View Full Version : Caught a nice Spanish yesterday...should I eat it?

rexwatto
23-03-2014, 07:29 AM
Caught this fella trolling a qantas coloured laser pro outside Evans Head, NSW. Any other year I'd happily eat him, but have heard reports of ciguatera poisoning at Gold Coast recently.

I didn't weigh this one - Is it big enough to worry about getting crook?http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/03/23/a4upa7ag.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Nicko_Cairns
23-03-2014, 09:28 AM
Ciguatera is generally from the bigger fish, that's a great eating size, bona petit.

If in doubt though have a small piece as per this web page and if symptoms show then throw out that fish or give it to you in-laws 😉

http://www.health.qld.gov.au/ph/Documents/ehu/19397.pdf

Birdy
23-03-2014, 09:30 AM
Rex ,

There is really no way of telling unless you know a bio lab with the right gear.
Try a bit one night and go from there . Of the thousands of Spanish caught and eaten this season from pros and recs there has been less than 10 cases confirmed . Long odds that fish has it .

Birdy

Jsmfun
23-03-2014, 09:32 AM
that size should be fine i would not eat anything over 10kg

Jsmfun
23-03-2014, 10:06 AM
that size should be fine i would not eat anything over 10kg

Volvo
23-03-2014, 11:12 AM
Give a bit to your Moggie or your neighbours Moggie n if it starts wobbling about in the hind legs its either been run over or its Fish poisening :)!!??..

Volvo
23-03-2014, 11:13 AM
Only joking lol :) , mate that size mack will be very nice chewing.. I have halfe a dozen pieces about same size in the fridge i plan frying up tonight or tomorrow..

Dogtoooth
23-03-2014, 11:39 AM
They are the best eating size , just limit your portion sizes when bigger fish are caught 18kg+. Dogtoooth.

bazza65
23-03-2014, 04:20 PM
Read in the Sunday Mail today people in Nth Qld got ciquatera with fish from a takeaway.

rexwatto
23-03-2014, 09:28 PM
Cheers for the info gents - will give it a go

Lancair
24-03-2014, 06:46 AM
Yeah eat it! Ive caught (off Ballina) and eaten several under 10kg's in the last two weeks.

jmwarner
24-03-2014, 07:21 AM
Eat a small portion and give it a day. If you feel fine go for it

rexwatto
25-03-2014, 07:56 AM
Ate two pieces last night.....

I'm still alive!

jmwarner
25-03-2014, 08:38 AM
Not worth giving to the in laws then haha

25-03-2014, 11:20 AM
Reckon you're Ok to eat it.

17 people in Townsville where affected by Cigga poisioning last week. They bought Crumbed Spanish mackerel from local fish & chip shop.

Assuming it was from a large Spano.

Personally, my upper limit is 12kgs... that's not a big fish, but plenty of fillets :)

cheers LP