View Full Version : Haines 146/445 (another one)

markhenery
24-02-2014, 01:23 PM
Hey guys long time reader first time poster.

have been toying with the idea for a few months now to get a new boat. Was originally going to get a new 4.3-4.8 ally open and build it how I want (centre/side console) with a big casting deck with lots of storage and live well. After months of looking I decided it was to big of an outlay to just tear the boat to pieces to build what I want.

have decided to buy an old haines to rebuild from ground up, either a 133 or 146 and was after any info people have on either type of build. I'm a carpenter and have done a bit of glass/paint work before so I'm not too worried.

have found a 133 for around $750 on a rooted trailer and a 146 for around $1k on a fair trailer.

i know it will be a long process with lots of work but I think it's the only option I have to get exactly what I want for under 10k.

any info would be greatly appreciated (have read all I could find on here) but I'm hoping people that have done this have photos or other info I could get.

any comments/ideas welcome

Bremic
24-02-2014, 02:37 PM
Here is one to start you off

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?137109-haines-445r-f-conversion-is-under-way-Updates-regularly

markhenery
24-02-2014, 02:47 PM
thanks mate, already read up on that one haha.

upstart
24-02-2014, 06:32 PM
I would go with the 146. The 133 is a very small boat and the 146 would be more versatile due to the larger size.

rodneyk
24-02-2014, 06:44 PM
Ditto to what upstart said 146 bigger better stronger faster

Adam_G
24-02-2014, 07:13 PM
good luck. Stay focused, don't give up and you will knock over a rebuild in 6 months or less. Go the 146 or 445.

ozynorts
24-02-2014, 08:02 PM
You are a carpenter mate so what about building one from scratch?
http://www.bowdidgemarinedesigns.com/Bowdidge_Marine_Designs_1/Sea_Strike_16.html
This is an awesome design.
When you factor in the time taken to pull the old boat apart you could have the new one half built and you can customise things to exactly how you want.

markhenery
24-02-2014, 08:43 PM
You are a carpenter mate so what about building one from scratch?
http://www.bowdidgemarinedesigns.com/Bowdidge_Marine_Designs_1/Sea_Strike_16.html
This is an awesome design.
When you factor in the time taken to pull the old boat apart you could have the new one half built and you can customise things to exactly how you want.

Hey mate like the idea but don't have the space for this

Hey mate

ozynorts
24-02-2014, 08:51 PM
Hey mate like the idea but don't have the space for this

Hey mate

No probs mate. Just figured it would not take more space than what you would need for the Haines project but may be wrong.

Nathan Tuskes
24-02-2014, 09:00 PM
awesome stuff! heres mine if u havent seeen it http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?170494-Haines-146-rebuild/page7
and a couple of more recent pics getting used
so far its serving me well as multipurpose:
been on fraser and over to wathumba and up to roonies and further,
raby bay to tangas and the beacons
southport to mermaid/palmbeach
bribie passage out and around to Mooloolaba
and all the other fanging around the pin and goldy canals etc

http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc253/gunlurefisho/fastonthemove.jpg (http://s213.photobucket.com/user/gunlurefisho/media/fastonthemove.jpg.html)http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc253/gunlurefisho/fraserboatsand.jpg (http://s213.photobucket.com/user/gunlurefisho/media/fraserboatsand.jpg.html)
http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc253/gunlurefisho/Mobile%20Uploads/IMAG0565_1.jpg (http://s213.photobucket.com/user/gunlurefisho/media/Mobile%20Uploads/IMAG0565_1.jpg.html)
v

let me know if u need any info regards the 146/445

markhenery
24-02-2014, 09:35 PM
I reckon I've read over your build at least 50 times, if you don't mind me asking what was the rough cost of the glass/ply and such part of the build

Crocodile
25-02-2014, 08:07 AM
Hello to all,

here's another slant on doing up an old boat.
Often the trailer and the motor are junk so you are up for a new trailer and motor.
Why not buy a new Jackaroo 445.

http://jackarooboats.com.au/550-anglercat/
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dkbju_8ly0c

To repair an old boat will use up ???? hours of dirty and expensive work with a dubious re-sale value.
You need to value your spare time at zero $/hour for it to make any financial sense.
If you are doing it because you want to or that boat has good memories, that is good too, but do a serious financial plan first.
Many people may not want to read this but I think that it needs to be said.
PS. I have no interest or affiliation with Jackaroo boats, just using them as an example.

Nathan Tuskes
25-02-2014, 03:39 PM
Including cost of the initial purchase price and getting the boat to being fully wired up excluding electric motor and sounder around 8k for finished hull only.. give or take few hundred here and there..over 2 years i dxdnt even notice it outta my pocket....yeah like said above if your looking to do this as a financialy viable project it's not going to happen. Imo..but to me I couldn't find a boat that had a top speed of 80k, fibreglass deep vee and only.4.5ish m long, rod lockers and livewell

matt fraser
26-02-2014, 09:34 AM
The 146/445 would be the way to go, you could power it with as low as a 60hp if you want. Or go nuts like Nathan and go a 115hp.

Very good hull, very capable and versatile for its size. The V133 is pretty small and limited, and not a very stable fishing platform.

You have to weigh up a few factors with a big project - time V money are the big ones, resale value is another. You need a dedicated shed (more than just one bay). Everything in the shed will be coated in glass dust. It will probably take 6 months to 2 years if you are single, double that if you have kids. You will make a lot of noise, and dust and fumes, which will piss off the neighbours, no matter how well you get along with them. It will cost about twice as much as you might expect, but over a long time, it doesn't hurt the hip pocket too much. However, trailer, motor and fitout will cost the same as a new boat. You are only saving on hull costs.

The pros charge a bit for custom glass work, but in my opinion, they earn every cent. There are a few out there who do this sort of work. I would honestly look at getting a jackeroo 445 hull and then getting them, or someone else to customise it for you. Take out a loan if you have to, you will have it paid off by the time you finish the project, and you will have many, many, many weekends fishing or doing things you want to be doing, and not sweating it out in a shed, itching and cursing. The resale value will also be higher if the job is done professionally.

Most of us guys who start these projects, get proffessional help at some stage. Some get in too deep and realise it is beyond their capability, and it either gets handed over to a pro, or it gets ditched on gumtree.

Just trying to spell out the reality of a project boat. On the upside, the guys like Jeffo, Nathan and Archer and a few others who get the job over the line, and have done a great job - it is so good to see them enjoying the fruits of their labour.

Good luck!

Bremic
26-02-2014, 09:37 AM
Have you seen the one listed in the classifieds?

stevej
26-02-2014, 05:05 PM
one tip is a decent work area away from the house, the wife will hate you for ever if you do in a garage attached to the house :)