View Full Version : Noosa cat 2400 enclosed cab

hilta1
20-06-2014, 08:15 PM
OK Guys, I went to the Melbourne boat show and fell in love with the Noosa cat 2400 that was there, has 150hp Yammis, Looking for the good bad and ugly about them, I have a 2400 KevlaCat and love it but realy want a walk out transom, going to be an expensive way to get a walkout transom but oh well!!! Will have to wait and see how long it takes to sell the KevlaCat but will stick it on Boat sales in the next couple of days. What are your thoughts on the Noosa Cat compared to the KevlaCat, is the Noosa a better ride? fors and againsts please. Cheers Mark

Red Emperor
20-06-2014, 10:48 PM
I don't have one but most of the coast guards have Noosa cats so that answers some questions for you. Think they are around $180k now new hey?

gofishin
20-06-2014, 11:22 PM
Mark, is it just that you want a new boat? :) for the cost of the changeover you could probably have a gold plated walk out transom added on with diamond studded bolts !

There would be many reputable builders in each state that could sort out your dilemma for you, exactly how you wanted it. Then again, it would still be your old boat :) :)
Brendon

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

21-06-2014, 06:54 AM
Our local Coast Gaurd has a 23 or 24 that they just sold cheap, I will ask them what they thought of it if you like.

hilta1
21-06-2014, 07:18 AM
Thanks Noelm that would be good if you can. Brendon, yeh I thought about getting one cut in but then I would still need the bigger duckboard and stainless work etc, would still be cheaper but bugger it I am 50 now and its time to get what I want, something new and shinny. Mind you the KevlaCat fits that bill as well, sure is a bloody nice boat and in excellent condition, but the grass looks greener!!! lol Cheers guys Also has anyone tested these boats with 150 suzukis instead of the Yammis, is there any performance difference???

mitch_wahoo
22-06-2014, 09:51 AM
If your going new why not try the new 150 merc 4 stroke. I've just put one on my 6.1m hydrofield and its awesome. The grunt they have is unreal. check the specs between all 3 motors. I think there on special at the moment too.

Mitch.

rexaway123
23-06-2014, 02:43 PM
i have the twin 150 yammies on my 2300 which is essentially the same hull....make sure you get the high HP...it is effortless both in and offshore... careful of the light 140 Suzies as they tend to drone and the hardtop cabin exaggerates that noise for you
4 blade props help alot to get my heavy arse up and out the water quickly and stay on plane very easily

Inveloch marine at Melb boat show will tell you they better with 115s but I dont know.... I am glad I did not sway thay way or would have felt underpowered all the time...nearly 30 kts at only 4100rpm

I bought mine direct from factory so saves ALOT of dealer margin coin too

hilta1
23-06-2014, 05:12 PM
Yes mate will go 150s would be interesting if the 150 Suzuki is better or worse than the Yammis, quite happy to go Yammis just want to make sure , I reckon I will go direct as well, I will pick it up in Noosa and do a month at 1770, Just need to sell the KevlaCat first though. Are they better in a following ot quarter rear sea than the KevlaCat?? I am happy with the KevlaCat but some people say the Noosacat is a better ride? Will take one for a spin and see hopefully.

perko
23-06-2014, 05:23 PM
"Just Do It" Mark, and take me for a run when you get. I've got loads of good marks for 1770.

hilta1
23-06-2014, 05:58 PM
Perko just find someone to buy my KevlaCat!! and I will!! The KevlaCat is a bloody good boat but I just want new!

lethal098
24-06-2014, 08:30 AM
Noosacat performs better, no doubt.

VMR southport is building a noosacat that size at the moment, they are putting 150 Verados on the Boat, direct from Noosacat themselves.

maybe contact noosacat direct for some pics etc.

24-06-2014, 10:47 AM
Go a KC over a NC. Not first hand but one of my mates did a fair bit of time in both a 2700NC and 2300NC over Chrissy gamefishing having fished on a 5.2KC a lot then went in an older 6.5KC and it shat on the NCs he said.

topcat4
25-06-2014, 09:46 AM
Go a KC over a NC. Not first hand but one of my mates did a fair bit of time in both a 2700NC and 2300NC over Chrissy gamefishing having fished on a 5.2KC a lot then went in an older 6.5KC and it shat on the NCs he said.
Hi Smithy, I bought my first cat (an alloycat) in 1978, I've owned Powercats, Sharkcats & Noosacats. I've worked on Cougar Cats & KC's. I've owned Charter boats and commercial fishing boats and what I've had to listen to for all those years is people who express their version of 2nd hand opinions. The performance of any machine, be it boat, plane or automobile is quite dependent on the operator and the set-up of the machine.
For you to say " my mate said a 6m KC Shat on both a 2300 & a 2700 Noosa Cat" shows an absolute lack of knowledge of these boats on both your part & his.

perko
25-06-2014, 01:23 PM
Topcat, I think smithy was referring to a 6.5 kevlacat not a 6 meter as you state (which there is no such thing). And have you done a fair amount of time in a KC2400? I love most cats. I think both boats would be great.

25-06-2014, 02:34 PM
Yep an older 6.5m with 140 Suzukis of a guy who frequents here V a 2700W/A with 2x200Verados and a 2300 with 2xF115 Yamahas. I very much trust the opinion of my mate who would be one of the 10%ers out there of rec guys for fish catching and time on the water.

hilta1
25-06-2014, 03:45 PM
Thanks guys I don't want this to turn into a siht fight, I agree with smithy the 2400 KevlaCat I have is a great boat and most of the time rides fantastic, I still think it could be better with a quarter rear sea and by what I have heard tha Noosa cats are better in that department, I am based in Tassie and would like to go new rather than repower in a few years time, Hence I think the enclosed hardtop would suit better down here, the KevlaCat did make a couple of enclosed hardtops but I personely don't like the look of them, they seem to be to high or something, also I went to the KevlaCat factory recently and I just am not confident that now is the time to buy a new one of those, hence I saw the Noosa cat at the Boat show in Melbourne and like a lot of what I saw, it would be nice to have the Room in the sleeping quarters that the KevlaCat has but I just cant have everthing. I am not sure how often we can tow it up to Qld in the next few years so the enclosed cab isn't going to be a problem in the heat. It still all depends how long it will take for my KevlaCat to sell as I am not prepared to give it away, so we will just see what happens. Cheers Mark

WannaBFishin
25-06-2014, 07:59 PM
Mark, I hear what you are saying about setting yourself up now for the future, and the noosa cat would be a bloody nice boat. But just a bit of food for thought, my KC 2400 weekender has a walk through transom and duckboard so I would assume they have a mould for them and would be avalible for purchase. By the looks of mine there is not much work to cut the back and install the duckboard. Just throwing it out there. Good luck with the choice. Simon.
P.S. any pics of your KC2400?

hilta1
25-06-2014, 08:25 PM
Goodaye Mate, I have thought about getting the transom cut but I priced the stainless rail and ladder is about $2500 then the duckboard and couple of estimates was around $7000 all up. I would be far better off financialy to do that but I just have it stuck in my head that I want new. Will post a couple of pics of mine if I can work out how. There is a Weekender for sale in Victoria I did wonder how much work there would be to take out the cooking gear and cut that down to just the esky but not sure . Cheers and thanks for everyones thoughts. So has anyone actualy been in both?? I realy want some thoughts on ride quality if I can.

hilta1
25-06-2014, 08:29 PM

hilta1
25-06-2014, 08:35 PM
Hope the photos work, It has a stressfree freefall anchor winch,autopilot,HDS10,Toilet,4 blade props about 550 hours on motors, outriggers, clears only 18moths old, Cheers Mark

rexaway123
25-06-2014, 10:06 PM
u need to add pics by using the "go advanced" button down below not quick reply

OPTI
26-06-2014, 06:19 AM
personally the hard top on the nc makes it too heavy on the bow ,you run full trim all the time just to try and hold the nose up ,which is fine into a head sea but not ideal in a following sea

hilta1
26-06-2014, 07:33 AM

ShaneC
26-06-2014, 08:09 AM
For what its worth, the 2400 NC is a pretty new model so its going to be hard to find much honest info about them for a while yet. Having said that, the new 3000 NC is a pretty good improvement on the 2700 so it stands to reason that the 24 may well be the same. I have the 2700 with 150 yams and it goes fine with a heavy load and feels like a raceboat (in comparison) when its light. A very good mate of mine has a 2300 that's a pig, but its all in the set up, he has an unbelievable amount of gear in it (hydraulic pumps and reels, plus big ice boxes etc) and the boat doesn't like it, but I hear from reliable sources that they are fine when set up right. Best bet is hit Wayne up to go for a good ride in one, in unfavourable conditions and make up your own mind. With any new model your going to be told they are the ducks by people trying to sell them, and that they are rubbish by people who's loyalties lie elsewhere or who don't really know......

stevemid
26-06-2014, 10:12 AM
The latest Club Marine magazine had an article in it on the new 115 and 175HP Yamaha motors. One of the tests they did was of a pair of 115B's on the NC2400. The relevant page attached here for your reading enjoyment.

rexaway123
26-06-2014, 04:20 PM
The hull is same on the 2400 a 2300 just changed a bit of cosmetic styling on side of pods to have cleaner lines
It's no longer, he has just changed the way he measures the boats to be line with other manufacturers
The 23 or 2400 is in fact a bigger boat than the kc 2400 when measured on same logic

rexaway123
26-06-2014, 04:27 PM
U will feel very inadequate with 115s
I never really need to go past 4700 with my 150s that's nearly 35 kts with a wot at 80 km hr

Comparison of the 150s test on nc2300 here too to compare to above new one with 115s

http://www.yamaha-motor.com.au/sites/yamaha-motor/files/Noosa_Cat_2300_Cuddy_F150_x_2.pdf

hilta1
26-06-2014, 04:38 PM
Surely someone wants to buy my KevlaCat!!! all this talk is getting me excited! Will definatley go 150s I have spent my whole life feeling inadequate!!! That's why I want a big boat! Would still like to find out what the 150 suzukis perform like on them, just wonder if the gear ratio may suit a bit better.

hilta1
27-06-2014, 07:11 PM
Has anyone priced the new 175hp lightweight yammis compared to the 150s???

nautilus
27-06-2014, 07:51 PM
My old man bought a PowerCat 2500 a few years ago and I am now giving some thought to buying one of my own. I can honestly say that I have yet to go in a better boat. I have not ridden in either the Kevlacat or NoosaCat, but have looked hard at both. The PowerCat has a much more "polished" feel. The build quality may be perfectly good in both the Noosa and Kevla, but they are both very "industrial" looking in finish compared to the PowerCat. I would strongly recommend having a look at the PowerCat and definitely go out for a ride before buying.

hilta1
27-06-2014, 08:24 PM
I did see a couple of powercats but they didn't look to have the deck room I need, both my sons and myself do a fair bit of diving as well as fishing, by the time we put 3 or 4 guys and dive gear and spare tanks etc the industrial internals stand up to it ok.cheers Mark

hilta1
30-06-2014, 08:43 PM
So Has anyone priced the 175 lightweight yammis???

hilta1
02-07-2014, 02:27 PM
Come on guys surely someone knows somebody that wants a KevlaCat!!!! Just to clarify, I have read the performance reports on the Yammi 115 v 150 and will be going the 150s, I have made my mind up that I will stick with yammis, I was just interested whether the suzukis with there gearing were better suited but no real info on them anyway. Inverloch have been great to deal with but if the boat they have there now, is sold before I sell the KevlaCat I would probably organise through them to pick one up in Noosa and use it there rather than pay freight then tow it back up and fish 1770 for a month. So hurry up and buy my KevlaCat!!!!

scottar
02-07-2014, 02:38 PM
I know a bloke that wants one. Unfortunately I also know a bloke that can't afford one and would end up divorced if bought one. Hmmmm, is that a bad thing?????

hilta1
02-07-2014, 02:42 PM
Scotar she will love you even more when you bring home all those fish you would catch in a KevlaCat!!!! By the way GROW SOME BALLS AND BUY IT!!!!! lol

Red Emperor
02-07-2014, 09:11 PM
Just on the Noosa cats, is there much price difference in the enclosed cab vs the cuddy cab? Does anyone have a cuddy cab? Also what's the going rate these days for a 2400? I heard 170 but sounds too much

hilta1
02-07-2014, 09:46 PM
About $10000 for the enclosed cab, yeh around $170 and yes again it is far to much! but what do you do???? after all they want us to work till were 70 so should have time to save that back!!!!!

Red Emperor
02-07-2014, 10:06 PM
Oh well as long as your happy hilta it doesn't matter! You sound excited haha. So can u give me a brief on how cats ride? Nice soft landing? Capable of some crap weather?

hilta1
02-07-2014, 10:31 PM
Mate I am very happy with the ride and fishing platform of the cats, no such thing as the perfect boat but suits me. each to there own some love em and some don't, although just like most other things in life, a lot of them that downgrade something would actualy love to have it but cant afford it, so you realy have to see what suits yourself do as much reseach as you can, I loved my seafarer victory and honestly didn't think I could better it,but now I wouldn't go back to it my back loves me now!!!!

Red Emperor
03-07-2014, 06:44 AM
Thanks hilta, yes it would be nice to come home from a big trip and not have a broken back!! Are they stable at rest? Also how many kms are u guys getting per litre?

hilta1
03-07-2014, 07:34 AM
yes mate they are stable at rest, I average 1.4 km to the ltr both motors.

rexaway123
03-07-2014, 09:58 AM
on the 2300 2400 with the 150 yammies I get almost 1km to 1L mix of slow driving, fast driving troling etc etc, maybe just marginally less. On a 150km trip I would use about 160l fuel

You will pay about 15-20k more by buying thru Inveloch then dealing with Wayne direct

make sure his REP gets you some of these 4 blade props. I was first oen to try them he specially imported from USA this company owned by yam now so deemed gen parts for warranty reasons etc

Difference is SOOOOO noticeable lifting their heavy bum out of the water and holding plane easy
http://www.boatownersworld.com/Turbo-Offshore-OS1.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3C9A1I1uIU

03-07-2014, 10:11 AM
Thanks hilta, yes it would be nice to come home from a big trip and not have a broken back!! Are they stable at rest? Also how many kms are u guys getting per litre?
It would be pretty hard to make a cat that was not stable.

Snapperscott
03-07-2014, 05:00 PM
how much for the KC?

hilta1
03-07-2014, 05:07 PM
$99000.00 Bargain

rosco1974
03-07-2014, 07:43 PM
hilta,unless your willing to take under 90 k for it expect to have it for a while.over 90 k and they just sit for sale..only 1 I heard that sold quick was the 09 what sold in 3 days for around 100k with bugger all hrs on it..mine has done 500 with 2.5yrs warranty still on outboards and most only want to pay 75 to low 80's for it.I will keep it b4 I will take that

hilta1
03-07-2014, 08:00 PM
Yeh I have noticed a few sit, If I cant get that she stays with me, not sure what condition etc the few that are for sale are in but mine is immaculate so will see what happens, After all I have a bloody good boat now so if it doesn't sell I am still very happy.

rosco1974
03-07-2014, 08:13 PM
mate I have seen a couple and there all in vgc to immaculate only thing mine needs is a detail,no money for them 2nd hand at the moment..prob best thing to happin to the 2nd hand market was the 33k price increase on a new one..

04-07-2014, 08:33 AM
I guess like all second hand things, the market is set by what people will pay, not what something is actually worth, it has never changed, something's hold value, some nose dive, some are rare and sought after, some are common and you cant give them away, the market is what it is, if the price is too low, just hang onto it. By the way, I am not in any way shape or form knocking anyone's stuff for sale, it is just a generic statement.

perko
04-07-2014, 01:24 PM
It's only worth what some one is willing to pay. I just bought a KC2400, and probably paid too much but it was setup how I wanted it. Waited 2+ years for a good 2300 noosacat to come up but none did. I saw a average to nice 2007 KC2400 pop onto boatpoint for 2 days at $70k. Was priced cheap and sold in no time. I think you got to be priced just under the rest of them on Boatpoint to get any interest these days, or keep it. Get that chainsaw out Mark, and make that walkway.

hilta1
04-07-2014, 02:25 PM
Hi Perko, I agree but it still depends on where the boat is and who wants it, for example I am down in Tassie so can get the boat to Vic. SA. Etc, but something in Qld is going to cost around $5000 to get down this way, also condition plays a big part as well, I did find out a little bit about that one for 70 your talking about and lets just say it might not be as good a buy as it sounds??? If all else fails I am more than happy to keep what I have and keep the money in the bank, you don't find MR Noosacat prepared to drop any on what there price is!!!lol After all there is no sane reason to sell this and spend the extra $$$ to have something new! I am sure my missus would be a lot happier as well. Cheers Mark

Red Emperor
04-07-2014, 02:45 PM
Whereabouts in Tassie are u hilta?

hilta1
04-07-2014, 02:50 PM
Sisters Beach on the North west coast

Red Emperor
04-07-2014, 03:57 PM
Oh yep very nice, I grew up in Strahan. My dad is still pro crayfishing there

hilta1
04-07-2014, 04:08 PM
Nice, we go down there a bit chasing striped trumpeter and Blue fin Tuna, be realy nice of him to give me some stripey trumpeter gps marks I reckon. He would of stumbled across a few in his time,ha ha. My son worked down there on the cruise boat to get sea time for his master v great spot if you can stay out of Hamers!!!!! Cheers Mark

Red Emperor
04-07-2014, 04:40 PM
I'm hearing ya. Yes he has the odd mark haha. He's being doing it for 57 years and still going

hilta1
04-07-2014, 04:50 PM
You not taking over the licence? where are you? not in Tassie anymore?

Red Emperor
04-07-2014, 05:34 PM
Yeah I will eventually mate, based in Darwin for work these days

hilta1
20-07-2014, 06:23 PM
So Has anyone been in both the 2400 KevlaCat and the 2300 Noosa?? is there much difference in ride? cant seem to find info from anyone.

hungry6
20-07-2014, 07:07 PM
Didn't see this thread until now hilta1, sorry mate. Oh yes, I have spend a lot of time in both cats. This is what my view is of both boats, hopefully unbias.

KC2400
Cheaper to buy.
Cheaper to tow, you will get away with a decent dual cab.
Cheaper to run, you will get away with smaller motors.
Fantastic ride, just quirky hull noise.
Nice line and ergonomics with little thing around the cabin.
Has a lower gunnel height.
Horrible hull drum on a hard seas, just bang one on the hull in the middle and you get what I mean.
KC has about 1 square foot of Kevlar in the boat, so it is not all totally false naming and advertising.
Tunnel slap during trolling is much louder.
Poorer resale value than a NC.

NC 2300
Dearer to buy initially.
Dearer to tow, you will need cruiser or bigger.
Dearer to run, need more HP and is heavier. It is physically a bigger boat.
You need a MUCH bigger boat to get similar ride, that's how good it is.
Quieter hull even while trolling of the 2.
Good gunnel height if you're a taller bloke and your knees need brace for the big ones.
Has no Kevlar in construction, so not a good dinner talking point.
Better resale value.

So in the end which is a better boat, if money isn't a limitation, go for the NC
The centre cab NC rides much better and is more dynamic boat than the F.cab, but you need the full cab because of where you are. Tassie wind is a bitch.

Funny enough, both catch the same amount of fish.

I currently have a NC2300c.c with a walk through transom duck board and a side tuna door. The tuna door is a god sent for billies and tuna obviously, and surprising not a lot of cat have them, them fellas must lean over the side to do the deeds.

I hope that help.

Wayne

hilta1
20-07-2014, 07:32 PM
Excellent Wayne, thank you,i will be going the enclosed cab version, just have to sell the kevlacat and will place the order, Thanks again cheers Mark. Hang on! Wayne??? last name not Henning is it?????

Grand_Marlin
20-07-2014, 08:01 PM
His name's Bond... Wayne Bond... Master of the Cat!

Starred in films such as Octopussy, live and let fly and the spy who out fished me.

and his advice is spot on!

hungry6
21-07-2014, 05:18 PM
His name's Bond... Wayne Bond... Master of the Cat!

Starred in films such as Octopussy, live and let fly and the spy who out fished me.

and his advice is spot on!

LOL, and WTF!!!

I have adequate knowledge of these thing.
Your being abit humble there Pete.
Hilta1 Pete is your man if you are getting one and want to set it up properly. The man is a walking encyclopaedia on Cats.
Oh, my last name isn't Henning. Love the boats, not too many kind words for the man in question.

hilta1
21-07-2014, 09:03 PM
Thanks for your help mate, where is grand man based??? I need him to fill me in on everthing I need to know!! I will watch my pms with anticipation! All the info I can get would be appreciated, I don't want to miss anything off when I order the new one. Cheers Mark

Grand_Marlin
23-07-2014, 09:37 PM
Feel free to give me a call, my number's in the book!

hilta1
23-07-2014, 10:22 PM
Will do thanks mate. cheers