View Full Version : First boat - advice?

BobsYourUncle
20-03-2014, 10:47 AM
Hi guys,

Long time lurker here. My wife and I are looking to get a small (14-15 foot) boat for fishing here in Adelaide. We haven't owned a boat before, so I'm trying to do as much research as possible before going to look at/test drive anything. It will usually be just the 2 of us, but we'd like to have space for 4.

We're looking at things like:
http://www.yamahapitmansmarine.com.au/boats2/Used_Boatsview.asp?ID=1962
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Yalta-Craft-fishing-boat-/161248110349?pt=AU_Boats&hash=item258b22e70d&_uhb=1
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/sellicks-beach/motorboats-powerboats/tasman-sportscraft-14ft-fibreglass/1035873721
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/stockwell/motorboats-powerboats/15ft-easyrider-runabout/1041697981
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/plympton/motorboats-powerboats/-clark-runabout-14ft-evinrude-48hp-aluminium-fishing-boat-/1041601769

Anyone have any thoughts on the above boats? We'll be paying someone to have a good look over any boat before we hand over cash, but we need to know exactly what we're after before we get to that point.

How much power do we need? What about fuel tank size (although I know you can upgrade or add extra tanks to above-deck setups)? Are there particular brands or types that you'd recommend?

We don't want to spend more than $10k, and around $8k would be preferred (not including insurance, rego, etc).

Thanks for any input!

20-03-2014, 11:04 AM
Hi BYU

You haven't said where you are going to use the boat or what your going to do in it so I'll assume your thinking Murray or other similar sheltered waters.

Also not sure if your ever intending to camp on the boat overnight but if you are the Tasman with the cabin has some potential. With an infill and some curtains on the windows and a mossi net dropped to the floor from the screen you could have a bite free night and keep dry too. I don't like ant bites so I always chose to sleep in the boat if out and about when I was in your neck of the woods.

If you intending to fish in the sea you might want some more freeboard that the Tasman appears to offer but probably hard to guage from the pics.

Not going into motors etc as don't really know what your planning but suffice to say that whatever you buy should be on the basis of having your marine tech in mind to service it. Having such a person check over what your considering can be useful too as they don't want to get stuck servicing a lemon and long term happy customers are similar to gold.

BobsYourUncle
20-03-2014, 11:33 AM
Thanks for the input. We'll be doing more (inshore) sea fishing than river, and don't intend to camp in the boat.

We're lucky in that Adelaide metro waters are pretty calm compared to the east coast (I used to live on the Gold Coast), but still I figure sea = rougher = more power needed?

20-03-2014, 11:36 AM
More power needed only works on a bigger boat. Too much speed on a small boat makes for an uncomfortable ride and a sore back.

Rodman
20-03-2014, 12:00 PM
M8 U need to weigh up the following points.
1. Your health meaning are U psychically able to launch and retrieve your boat by your self
2. Can U physically pull start a two stroke or 4 stroke then buy a 4 stroke electric start
3. What type of fishing U and your wife are going to do off shore or estuary

Hope this May help

BGG
20-03-2014, 12:39 PM
I've given this advice previously and it comes from years of experience. Buy a rig with the newest and most reliable motor you can afford. It may not tick all theboxes but the quickest way to put you and your wife off boating is to have a failureon the water. Also, with little or no experience, I'd steer clear of glass boats. They can bedamaged quiet easily if you don't know what you are doing.

20-03-2014, 01:15 PM
But on the other hand a small glass boat with a reasonable sized motor will give a lot softer ride than a tinny with a similar sized motor.

SAFisherman
20-03-2014, 01:22 PM
Hi guys,

Long time lurker here. My wife and I are looking to get a small (14-15 foot) boat for fishing here in Adelaide. We haven't owned a boat before, so I'm trying to do as much research as possible before going to look at/test drive anything. It will usually be just the 2 of us, but we'd like to have space for 4.

We're looking at things like:
http://www.yamahapitmansmarine.com.au/boats2/Used_Boatsview.asp?ID=1962
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Yalta-Craft-fishing-boat-/161248110349?pt=AU_Boats&hash=item258b22e70d&_uhb=1
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/sellicks-beach/motorboats-powerboats/tasman-sportscraft-14ft-fibreglass/1035873721
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/stockwell/motorboats-powerboats/15ft-easyrider-runabout/1041697981
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/plympton/motorboats-powerboats/-clark-runabout-14ft-evinrude-48hp-aluminium-fishing-boat-/1041601769

Anyone have any thoughts on the above boats? We'll be paying someone to have a good look over any boat before we hand over cash, but we need to know exactly what we're after before we get to that point.

How much power do we need? What about fuel tank size (although I know you can upgrade or add extra tanks to above-deck setups)? Are there particular brands or types that you'd recommend?

We don't want to spend more than $10k, and around $8k would be preferred (not including insurance, rego, etc).

Thanks for any input!

Hi There

I just ordered a Barcrusher 615 from Pacific Marine and have me old rig for sale

The boat is 2003 Savage Gannet 435 WB runnerabout with a 40hp 2 stroke Merc.
I bought this package new from sports marine.
Boat has canopy, 2 bait boards, all safety gear, sounder, gps, roller trailer.
No rust on trailer.
Engine has done 130hrs.
Comes with all original books and service history.
Excellent package which has served me well for the last ten years.

Will pass any inspection

$10000 Firm

Give me a call if your interested 0412 711 794

gr hilly
20-03-2014, 03:51 PM
I like the idea of a brand new motor so try to find a good boat with a crap motor and now you will feel safe and get home,you can buy a good new tinny 4.2 with a 30 hp motor and trailer for $7500.00 a good start for you with a warranty,
cheers Hilly.

BobsYourUncle
21-03-2014, 08:07 AM
Thanks for the advice everyone.

The wife's pretty set on having at least some cover from the elements. But Chimo is right in that the Tasman (http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/sellicks-beach/motorboats-powerboats/tasman-sportscraft-14ft-fibreglass/1035873721) might sacrifice a bit too much rear space (but yes, it is hard to tell from photos, would need to look in person).

Something like the yalta on ebay (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/161248110349?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649) looks like a good compromise - not sure on the engine though - says it's been serviced, but would have to get a mechanic to have a look.

Otherwise something like this - http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/clare/motorboats-powerboats/15-ft-fibreglass-boat/1039608618 - new engine, and hull has been reconditioned - although should the fact that it needed work be a concern?

I'm undecided (to the point of having no strong preference) about glass vs aluminium. Both have their advantages.

gr hilly
21-03-2014, 09:02 AM
Get the motor checked out.don,t forget you cant get out and walk.
Hilly

21-03-2014, 02:06 PM
Your wife sounds like a smart lady (wants cover).

In time you will be educated by your wife that there is a difference between the impact of the hard ride on some body parts in a tinny vs a much softer ride in a glass boat. Be warned!

Nicko_Cairns
21-03-2014, 03:46 PM
I've given this advice previously and it comes from years of experience. Buy a rig with the newest and most reliable motor you can afford. It may not tick all theboxes but the quickest way to put you and your wife off boating is to have a failureon the water. Also, with little or no experience, I'd steer clear of glass boats. They can bedamaged quiet easily if you don't know what you are doing.

mate a lot of people bag them for some reason but I've got a 4.8m polycraft centre console, it's been a great little boat. Mine has a 75hp eTec on the back with a 75hp motor, get fantastic fuel economy and on a nice day I regularly go out more than 20nm. very nice riding boat (i have a back injury), heavy boat though in terms of getting it on the trailer, so get a drive on/off trailer and practice a lot when no-one is at the ramp, otherwise you'll get fit/strong winding that bad boy on.

Polys are great to learn on too, you can run into things (slowly) without worrying about the damage as much as you would with a glass boat and rides much much better than a tinny. also if you drop a sinker you can just find it later, no worrys with electolysis or whatever it is tinny owners have to worry about.

after you're an expert at running into things buy yourself a glass boat then if you want to upgrade into a more serious offshore boat, or a plate alloy.

Cheers and happy hunting, completely agree about get the newest motor you can. Definitely have someone test the motor for you rather than buying it blind.

BobsYourUncle
28-03-2014, 09:51 AM
I'm back.

We're going to look at some more boats this weekend, and I've got a question about power.

We're pretty much settled on a cuddy cabin style hull (mainly to keep the wife happy ;)), although we're still looking at a couple of more open designs.

I'm confused about how much power we need (planned use is inshore sea fishing, Adelaide metro waters).

On one hand, this haines signature has a 50hp mariner, which is right in the middle of the 40hp - 60hp hull rating.
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/munno-para/motorboats-powerboats/haines-signature-1550/1041226193

On the other hand, some boats are advertised with quite a bit more power, like this one with a 115hp 2 stroke, which must be getting pretty close to the max hp/weight rating for the hull (I've seen the same hull advertised with a 60hp previously).
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/salisbury-plain/motorboats-powerboats/yalta-craft-5-o-cuddy-cabin/1042416940

I know that in general higher power = better speed & acceleration, but there are important reasons for not going to high in power/weight.

So I guess the question is, how much power do you need on a 15 foot fibreglass boat in calm inshore waters? Is the 50hp on the haines going to be disappointing (otherwise looks like a nice boat)?

28-03-2014, 10:10 AM
More HP means you can operate at less revs ie motors sweet spots and is therefore more economical ie less fuel than a harder working smaller motor.

Floating Rib
28-03-2014, 09:12 PM
Horsepower number on the back isnt the be all end all, engine setup e.g. height on transom, weight distribution in boat , how it trims whilst moving, prop choice will all have a bearing on how the boat performs with that particular horsepower, imop i think in the middle of the horsepower rating and set up well should be adequate. i would say the haines above is underpowered and the yalta overpowered especially with the weight of that older donk on the back . Glass boats of 20+ years may need a good look for softness in the flooring and transom, look for one thats had them replaced competantly as some of the older hulls are great ie, cruisecraft rogue, seafarer V sea, little Pride and Caribean half cabs, should be some out there that have had the repairs done and a repower in recent years, my 2 bobs, good luck.

ozynorts
28-03-2014, 09:43 PM
As far as a hull goes this boat is one, according to Jeff Webster, is one of the best small hulls ever made in Australia.
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=15004531&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=0&eapi=2
With all these older boats get them fully checked out before stumping up the cash.
This is another legendary Haines hull.
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=16125804&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=1&eapi=2

29-03-2014, 07:59 AM
As far as a hull goes this boat is one, according to Jeff Webster, is one of the best small hulls ever made in Australia.
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=15004531&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=0&eapi=2

I have a V146C and they are very comfortable boats for 2 people. You would need to put a bimini top on that one, and I would be a bit concerned about the age of that outboard. You might be able to negotiate to a much newer outboard with the seller, or keep an eye out for others (and other similar style boats). They regularly come up for under $8000 fully fitted out.

BobsYourUncle
29-03-2014, 11:27 AM
This is great info, thanks guys. And thanks to those who pm'ed as well. Lots of boats to look at, not easy, is it?

What about this? Stretching the budget at the advertised price, but pretty new engine, boat and trailer both looked pretty well looked after?
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/ottoway/motorboats-powerboats/15-5ft-stejcraft-half-cabin-70hp-2003-yamaha-with-90hrs/1042666870

29-03-2014, 12:26 PM
This is great info, thanks guys. And thanks to those who pm'ed as well. Lots of boats to look at, not easy, is it?

What about this? Stretching the budget at the advertised price, but pretty new engine, boat and trailer both looked pretty well looked after?
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/ottoway/motorboats-powerboats/15-5ft-stejcraft-half-cabin-70hp-2003-yamaha-with-90hrs/1042666870

I reckon that is a good bargain. There are a lot of extras there that would cost you money otherwise. If you are keen, get it checked out thoroughly regardless of receipts - boat, motor and trailer. If all is good you shouldn't have to spend anything. Get the current owner to agree to take you for a run also to explain how it all works and how to use it. Lots to learn when you are new to boating!

BobsYourUncle
29-03-2014, 04:31 PM
And I suppose if I'm increasing the budget to look at that last one, this might be worth a look too? http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=16027458&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=75&eapi=2

Floating Rib
29-03-2014, 07:39 PM
Little seafarer looks nice, Cruisecraft had a very similar model (same vintage cuddy cab eg:
http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Boats-and-Marine/Power-Boats-/Cruise-Craft-166-Reef-Raider-Cuddy-Cab/Rosebud/VIC/AdNumber=TP005600315
these are a nice lttle hull as well)these have some age on them, a mate is on his third V Sea after selling for various reasons other than the boat itself and gets another each time, most would need some floor/transom work unles they are extraordinary examples, guys have been crossing coastal bars in these for donkeys quite safe little boats, i think the haines mentioned above are also nice but imop were a little narrower than these above, great travelling boats but maybe a little less stable at rest. As the guys are saying there is a huge emphasis on getting a good donk as your budget is dead and buried if you need to re-power or repair in the near future.

Si
29-03-2014, 08:43 PM

That looks like a good boat motor package your after.