PDA

View Full Version : Heaps of water in boat back at ramp

Hacky123
24-05-2014, 07:17 PM
Hi there I own a 2008 Formosa 520 centre console with a 90hp Suzuki 4 stroke fitted.

Today when arriving back at the ramp at Spinnaker Sound I pulled the bungs as usual & had at least 20 - 30 litres of water come out. This is the first time this has occurred but I used the live bait tank pump about three times today (haven't used it much before). Could the pump be leaking or is it normal for a bit of water to build up in the hull from the pump?

I'm fairly new to boating & I'm a little worried that I might have a crack in the hull or something?? Any advice much appreciated!

Cheers
Hacky

scottar
24-05-2014, 07:47 PM
Could be anything from a leaky bung to a leaky pump/hose to a pin hole or crack. Have a good look over the hull from the outside and see if you can find anything of concern. Check the Orings on your bungs, the surface that they seal against and the condition of the sealant and rivets that hold them in the back of the boat. Check any other fittings that go through the hull below the water line. Check the bait tank itself and any fittings/lines for it.

If you cant see anything obvious you have two options. You can put the bungs in and part fill the hull and look for water getting out. Be careful about adding too much though as you may do damage to the hull or trailer. The other is to put it back in the water and have a good hunt around while using the bait pump. It may even be worth removing floor panels etc before you go to the ramp to make this process easier.

Hacky123
24-05-2014, 08:02 PM
Thanks a lot Scott I'll start at the obvious point with the bungs & go from there

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

fishychrissy
25-05-2014, 10:11 AM
Hi Hacky,
I took my boat out for the maiden voyage on Friday and noticed water leaking into the bilge from the drain hole of my plumbed bait tank.
Not a steady stream but you could notice it running into the bilge.