View Full Version : Punt or Explorer for Creek, River & Dam Fishing

Parrot_King
25-03-2014, 04:33 PM
Hi All,

I recently bought a 8foot poly boat but found the floor to flimsy and have since then been looking at getting either a 3 metre quintrex john punt or 2.5 metre quintrex explorer and using it as a car topper in the back of my Hilux tray.

I will mainly be fishing in small creeks and dams with an occasional river with a total of 2 persons on board with a small amount of gear and we wouldn't be venturing to far from the ramp.

I will be using a 44lb water-snake with a deep cycle battery as well as an outboard. Would I be better going 2 stroke or 4 stroke? I would like to keep the outboard 4hp or under to avoid registration but ideally would want a 6hp but I don't think an extra 2hp would do that much anyway.

If anyone can suggest which above boat and motor configuration would work the best that would be very helpful.

Any info you can provide would be great.

Richo1
25-03-2014, 05:03 PM
Explorer is a great boat, had one for 14years( 3.75m ) I'd go the 4stroke motor as well.

Parrot_King
25-03-2014, 05:12 PM
Thanks Richo 1

Aren't the 4 stroke motors gutless?

rayken1938
25-03-2014, 05:18 PM
4stroke opens up wivenhoe and lenthalls and any other dams that seq water may open up to motorised craft.The explorer will be very tender but better in a chop my personal choice would be the john with more room and more stability.
Best way would be to see if you could cadge a ride in both and compare.
4hp is 4 hp no matter whether 4 or 2 stroke.
Ray

Richo1
25-03-2014, 05:18 PM
Haven't tried the smaller models, have got a 40 4 stroke and love it - fuel savings are significant and super quiet - great for trolling & if you need to rest the electric. Mine hss just as much guts ad my mates 40 2 stroke.
Wivenhoe Dam is now 4 stroke only and reckon other dams will go that way in the future - no facts just gut feeling.

oldie
25-03-2014, 06:21 PM
the 250 is literally a bath tub

aussiebasser
25-03-2014, 07:42 PM
I wouldn't be buying a 250 explorer or a 3 metre Jon punt as a fishing boat for the lakes. Save your money and buy an older 12 footer. At least you'll live to enjoy the experience.

Crocodile
25-03-2014, 07:58 PM
Hello Parrot-King,

consider a Canadian canoe with an outrigger.
I had a 16 foot Rosco canadian with an outrigger made from 90mm PVC pipe + 2.3hp Evinrude.
Much better than a punt, roomier, lighter to carry, more stable, did about six knots with 2.3hp.
Your electric would have stacks of power.
A bonus is that you can paddle it and be silent if you wish.
Have a look at this page;
http://www.roscocanoes.com.au/ACCESSORIES/Product%20Parent/Canoe%20Outrigger%20Kits%20-264.aspx
scroll down a bit.

Parrot_King
25-03-2014, 09:04 PM
Thanks all for the responses. So whst size and brand boat can you suggest for fishing dams and creeks? Would like to hear your feedback

Axl
26-03-2014, 05:55 AM
I have an old Stessl 3.4m V nosed punt with a 4 h/p 2 stroke Merc that I cart around on top of my camper trailer for the creeks and dams, it does the job. Its actually more stable with two people in it ie: me and the missus, rather than just me.

Parrot_King
26-03-2014, 10:06 AM
Thanks Axl,

What is the weight of the Stessl 3.4m punt? what soze motor do you use?

Axl
26-03-2014, 09:26 PM
Thanks Axl,

What is the weight of the Stessl 3.4m punt? what soze motor do you use?

Mate its an old hull around 12yrs or so I think so it is quite heavy compared to the more modern hulls at around the 70kg mark, but I can get it on and of the camper trailer by myself no worries even easier with the missus helping.

I use a 4 h/p 2 stroke Mercury on it and whilst it is noisy, vibrates alot and doesn't propel it along at a great rate of knots it sure beats rowing;)

Parrot_King
30-03-2014, 01:12 AM
Thanjs axl.

I am leaning towsrds the explorer because it will in my tray without any issues and it looks very solid