PDA

View Full Version : Help with drift anchor

brett62
18-06-2014, 09:14 AM
I want to purchase a drift anchor to suit a Whittley cruisemaster 7m which is a heavy boat and have been looking at the Para Anchors. They recommend a number 4 on their web site but wonder if a number 7 would be more suited.

Any recommendations on what would be best as I have never used a drift anchor before.

Also where to purchase in SE QLD.

scottar
18-06-2014, 09:34 AM
A 4 will work. A 7 will work better. I would just check on line with all the usual suspects - Bias, Whitworths etc or check with your prefered marine retailer.

thump-a
18-06-2014, 09:55 AM
I use a 'AIR SOCK" I replaced from Townsville airport a long time ago. It works great as a drift anchor.
My biggest problem is my canopy ; it is the full length of my boat it catches the wind [ breeze ].Great for summer fishing in Townsville.

You've probably heard it before "BIGGER IS BETTER"

Cheers
Graham

scottar
18-06-2014, 12:39 PM
I use a 'AIR SOCK" I replaced from Townsville airport a long time ago. It works great as a drift anchor.
My biggest problem is my canopy ; it is the full length of my boat it catches the wind [ breeze ].Great for summer fishing in Townsville.

You've probably heard it before "BIGGER IS BETTER"

Cheers
Graham

Just so long as your not using runway lights for nav lights as well Graham or when that 747 tries to land on your canopy, as big as it is, it will probably be a bit short one end.LOL. Smart thinking by the way - saved yourself a few bucks.

brett62
18-06-2014, 01:53 PM
Thanks people.

I will go with the "7".

I have only fished a few times down here since arriving from up north and have found the current to really get going.

Tried a little drift fishing just west of Moreton the other day as you would have needed a small car as a sinker to hold bottom if you anchored. I think I was drifting faster than the boat travels with the motor running.