PDA

View Full Version : help seeking out rod and reel setups for boat and shore fishing in WA(perth)

Goldiepom
26-07-2014, 07:10 PM
Hi guys I'm new to Australia originally from the uk big time fisherman over there.
been going out every weekend here with a guy from work for around 2 months to see if sea fishing was my thing and have fished for buff bream of the rocks at free,bream in the swan and snapper from the boat i didn't have the correct rod to suit buff bream and snapper not that we hooked any snapper but we did lots of buff bream but i know my setup would be hard work or fail on the buff bream my rod just didn't have the power to stop them.i love the different types of fishing available in WA.
with different styles and species it mean more rod's and reels for different days but hey thats part of fishing.
ive purchased a cheap daiwa rod and reel setup for around $100 its nothing special at all but only really suits bream fishing in the swan river which means i have 1 rod setup for bream fishing for the time being untill i upgrade.
i went out on the boat with guys from work and my rod just wasn't man enough for wrasse let alone whats hopefully to come in the forms of tuna snapper gt's mulloway buff bream etc.
i am thinking to myself i am hoping to stay and live in Australia forever so investing in decent tackles got to be done.
I've been doing research into what i am targeting and styles of fishing I've been doing etc and using my freshwater knowledge from back home I've come up with these 2 setups 1 for of the boat and one for all round beach and of south mole and all other coastal rocks area's
my first setup is a shimano tcurve revolution inshore 702 snapper fished with a stradic 4000 ci4+ and 25lb braid