View Full Version : New Bonito 5.6 Build to start soon !

Fish Face
29-01-2014, 07:22 PM
Well I finally convinced the good women to let me "invest" in a new boat. ;D Its taken some time (and a few well timed gifts etc) but I got the official OK and wasted no time in getting down to chat with the guys at Bonito. They had a couple of boats on the floor (1 centre console and 1 tiller) at different build levels so I was able to have a good look at all stages. I was very impressed with the quality of build and attention to detail and the guys were very helpful. I've owned a few boats, and have done a lot of looking around. For my money, this is the boat for me. Not keen on another spine smashing tinnie, looking forward to a much smoother ride especially as I'll be doing a bit of offshore fishing. Anyway, they should be starting mine in a week or two, so I'll get as many photos as I can during all stages and post some up (when I figure out how)... Cheers, FF...

Fish Face
03-02-2014, 05:08 PM
Spoke to the guys today and they're on track to start my hull this week. They've just got to finish the one they're on and its all systems go ! Can't wait to see it start taking shape....

Fish Face
08-02-2014, 05:58 PM
The guys got my boat started yesterday. Very pleased. They said they would get pictures of the complete build for me, step by step, and true to word, I got to load some of the pics from their camera this morning. So here's the first step.... After the mould is prepared, cleaned and waxed, the gelcoat is sprayed on to a thickness of about 1mm thick (approx) I chose a plain white hull. I reckon it will lookhttp://rs780.pbsrc.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/20140130_074932_zps68225cd3.jpg~c200?t=1391839222 better for longer and show up less dirt and scratches. I'll save any colour for the stripes and stickers...Its a very "busy" hull below the water line. Explains why it handles so well...http://rs780.pbsrc.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/20140130_074958_zpsc3fb50de.jpg~c200?t=1391839248 Can't get that in a tinnie !

Schulzy
08-02-2014, 07:31 PM
Looks great mate! Be interesting to compare it against a Galeforce.

Fish Face
08-02-2014, 07:54 PM
Yea thanks mate... Apparently the Gale force is actually a flop (copy) of the original Bonito. But Bonito has been well improved since then.

Cat Man
09-02-2014, 12:05 PM
Yea thanks mate... Apparently the Gale force is actually a flop (copy) of the original Bonito. But Bonito has been well improved since then.

All true. I know the guys that build the Bonito and it's much improved and well built. Enjoy.

SandStorm
10-02-2014, 10:23 AM
I'm looking forward to seeing this boat in progress are you getting a CC or tiller steer, cheers..

Fish Face
10-02-2014, 06:35 PM
Hey SandStorm. At this stage, I'm getting a tiller steer. But to be honest, I'm pretty tempted on the centre console. Only a few more $'s. I've got at least a couple of weeks to change my mind so we'll wait and see !

hellfish
10-02-2014, 09:44 PM
G' day fish face, if you go the tiller option what motor ya gonna put on it?

Fish Face
11-02-2014, 06:03 PM
G'day hellfish. I'm Looking at putting a Suzuki 115 4 stroke on it. I went for a ride in one with a 130 Etec on the back and it hammered along. More than needed in my opinion. The 115 should be a nice match...

hellfish
11-02-2014, 08:14 PM
Yeah that should be an awesome set up. Love the reaction ya get when ya go into a boat shop and ask for an outboard of that size in tiller.

PeterKroll
11-02-2014, 08:54 PM
This surprises the hell out of me. I would have thought that with an outboard that size, you'd need arms of steel to keep the thing in a straight line. Must be hellish heavy to turn as well. No wheel to hang onto, either.

What's the advantage (apart from more fishing room)?

hellfish
11-02-2014, 09:42 PM
Yep thats the reaction. The advantage in my opinion is being able to steer, control throttle, trim n tilt with one hand so you still have the other free to hold on with, steering and throttle reactions can be made way quicker, no cables to run to the center or front of the boat. With the hydraulic assisted tiller systems avalable now there is no limit to how big you can go.

chris69
12-02-2014, 12:54 AM
Wow a 115 on 5.6mt tiller steer,there must be some beam in the boat at the transom.

Fish Face
12-02-2014, 06:33 AM
That's right hellfish. I've had a few tillers and I also appreciate the softer ride you get from sitting aft. I know the commercial crabbers in Moreton bay use a number of these boats with up to 130's in all conditions and they swear by them. Hopefully get down to the shed this arvo to see the progress and grab some more photos...Cheers...FF

Fish Face
12-02-2014, 06:22 PM
PeterKroll... I initially thought much the same thing. But I went out for a test run in the tiller with a 130 etec without even a steering damper and it was a pleasure to drive. Very well behaved.... So I got down to the factory this arv and was pleased to see the hull is finished. The main lay up that is. Its still up on stands, and the stringers are yet to go in. It will slow down a bit now as they are to start the deck soon and need to get the boats on the floor done. http://rs780.pbsrc.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/20140131_070513_zps23bc10a7.jpg~c200http://rs780.pbsrc.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/20140203_080231_zpsaf2253c8.jpg~c200 These are pics of the first layer done and the second being laminated. There are three layers in all. The first (tie lay) is thin and the other two are thicker, containing double bias glass. Super strong.... Any way. A fair way to go yet. The waiting is killing me.....FF

SandStorm
15-02-2014, 12:51 AM
Thanks for the update Fish face, how thick do you expect the hull to be in the end? I love tiller steers, although only small my little dinghy with 10hp tiller steer was my favorite boat, there is in my opinion no better control

Fish Face
16-02-2014, 12:59 PM
Hey SandStorm. Yes I agree, I do love handling a good tiller steer. The guys in the factory have showed me cut outs of their hulls and in the base they are approx 12mm plus and in the sides a bit less. Thicker of course in the over laps down the keel and chines etc. A good solid boat.

SandStorm
16-02-2014, 07:51 PM
Hey SandStorm. Yes I agrdon't seeI do love handling a good tiller steer. The guys in the factory have showed me cut outs of their hulls and in the base they are approx 12mm plus and in the sides a bit less. Thicker of course in the over laps down the keel and chines etc. A good solid boat.

Will you have a stainless keel band fitted? they dont seem that popular down under, but over here they seem to be a must, they really save your hull

Fish Face
17-02-2014, 04:50 PM
Yea I sure will. Not only do they offer great protection to the hull, they look pretty sweet too...

Fish Face
19-02-2014, 07:09 PM
Went down to the factory this afternoon. Couldn't help myself! The deck will be started next week and will only take a couple of days to lay up. The hull should come down off the stands this week ready for the transom and fibreglass stringers to be glassed in. I'll get some photo's when this happens. Still deciding on whether to go tiller or centre console. Their new deck for the centre console looks great. Two huge bait tanks... Happy days...FF

SandStorm
19-02-2014, 07:40 PM
Nice look forward to seeing new pics

Fish Face
24-02-2014, 05:43 PM
Well, there's been a little bit more progress down at the Bonito factory. They haven't started my deck yet, but the hull is down on the floor and the Coosa transom pad and fibreglass stringer system is in. Looks pretty bloody good in my opinion ! And not a bit of timber anywhere... http://i780.photobucket.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/3dc186ce-c30b-4d8c-9a4f-605ff0292868_zps89396936.jpg http://i780.photobucket.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/bonito031_zpse28397e2.jpg

24-02-2014, 06:27 PM
Hi FishFace

Better decide pretty quickly if its a centre consol or they wont get the pvc tubes laid to carry controls etc.

Like the look of the frp stringers too. Do they make provision for underfloor drainage from bow to stern and sides to centre?

Fish Face
24-02-2014, 06:46 PM
Hey Chimo. Yes we spoke about that. I am leaning towards a tiller but the guys said they would lay the pipe with pull thru's anyway. That way if I decide to "upgrade" to a centre console later, its no drama. And there is drainage from bow to stern but not sides to centre. Bit unnecessary probably...FF

Fish Face
28-02-2014, 06:29 PM
Evening all. Haven't got much progress to show on my boat this week so I thought I'd show some shots of the other boats on the go.. They're making my deck next week so I'll get some pics of it then. http://i780.photobucket.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/1392419738569_zps51a00e7b.jpg?t=1393571722 How's that for a good looking electric mount...

Fish Face
28-02-2014, 06:30 PM
http://i780.photobucket.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/1392432292136_zps54447857.jpg?t=1393571797

Fish Face
28-02-2014, 06:34 PM
Nice and tidy for a tiller...
http://i780.photobucket.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/bonito058_zps0a2e276b.jpg?t=1393574441 http://i780.photobucket.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/bonito062_zps877780bc.jpg?t=1393573600

Fish Face
28-02-2014, 06:42 PM
http://i780.photobucket.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/bonito065_zps03d96094.jpg?t=1393573533 Love this control panel for the tiller... Note the recess and 360' swing out arm for the sounder... Very flash !

SandStorm
12-03-2014, 09:38 PM
Anymore developments mate?

Fish Face
13-03-2014, 07:14 PM
Hey SS. Mate, been a bit snowed under the last couple of weeks. I only got down to see how things are going on Monday. I've got no photos just now but they've got a bit done. My hull and deck are out of the moulds and all my components are made. Its funny how good the boats look when they're done compared to how they look before they're trimmed up. Should start going together next week. I'll grab some photo's over the weekend to post. Incidentally, there's a boat test on a Bonito in this months Queensland Fishing Monthly magazine. Reads up alright too. Back soon, FF...

Tracker
19-03-2014, 09:15 AM
picked it up yet??

Fish Face
19-03-2014, 05:01 PM
Ha ha, no not yet. Gonna have it ready for me in 2 weeks. Hull and deck are together and its starting to look like a boat at last. Will get down there this week and grab some photos. Getting my trailer and motor sorted at the moment. Its all happening ! FF

Tracker
20-03-2014, 04:36 PM
do they still do the 5mtr boat?

Fish Face
20-03-2014, 06:39 PM
Yea they still do a 5 metre.

Fish Face
24-03-2014, 05:43 PM
Got down to the factory today, at last, and its all happening. Hull is finished and the deck is made and all parts are done. I've decided to go for the centre console as the guys have just finished their new cc deck mould. 2 large bait tanks, full height coaming and the option of continuing the rear wall down to the floor. With a couple of hatches to allow access to dry storage. Looks the goods and as soon as I saw it my mind was (finally) made up ! I've got photos and will try to get them up later tonight, otherwise tomorrow...Happy Monday...FF

Tracker
24-03-2014, 07:08 PM
Got down to the factory today, at last, and its all happening. Hull is finished and the deck is made and all parts are done. I've decided to go for the centre console as the guys have just finished their new cc deck mould. 2 large bait tanks, full height coaming and the option of continuing the rear wall down to the floor. With a couple of hatches to allow access to dry storage. Looks the goods and as soon as I saw it my mind was (finally) made up ! I've got photos and will try to get them up later tonight, otherwise tomorrow...Happy Monday...FF

Had a look at it on Friday.Pretty neat.I will try and have a look when finished.

Fish Face
25-03-2014, 04:59 PM
Here's a few pics ( not of my boat ) of the new Centre console deck. Will get some up of mine asap.

Fish Face
25-03-2014, 05:06 PM
I've had to remove photo's due to technical errors.... ::)

Fish Face
25-03-2014, 05:10 PM
Photo's have been removed. Sorry.....

Tracker
26-03-2014, 03:00 PM
ff you got mail:)

Fish Face
30-03-2014, 04:18 PM
Evening all. Well after deciding on a cast deck, but not wanting anything too big, the guys said they could do me "half" a cast platform. Sounded ok and after looking at the mould and imagining it, I gave it a tentative go ahead. Very pleased with the outcome...

Here's the full size deck

And here's my half

Pretty bloody clever I reckon....FF

Tracker
30-03-2014, 07:50 PM
not enough room for all the fish;D

FisHard
30-03-2014, 09:17 PM
That's great mate. Plenty of handy storage under that!

Fish Face
31-03-2014, 06:53 PM
not enough room for all the fish;D

Ha Ha! That's not a problem I face too often....:-[

Fish Face
31-03-2014, 06:54 PM
That's great mate. Plenty of handy storage under that!

Yea there's loads under. Can never have enough I reckon...

Fish Face
09-04-2014, 07:11 PM
G'day G'day...My boats finished ! WooHoo ! Can't get down there till tomorrow to pick her up so will post some pics later this week. Getting the motor fitted Monday so first trip out next week. Can't blinking wait.... ;D

Fish Face
12-04-2014, 01:48 PM
Well here it is ! Stoked...

http://i780.photobucket.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/IMG_2283_zps693810a1.jpg

http://i780.photobucket.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/IMG_2282_zps9831be6e.jpg

http://i780.photobucket.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/IMG_2284_zps6d987997.jpg

http://i780.photobucket.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/IMG_2286_zpsdbc82ee1.jpg

http://i780.photobucket.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/IMG_2285_zpsd26e7a71.jpg

http://i780.photobucket.com/albums/yy84/mudjunkie13/IMG_2287_zpse9f9c3c3.jpg

Can't wait to get her wet ;D;D

propdinger
12-04-2014, 02:34 PM
Hey fish face what trailer did you put under it ?. And what size motor did you decide on?

Si
12-04-2014, 07:39 PM
woops! a little bit if jizz just came out. that looks awesome!

Fish Face
13-04-2014, 05:24 PM
Ha Ha.... Put it on a Seatrail trailer. Imported but had a good look at them and they look quite good. Bit cheaper and makes it look to the good women that I really do care about my budget ::) And went with a Suz 140...mmmm

stang69
14-04-2014, 01:54 PM
hey Fishface, nice looking boat. Have you got any photos of the transom? or do you know what the deadrise is at the transom?
Might have to check one of these out in person I think.

Fish Face
14-04-2014, 04:27 PM
Cheers mate. Don't have a pic of the transom but i'm pretty sure the dead rise is about 15'. Very stable boat.. FF

propdinger
20-04-2014, 10:25 PM
Hi fish face have you had it out if so how did she go ?
I seen you drive past me taking it to john for the motor hope he got it on before Easter break for you

Fish Face
22-04-2014, 05:35 PM
Yes I took it for a good run over the weekend. Absolutely stoked with how it went. Very impressed. Looking forward to testing it in some average weather off shore though. I'm sure that won't be long ! But by all accounts, it handled very well in the busy Broadwater / bay with all the Easter traffic. Got some blood in it too. No photo's yet but I will get some. Cheers, FF...

Darren Mc
25-04-2014, 09:19 AM
Hi Fish Face,
PM sent.

brenno360
07-11-2016, 05:58 PM
Hi there fish face, just doing some research into these boat, I love your build walk through, talk about getting yourself amped well before completion! Anyways bottom line is now that you have had it for 2 years do you still have it? Is it still amazing and is there anything you wish you did differently? Last one is how much the final cost was if you don't mind me asking?
Brenno