View Full Version : 5 mtr plate alloy flat pack build.

cwcarter
22-04-2014, 04:58 PM
Hey all,

Thought I'd post a link for my flat pack build I have started for anyone interested in going that way.
I'm more then happy to answer any questions or help out if needed.

I've chosen to build a CNC Marine kit. I was considering other kits but a few design features gave it the thumbs up. It's quite large for a 5 mtr and the service from Steve at CNC Marine has been great.

Only early days but so far the kit has been a breeze to put together and very satisfying seeing it take shape. Lots more work to do!!

Here's the link. http://craigsboatbuild.blogspot.com.au

Moonlighter
22-04-2014, 06:57 PM
Looking great Craig! You've already got quite a bit done, look forward to updates as she progresses.

what power is going on the stern?

Dan5
22-04-2014, 10:23 PM
Looks good mate coming together nicely...........hey is that an R&T or something like that single phase pulse?.........If so great little machines I helped a mate set his up a couple of years ago top little machines for single phase.

LoungeLizard
23-04-2014, 06:58 AM
Just curious ... if that much force is required to "fit" all the bits together won't that create issues later with stress cracks? I've got no clue about this stuff.

cwcarter
23-04-2014, 12:41 PM
Thanks guys.
Most likely a 90-100 4st Moonlighter. As for which brand? unsure yet....more research to be done. Looking at trailers at the moment.

Yes Dan that's the T&R machine. I agree top little machine.

Hi Loungelizard. That questions abit out of my scope to answer but Im sure it would be addressed in the engineers design consideration.

Craig.

cwcarter
25-04-2014, 06:44 PM
Found this trailer that I like. Redco RS560-MO. Rated to 1500kg.
About $4500 drive away here in Rocky. What do you guys think? Any better about.

Dan5
25-04-2014, 09:15 PM
Needs more center rollers IMO......heaps more.

mad matt
25-04-2014, 09:29 PM
What sort of coin for the kit ? Cheers looks good so far!

lee8sec
26-04-2014, 07:31 AM
Looks great.

26-04-2014, 08:29 AM
Seeing as you have all the gear, why don't you build a custom Aluminium trailer? Pretty simple to make a full no roller, cradle style trailer that fits your boat exactly and be just how you want it.

26-04-2014, 08:31 AM
Just to add something, it is a lot easier to build a one off custom trailer than it is to make a trailer that needs to be adjustable to be able to fit any boat ever made!

BigE
26-04-2014, 09:36 AM
Had a couple of redco sportmans in my time .... excellent trailer for the money never had any issues with them, first one was over ten yrs old when i got it and when i got my next boat the frist thing I did was order another one. Got an alloy one now and would buy another redco sportman if I needed to change. Alloy is easy to look after but just doesn't sit behind the car on the highway like the redco, the alloy just feels nervous and I never relax.

BigE

cwcarter
26-04-2014, 10:37 AM
Needs more center rollers IMO......heaps more.

Yeah mate tend to agree..... be good to have a big ladder of rollers down the centre. Waiting for a few more quotes to come in for that style but they look expensive.

cwcarter
26-04-2014, 10:40 AM
Thanks BigE and lee8sec.

cwcarter
26-04-2014, 10:46 AM
Seeing as you have all the gear, why don't you build a custom Aluminium trailer? Pretty simple to make a full no roller, cradle style trailer that fits your boat exactly and be just how you want it.

Was looking this way but I'm already out of space. This boat is only getting bigger and I need to move more stuff out.

Craig.

cwcarter
26-04-2014, 10:52 AM
What sort of coin for the kit ? Cheers looks good so far!
Thanks Matt. Costing is at the start of the blog.

-Craig

cwcarter
14-05-2014, 02:32 PM
Completed my bait board yesterday. Only have to do a few things to it like the drains and fit a cutting board. Full build pics are on the blog site. http://craigsboatbuild.blogspot.com.au/2014/03/bait-board.html

14-05-2014, 04:33 PM
CW

Boat is looking great, good work. How many boats have you built?

Mayfair make good trailers both the Redco and the Tinka with a few more rollers
My Tinka is 15yr old and still in excellent condition but I use a 912 and dont drown it to load and unload the Vag.

cwcarter
14-05-2014, 06:18 PM
CW

Boat is looking great, good work. How many boats have you built?

Mayfair make good trailers both the Redco and the Tinka with a few more rollers
My Tinka is 15yr old and still in excellent condition but I use a 912 and dont drown it to load and unload the Vag.

Hi Chimo, thanks mate.
This is my first boat build and it will be my second boat. Ive only been involved in boats for the past 3 years and learning as I go. First boat was fix up job and thats when I started welding.
Its been good fun so far.
Still up in the air about trailers, Mackay and Easy loader look good but for a price. I keep coming back to the Dunbier glider series or the redco.

-Craig

14-05-2014, 07:08 PM

Great build and interesting to cf to Steve with his cat.

Suggest you check how much of the trailers you are interested in has come here from for eg PRC.

Had a Mackay for 9 years and even after sea dunking doing beach launching with a fresh wash / dunk after (ie days after) it was still in very good condition. Dairy farmers do build good trailers tho.

cwcarter
19-05-2014, 12:53 PM
Found these guys from Vic - Savage Trailers. Cant find much feedback info on them. The trailers are well priced and quality looks good as far as I can see.
Anyone got one?

Mackay Trailers were also priced well but freight killed the deal.

A pic of the Savage trailer. This one is a 5.8 1400kg at $3837. Looks good.
Freight from Vic to central QLD would be about $800 I think, which would still be under the price for a 5.3 dunbier glider.

5.3 Dunbier glider $4780.

MyWay
19-05-2014, 11:04 PM
did you look this one
http://www.seatrailqld.com.au/al54.html

cwcarter
20-05-2014, 10:09 AM
Hi MyWay,
I have checked these out in person, and as reports suggest through various forums the gal is bad quality and the bolts rust quickly.

Craig.

fisho64
20-05-2014, 11:55 PM
I reckon you'd find that the galvanising is done by a specialist mob, so likely any other trailer builder in the area would use the exact same company.

cwcarter
21-05-2014, 11:38 AM
I reckon you'd find that the galvanising is done by a specialist mob, so likely any other trailer builder in the area would use the exact same company.

Hi fisho64,
Seatrail trailers are a Chinese import assembled in Australia. There's a few others about also, all similar in price and looks.

21-05-2014, 11:54 AM
CW

There are some things IMHO its worth trying to save money on; a boat trailer that you need to last given what you dunk it in, to be safe on the road, to be be easy to load and unload from is very low on that list.

Go the quality route like Mayfair (Tinka or Redco) or Mackay rather than the cheap poorly galvanized ones.

Again IMHO spend a little more for peace of mind and avoid the excitement of things stuffing up on the road.

Spoken by a GOM who only likes excitement controlled by me!

cwcarter
21-05-2014, 02:33 PM
CW

There are some things IMHO its worth trying to save money on; a boat trailer that you need to last given what you dunk it in, to be safe on the road, to be be easy to load and unload from is very low on that list.

Go the quality route like Mayfair (Tinka or Redco) or Mackay rather than the cheap poorly galvanized ones.

Again IMHO spend a little more for peace of mind and avoid the excitement of things stuffing up on the road.

Spoken by a GOM who only likes excitement controlled by me!

Definitely agree Chimo.

I've just pushed up my trailer budget big time. I'm in negotiations with Mackay/Savage at the moment to see what they can do for a tandem.
The single axle trailer search wasn't working......my boats just too fat.

Moonlighter
21-05-2014, 03:54 PM
Dunbier do, or at least did, a wide version of their single axle trailer. I had one under by previous JBS 4.75 plate cuddy.

You might have to phone them though, as I am not sure it is listed on their website.

The other option of course is to have one built to your requirements, eg FMS trailers. They do a decent trailer and will, as I understand it, build it to whatever standard you want them to.

21-05-2014, 04:05 PM
CW

How do these look?

By the way you never did say what weight you are expecting the fuelled, iced boat to be? Maybe you do need a tandem?

C
C

MLJ4750-13-M

More information (http://www.mackaytrailers.com/boat-trailers/) regarding this model
http://www.mackaytrailers.com/images/specials/mlj47-13-m-180w.jpg (http://www.mackaytrailers.com/images/specials/mlj47-13-m-800w.jpg)

Suits 4.7m to 5.2m Boats
C-channel ML Series Keel Roller (MLKR)
Trailer provides drive-on ability.
Full ladder of keel rollers.
Lateral guide-ons with side wobble rollers for ease of launch and retrieval -
Configured to suit either fibreglass or aluminium boats.
Extras include polished alloy rims, silver plastic guards, solid "V" guides
Two available - 1 X 13" and 1 X 14" at $3919

5.2 metres

17 feet
Chelsea Heights
Vic
$3535
2 only

AMLKR5000-13-M

More information (http://www.mackaytrailers.com/boat-trailers/ml-series) regarding this model
http://www.mackaytrailers.com/images/specials/amlkr5000-14-m-180w.jpg (http://www.mackaytrailers.com/images/specials/amlkr5000-14-m-800w.jpg)

Mackay Multi-Link Series Trailer.
Suits Aluminium Boats 5.0m - 5.4m.
Keel roller support and side wobble rollers.
Single Axle 13" with Mechanical cable Brakes.
LED lights and side Lights.
1340kgs GVM
Discounted Price Normally RRP $4649.00

5.5 metres

18 feet
Chelsea Heights
VIC
$3739
1 only

cwcarter
21-05-2014, 05:56 PM
Yeah Chimo they were the Mackay ones I was looking at.

I was speaking with the engineer last night and this boat with motor and fuel would weigh approx. 1100kg. I was working on 900kg but that's not the case. So by the time I add any accessories it would be too close to the GVM of a single axle for comfort.
So budget has jumped up to $6000 and Mackay and Savage both have what I want.

Thinking about the weight....propulsion may have to go up as well.:):) New 115 yammy maybe..

Moonlighter
21-05-2014, 07:47 PM
CW

My 5.5 plate Surtees with 115 Suzuki, full tank of fuel and light-med load of gear weighs just under x1200kg including the trailer, i pit it over theweigh bridge so I know that is correct.

Based on that, I would doubt if your BMT combination would weigh any more than that fully loaded. A single axle trailer rated 1400-1500kg should easily cover your needs.

cwcarter
22-05-2014, 08:59 AM
Hi Moonlighter,

Just checked your specs on Surtees site....nice boats by the way, lots of innovative simple ideas there.
Comparing Surtees specs to what I have, mine would defiantly be heavier. Being an overly larger boat and made from thicker plate.

Heres a pic showing size with the surtees having a 90 suzuki and the cnc kit with a 115.

scottar
22-05-2014, 09:37 AM
Platey's can be deceptively heavy once you start talking 5 mil bottoms etc. Mate of mine has just built a 6 metre. With a 150 Zuk, Batteries and 140 litres of fuel on the trailer - About 1840 Kgs on the weighbridge. Start adding fishing and diving gear and your over 2T in no time. If you are going to tow the thing on holidays and use it as a bit of a trailer as such for camping gear and the likes, having the extra capacity over the single is a great idea.

cwcarter
05-06-2014, 03:48 PM
Up to full weld out stage. All is coming together pretty easy.

http://craigsboatbuild.blogspot.com.au/

bobbyb
05-06-2014, 06:43 PM
hi cw, looks good. try this out.......http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/strathpine/trailers/aluminium-boat-trailer-tandem-axle-2000kg/1048301285

Nicko_Cairns
05-06-2014, 07:16 PM
Looking good Craig, what was the kit price like, how much in materials so you think you'll spend roughly?

One Day
05-06-2014, 08:58 PM
Mate impressive stuff, I take my hat off to you! Nice work through out.

cwcarter
06-06-2014, 04:23 PM
Thanks Guys.

Nicko - pricing is on the blog site, haven't worked out the materials yet but will be updating what I've used Later on. So far its been only welding consumables-flap discs, sand paper, gas, wire, tips and acid for the etching.

Did the bow spit today. Did mine different to the original plans.

cwcarter
11-09-2014, 07:37 PM
Just an update on what I ended up trailer wise.

After getting quotes back from most of the builders, (some well known company's didn't even reply) I ended up with a Mackay.

Mark from Mackay Multi-link was easy to deal with and always kept me updated. Other company's were a pain having to deal with the dealers only. Just couldn't get what I wanted.

The trailer I received is a drive on c-channel tandem rated to 2000kg and custom built to fit my boat. The finish is the best I've come across and price per feature list out weighed everything else.

Hers a few pics
http://craigsboatbuild.blogspot.com.au/

cwcarter
02-11-2014, 07:38 PM
Quite a bit done over the past month. Getting close to being flipped over to finish the bottoms.

There's a heap of new pics on the blog site. http://craigsboatbuild.blogspot.com.au/

cwcarter
04-11-2014, 09:51 AM
Sorting out the mounting for the Bennett tabs. Looking forward to using these with the auto control!!!

I have quite a few small jobs like this to sort out before I can close the floor in.
Next is the through hull plumbing for the deck wash and bait tank. Unsure of where to put this as yet.
Also received my Dolphin T-top yesterday, so now I can beef up the floor for the mounting points.

All these small jobs seem to take quite a bit of time and head scratching.

cwcarter
08-11-2014, 06:51 PM
Trim tab mounts all welded on.