PDA

View Full Version : Outboard maintenance

Jimmy James
22-08-2014, 09:59 PM
I have a Mercury 115 (1999) on my old viking. I'm new to owning and looking after a boat and want some advice.
What are the white stone like blocks above the prop? Do they need replaced when worn as someone mentioned this to me - see photo 104906
Second question is about damage on the base of the outboard structure, below the prop. Mine has a significant chip out of it. Will this cause any vibration or reduced fuel efficiency? Again see photo - 104907104908
Thanks for your help

The Black Unicorn
22-08-2014, 10:13 PM
The white stone like block is actually a sacrificial anode. Its meant to dissolve before your motor does. The chip out of the skeg wont affect its performance at that size.

Cheers
Leo

Jarrah Jack
22-08-2014, 10:45 PM
The white stone like block is actually a sacrificial anode. Its meant to dissolve before your motor does. The chip out of the skeg wont affect its performance at that size.

Cheers
Leo

You ever been on a boat Leo?

LittleSkipper
22-08-2014, 11:45 PM
I have a Mercury 115 (1999) on my old viking. I'm new to owning and looking after a boat and want some advice.
What are the white stone like blocks above the prop? Do they need replaced when worn as someone mentioned this to me - see photo 104906
Second question is about damage on the base of the outboard structure, below the prop. Mine has a significant chip out of it. Will this cause any vibration or reduced fuel efficiency? Again see photo - 104907104908
Thanks for your help

If your concerned about your outboards performance you could purchase & fit a SkegGard to the existing damaged skeg. Problem solved. Google the name on the internet.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Spaniard_King
23-08-2014, 10:38 AM
If your concerned about your outboards performance you could purchase & fit a SkegGard to the existing damaged skeg. Problem solved. Google the name on the internet.