View Full Version : Fishing injury

rexwatto
23-03-2014, 07:32 AM
This is what happens when you haven't knocked a Spanish on the head enough times and try to get your lure out ....http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/03/23/a4ury4y2.jpghttp://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/03/23/yruqe8up.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

NArmstrong
23-03-2014, 07:48 AM
Ouch! Looks like he caught you?

jackamundi
23-03-2014, 07:58 AM
Ouch! Must remember to give them one more whack for good luck! Is it out of your hand yet? Jackamundi

rexwatto
23-03-2014, 08:50 AM
Haha, will definitely give them another hit in the future. Had the hook removed yesterday

23-03-2014, 09:05 AM
Hope you have had a tetanus shot?

While your at it get whooping cough shot at the same time as its a combined shot and the WC wears off after 5 or 10 years.

Did you give a test strip to the ants to see if you could eat the fish?

rexwatto
23-03-2014, 03:15 PM
Yea Chimo - I got the tetanus/whooping cough combo

24-03-2014, 07:37 AM
damn sissy QLD fisho's a New South Welshman would have left it in and let it rust away, or cut it out with the bait knife!!!

24-03-2014, 07:38 AM
Nah, second thoughts.... OUCH!

Russ B
24-03-2014, 08:59 AM
I did the same thing at Moreton Island last year. ended up driving back from the island with the hook firmly lodged in the finger with the point under the finger nail. The young fella almost passed out when he saw it so was of no assistance driving the boat or car. Its not a great feeling having a hook hanging out of you like that. Looks painfull.

scorpo92
24-03-2014, 09:05 AM
Get some longer pliers haha. My hands dont go near their mouth after I saw my mate slip and slice his fingers to the bone on their teeth. Best macky lure out you got there though

grave41
27-03-2014, 07:01 PM
Man thats ugly shows how easy accidents happen . get back out there and flog the next one just in case.

Spin
27-03-2014, 08:15 PM
I would never put my hand near a crazy fish either bull shark
well not next time anyway

sharkymark2
27-03-2014, 10:19 PM
geez Louise makes you cringe at the risks we take fishing. But nothing ventured nothing gained.

lethal
27-03-2014, 11:15 PM
hmmm.... reminds me of fishing for marlin with Mates Rates last year with an inch laceration down his hand from a 10/0 and a ripping a green marlin in the boat.
i also got a ganged 5/0 through the achilles from a solid king on another occasion. think i strangled it to death trying to stop it from flapping around and ripping it out.

Lancair
28-03-2014, 07:08 AM
OUCH!

I wish I had taken some pics 2 weeks ago. Out fishing with a mate, he landed a Mahi Mahi, removed the hook, cut its throat with the recently sharpened bait knife and dropped the fish in the bleed out box. Stood up and turned around to re-bait his hook and kicked the knife he'd left on the floor, against the side of the boat, driving the point about an inch into his heel. Breaking out the first aid kit, he washed the wound with a saline wash, put an absorbent pad on his heel and wrapped a pressure bandage around his foot, followed by some grey duct tape he had in his bag. Then stood up and fished on for another 2 hours. He ended up with 4 stitches in his heel.

gruntahunta
28-03-2014, 07:15 AM
Good Ol Halco Laser Pro...are they the best lure ever?

Crunchy
28-03-2014, 08:30 AM
Ripped a trebble out of my finger backwards and made a hell of a mess, heaps of blood all over me, a bloke going passed comes over to see if I was OK, he felt sorry for me so he gave me a wahoo LOL

cuzzamundi
28-03-2014, 12:14 PM
How did the docs extract the barbed section? Was there a bit of surgery involved, or just the good old piece of string and bending the shaft trick?

Cuzza

Volvo
28-03-2014, 12:16 PM
Ouch n feel your pain!!!, had simmillar happen to me with a 10/0 Gammy...

rexwatto
28-03-2014, 02:02 PM
A bloke at the boat ramp was kind enough to cut the lure off me with my pliers. The. It was a 2 hr wait in Ballina hospital, had a hit of local and the doc pushed the hook all the way through. That local is amazing stuff - pain was 0/10

hungry6
28-03-2014, 05:28 PM
So the moral of the story is, remove the middle treble and then you can hang on the lure with gusto and give it to the fish.

fishychrissy
30-03-2014, 09:14 PM
Ended up with a gaff in me arm a couple of months ago after a solo retrieval attempt on a crab pot in choppy weather went pear-shaped, lucky for me it had no barb...the missus got up me for not getting it stitched lol!

rexwatto
31-03-2014, 07:17 AM
Oh man - a gaff in the arm trumps a hook in the finger!