PDA

View Full Version : Pride cheetah transom anyone done one ?

Lsboyyy
28-01-2014, 10:37 AM
Hi my names lee , just wanting some advice I've done some searching on here and found some great info but not my specific boat , I have a pride cheetah and the ply floor has rotted out good from rear to around steering wheel (the stringers are all glass which is a bonus) , I've cut random patches of fibre glass out and most of the floor is gone , I also cut some transom fibre out , it's not rotten but absolutely soaked so won't be far behind I assume , I'm wondering has anyone done a floor transom fit out on one of these I have very little experience but nothing to loose as it ain't worth squat so I'm gunna give it a go , is the best way to take the top off the hull ? (But I know this has its consequences with warping ect ) As I can't see any other way as the rear section looks all one peice all info greatly appreciated
Lee

Lsboyyy
28-01-2014, 11:57 AM
I have seen videos of ppl making a cut a couple of feet from transom and just rejoining it but would this still be a strong option and it ends up looking pretty bad ???

Blackened
28-01-2014, 01:39 PM
G'day

That method you are talking about, is cutting trhe deck mold a few ft from the rear and removing it, will be just as strong as the original and how good it will look depends on how good your prep and color matching skills are.

Dave

Lsboyyy
28-01-2014, 02:06 PM
Thanks for the reply , my skills with fibre glass and wood aren't the best I've always been a metal kinda person but I'm still going to give it a crack , I've read plenty of threads on here now and get how to do the transom it's just rejoin the splash bath I think it's called ? Is the bit that concerns me , when u put it back together u just lay mat on the top rail of the boat , sand and repaint ? Doesn't seem that strong to me ?

Timbo1980
28-01-2014, 03:39 PM