quality but the Shimano is a lot better and a much stronger reel.
I have used both and the Shimano is a ripper.
The Daiwa Tanacom 1000's are another great reel and worth looking at.
I would never by an Epoch, every one we have had has broken down.
Every trip we have to magyver something on it to keep it going.
The last few epochs have all suffered breakdowns or water ingress onto the circuit boards.

scorpo92
24-09-2014, 05:30 PM
Damn I wish id seen that one when I was lookin to buy. It looks the goods. And I have always been a shimano man haha. I dont understand the 25kg drag but 72kg pulling power. The wft are supossedly 30kg max drag.

ShaneC
25-09-2014, 06:00 AM
Aussie is talking about the zb9000 beastmaster. They are a fair bit dearer than what you are looking at although may have dropped in price. Not sure about the forcemaster but I have a knack of breaking all makes and models equally.

25-09-2014, 07:15 AM
Gents check out Arigato fishing Japanese EBay. All he sells is second hand electric reels. I've bought my last two there and not spent more than $400. Both if those were BIG older reels which could pull a truck. Let's face it they're only a winch. Power is the most important feature not electronics. My last one doesn't even have a handle.

25-09-2014, 08:49 AM
The Plays is OK, we have one and have given it a bit of a flogging in deep water, and I mean deep, not just 100M... sometimes with up to 5Kg of weight to get down in the current, so far no troubles at all, seems very light weight though, which kind of worried me a bit at first.

25-09-2014, 06:57 PM
I have one of these

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Daiwa-Marine-Power-SS900-1450m-Big-Game-Electric-Reel-Middle-/271607452586?pt=US_Taxidermy&hash=item3f3d10d3aa

A mate has one of these

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Miya-Epoch-500-command-7-Big-Game-Electric-Reel-Excellent-/301322441558?pt=US_Taxidermy&hash=item4628379356

Another

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Daiwa-Marine-Power-SS900-1450m-Big-Game-Electric-Reel-Excellent-/271612344152?pt=US_Taxidermy&hash=item3f3d5b7758

Here's a big daddy

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Miya-Epoch-800-Deluxe-4-Speed-800DX-Electric-Reel-Big-Game-Deep-Sea-Excellent-/271591950338?pt=US_Taxidermy&hash=item3f3c244802

You just have to keep looking. I got my cheapest for $300

scorpo92
25-09-2014, 07:09 PM
I do like the look of that wire on the last one haha

skelly22
26-09-2014, 11:24 AM
I considered second hand and almost put a bid on a Miya on ebay. It was over 500 though, and in the end i figured i would rather buy a reel new with some warranty come back (i hope!!).
Bit the bullet and got the Forcemaster yesterday. I will keep you all posted on how it goes!! hopefully the current stays reasonable to get a chance to use it in a few weeks.

You fellas use lights on your deep drop rigs? any good places to grab a few at a reasonable price?

Shane

26-09-2014, 12:28 PM
Ebay
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/MINI-LED-Deep-Drop-Underwater-Fishing-Squid-Lure-Light-blue-flashing-BOC/271203028557?_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%2 6asc%3D20140106155344%26meid%3Deb92d5915b97475ba1e 32915aba2ca59%26pid%3D100005%26prg%3D2014010615534 4%26rk%3D4%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D141156162672&rt=nc

skelly22
26-09-2014, 02:07 PM
thanks bugman, I will give them a go if they don't implode at 500m!!