PDA

View Full Version : braid and rod tips

39NESP
05-05-2014, 07:29 PM
hi all
having trouble with the braid cutting into the tips on my rods is there a fix for this
cheers snap

Moonlighter
05-05-2014, 07:35 PM
Yep. Get better quality tips.

SiC silicon carbide tips will easily do the job.

Rodman
06-05-2014, 01:01 PM
Agree cheap is not always the best in this case

Ken

tunaticer
06-05-2014, 05:39 PM
Plus do not get into the habit of winding lures, sinkers or swivels up to touch the tip like so many people do.
Every time you do that you run the risk of cracking the inner guide ring.
SIC or Cermet guides will avoid any gouging wear.

overdraft
06-05-2014, 06:17 PM
Plus do not get into the habit of winding lures, sinkers or swivels up to touch the tip like so many people do.

Very true with cheap guides but if you have quality guides you will not have this problems I have been running swivels through the guides for the past 5 years on the same rods with no problems.

Danny

Dignity
06-05-2014, 06:19 PM
When I have to lend rods to guests on my boat I make sure there is a soft lumo bead in front of the swivel, stops the problem but the soft ones are getting harder to find lately.

chris69
07-05-2014, 11:51 PM
Just get a Hardloy or Alconite tip top.

Dignity
08-05-2014, 01:42 AM
I'm not going to fix it if it not broke, also the sound of swivels going through runners is a bit like fingernails on a chalkboard

RayLamp
08-05-2014, 09:22 AM
Why do it the expensive way and replace tips? Why not just go an interline rod!!!

lbger
08-05-2014, 12:40 PM
Replace a tip or buy a new rod.. am i missing something there..lol. interline rods are good for one thing (sort of) storing your bait jigs...

bowds13
08-05-2014, 01:14 PM
May aswell go full roller guides if you are going to buy a new rod each time you damage a tip

Dignity
08-05-2014, 05:44 PM
or not damage them, has the finesse gone out of fishing

lbger
09-05-2014, 09:54 AM