View Full Version : Sunglasses - the best of the best

24-01-2014, 12:36 PM
Hi All

::) Yes , another sunglasses thread - but as someone who has owned most of the who's who of quality (so called quality) polarized glasses over the last 20 years ...... I'm interested in hearing of peoples opinions who have found a real step up from the usuals of Mako's , Spotter's , Serengeti's , bolle's and the likes where no one is really any better than the other.

Recently Maui Jims get a plug .... but how much better are they ? ...... is it hype started by Starlo

Costa Del Mar - are another ( limited styles)
Smith Optics out of the US are well regarded
Hi Def Spex have a following

or have the likes of Ray Ban , Oakley moved forward

Any others worth looking at - (obscure or not)

Sunglasses are a big investment ( & yes I do think it makes a difference) so the last thing I want is de laminations or coatings rub off - fittings that fall apart ..... which I have experienced time and time again
Quality optics are a must

So , looking forward to your responses ....... good or bad , but more importantly - why

lee8sec
24-01-2014, 01:26 PM
I got a pair of Tonic's. Very happy with them, eyes don't strain(or headache's) after wearing them all day, glass lens, photochromic. They also do prescription lens now. http://www.toniceyewear.com.au/ As for the best of the best, very subjective. Leigh

24-01-2014, 06:29 PM
I got a pair of Tonic's. Very happy with them, eyes don't strain(or headache's) after wearing them all day, glass lens, photochromic. They also do prescription lens now. http://www.toniceyewear.com.au/ As for the best of the best, very subjective. Leigh

Thanks Leigh

Yes it is subjective ....... but I'm sure there are a lot of other anglers out there who have owned multiple brands & models
Just like I said initially - IMO there is SFA difference between many of the well knowns / well subscribed - I wouldn't pick a mako over spotters or vice versa ..... serengett's were superb in glass lenses but delaminated in polycarb . - so that's the sort of thing that I'm after .

btw - I forgot to mention tonics ...... & if they were just the same as the spotter penetrator lenses.

24-01-2014, 07:40 PM
Ive got 4 pairs of sunnies these days. Spotters, Maui Jims, a no name brand with mag readers in a polarised glass and Tonics. I find myself reaching for the Tonics these days.
The Tonic colour is the same as the original spotters before they got the red tinged Penetrators and the lighter shade is far better than the penetrators.
I always buy glass lens sunnies, I just do not like polycarbs.

Mauis are good, ahead of the Spotters Penetrator simply because of the shade of the lens. I dont think they are as durable as the Spotters though.

The no name brand are also very good but the heaviest of the lot, weight doesn't worry me though. Having the reader in the glass lens is a real bonus, the reader is also tinted the same as the rest of the glass, not like the Fuglies etc.

I have been using the Tonics for about 6 months now and I am not looking for a better pair of sunnies yet.

2DKnBJ
24-01-2014, 08:46 PM
Nagg

If you want the best of the best get in touch with me.If you do a bit of a search on here you will see why i can state that.
I don't do data entry so i won't sit here and type out all the good and bad but after making lenses for 28 yrs i know what's good and what is not so good.

Cheers Dazza

24-01-2014, 09:00 PM
Ive got 4 pairs of sunnies these days. Spotters, Maui Jims, a no name brand with mag readers in a polarised glass and Tonics. I find myself reaching for the Tonics these days.
The Tonic colour is the same as the original spotters before they got the red tinged Penetrators and the lighter shade is far better than the penetrators.
I always buy glass lens sunnies, I just do not like polycarbs.

Mauis are good, ahead of the Spotters Penetrator simply because of the shade of the lens. I dont think they are as durable as the Spotters though.

The no name brand are also very good but the heaviest of the lot, weight doesn't worry me though. Having the reader in the glass lens is a real bonus, the reader is also tinted the same as the rest of the glass, not like the Fuglies etc.

I have been using the Tonics for about 6 months now and I am not looking for a better pair of sunnies yet.

thanks Tony

appreciate your input

I'll certainly have a look at the Tonics

It's interesting with the MJs - all the better looking models do look like they could fall apart
I'm still unsure on frame types - the heavier plastic ones (spotters , mako & my last pair of serengeti's) whilst the wrap around blocks out sunlight - it also blocks out peripheral vision.

Still_Dreamin
24-01-2014, 09:02 PM
Have had oakley, maui kind etc. I was short of cash last time I lost my sunnies so bought a pair of dirty dog from a sunglass clearance mob at Kedron. Very happy with them.

Rip it up
24-01-2014, 09:12 PM
Big vote for the Maui Jim. Have had the same pair for 3 years. Frames hinges everything works well. Excellent optics. I do a lot of sailing and watersports. These have never fallen off or been damaged. I use them 3-4 hours everyday. And they are comfortable.

Only downside I will admit is the mirror finish on the glass does rub off fairly easy. And maybe not as many designs as some other manufacturers.

I am about to send the glasses away for replacement lenses. Way cheaper then complete new glasses.
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/01/24/jugusyby.jpg
Here is a pic of the wife wearing them on a glacier in NZ. 18months ago.

Damo's dodgy boat building factory.

Dan5
24-01-2014, 09:25 PM
I have had most of them aswell.MJ,Mako,Spotter,Arnett etc all in glass and all too heavy for constant use IMO.......A couple of years ago I bought some Ray Ban's at a duty free store for about $150....they are Polycarbs and frameless.......and have copped a hiding as I wear them constantly.......they have just recently received their first annoying scratch they fell off and fell lens down onto the bitumen...ofcourse!Personaly i'll be trying to track down another pair hopefully i'll find some as they have been the best poloroid glasses I have owned........Dan

24-01-2014, 10:12 PM
Big vote for the Maui Jim. Have had the same pair for 3 years. Frames hinges everything works well. Excellent optics. I do a lot of sailing and watersports. These have never fallen off or been damaged. I use them 3-4 hours everyday. And they are comfortable.

Only downside I will admit is the mirror finish on the glass does rub off fairly easy. And maybe not as many designs as some other manufacturers.

I am about to send the glasses away for replacement lenses. Way cheaper then complete new glasses.
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/01/24/jugusyby.jpg
Here is a pic of the wife wearing them on a glacier in NZ. 18months ago.

Damo's dodgy boat building factory.

Thanks for that
Those mirror finishes like on the Oakleys (Iridiums) have always seemed to be pretty delicate - easily scratched ..... they are brilliant in high intensity / reflective light , like snow & sand .....
though I do see you can usually buy replacement lenses at a reasonable price.
Loved my old Frogskins (looked cool , comfortable) ..... but not the best fishing glasses

Nicko_Cairns
24-01-2014, 10:24 PM
I've tried them all, scratched and broken them all eventually. I liked my spotters and Maui Jim's but my recent sunnies have been poly carbs from the cancer council, about $40, good Polaroid and up there with the top players, and if I lose them it's not a big deal. Scratch resistance is going very well so far (8 months maybe?).

Nicko_Cairns
24-01-2014, 10:26 PM
I've tried them all, scratched and broken them all eventually. I liked my spotters and Maui Jim's but my recent sunnies have been poly carbs from the cancer council, about $40, good Polaroid and up there with the top players, and if I lose them it's not a big deal. Scratch resistance is going very well so far (8 months maybe?).

oh boat them initially for a spare driving set in the car, accidentally took them fishing/boating and keep taking them now. Spotters stay at home mostly.

Funchy
25-01-2014, 04:24 AM
I bought a pair of Arnett sunnies in USA in 2011. Cost $99 and I still wear them. I only wear them fishing but I do wear them most weekends. Good scratch resistance, light weight, not too dark or light. I can wear them all day and not even notice I am wearing them. They are still as good as new!! Highly recommend them

gruntahunta
25-01-2014, 07:25 AM
Uhfortunately, I need prescription sunnies and have had several....so I am commenting only on the frame here for you of course....the latest ones I have had are the best frames by a long shot.....they are Ray Bans, wrap around frameless with no nose piece...light, wear them all day no worries, not one issue to tell you about.

Sevric
25-01-2014, 07:41 AM
Like many others I have been on the sunglasses merry-go-round. My wife and I recently purchased another set of Spotters; we had used them in the past but had drifted away. The reason for going back were two new lenses that have become available in most of the frame styles. My wife chose the new "Nexus" lens which has a green tint and reflective material between layers of glass so it is supposed not to scratch off. These lenses let in heaps of light but no glare and would be great for sight fishing shallows as well as a myriad of general purpose applications, they are not Photochromic but are an excellent lens. I chose their new "Halide" lens which is similar to the old penetrator lens but much darker in colouration; still lets in heaps of light and is photochromic. Again this lens is great for many applications other than fishing. Our main use for them as far as fishing is concerned is a mixture of blue water and river, sight fishing is not a big thing for us but both will do an admirable job. These glasses have replaced our previous set of old Maui Jims which I have to say have been durable but the lens not as good as the new spotters in my opinion. As to wether the new spotters are durable only time will tell. There is so much to choose from these days it has become quite difficult to make a decision one way or the other. It does not seem that long ago that Sunglasses were only a fashion accessory but modern technology has made them into awesome fishing tools.

FisHard
25-01-2014, 10:24 AM
I've got the Spotters in Halide lens too. I find them great on very bright days, either driving the truck or on the water, but if the light is down a bit (overcast early morning etc) they can be too dark and I reach for my Penetrator lens.

scorpo92
25-01-2014, 11:38 AM

Yep they are pretty good. I dont bother with expensive ones now since I wrecked my makos while using a grinder. Cheap pol carb are hardy as

flymaster
26-01-2014, 12:05 PM
I've got an old pair of Stalkers thats done a heap of work, Spotters and now a set of Tonics in Bono poly lense. All of them are in the gold/copper colour. I think finding a frame shape to fit the face is paramount, it's a major pain to keep correcting ill fitting glasses.
Love the lightweight Tonics and find the Bonos fit sweetly, also noticed they don't fog up like the wrap around styles. The poly lenses are probably not as good as the glass models, but I know my next set will be there top shelf model. At $99 I'm not crying if they get wrecked.
Regards Nick

Midnight
27-01-2014, 10:32 AM
Maui Jim's for me.
Although I did try a pair of the new spotters with the Nexus lens recently, and they would be my go to for flats fishing, excellent definition and contrast. I don't like any lens that has colour change in it for billfish trolling though, so the Maui's still win there

PROS
27-01-2014, 03:30 PM
Had spotters for just under 12 months, frankly I wouldn't recommend spotters.
The lens started deliminating straight after couple of trips. The layers started peeling off gradually from outer parts of the lenses.
The problems just getting bigger and bigger from there on, currently I can only use about %70 of the lens area, ridiculous.

Bought it from the tackle shop at Sandgate.
Mentioned the problem to owner long time ago and he was helpful, he was to discuss it with a rep.
Left the glass with them this week, lets see what happens.

I would definitely use glass lenses next.
My previous rayban was the best of all although pricey.

fandtm666
27-01-2014, 03:46 PM
Uhfortunately, I need prescription sunnies and have had several....so I am commenting only on the frame here for you of course....the latest ones I have had are the best frames by a long shot.....they are Ray Bans, wrap around frameless with no nose piece...light, wear them all day no worries, not one issue to tell you about.

im in the same position needed prescription lens's and am very happy with the bolle frames i went with

had the lenses polarised - tinted to my choice and i live in them from the minute i leave home till i walk in the door after
never had an issue driving - fishing and just generally walking around.

Volvo
27-01-2014, 05:11 PM
Nagg

If you want the best of the best get in touch with me.If you do a bit of a search on here you will see why i can state that.
I don't do data entry so i won't sit here and type out all the good and bad but after making lenses for 28 yrs i know what's good and what is not so good.

Cheers Dazza
PM me for further info please mate..

27-01-2014, 06:53 PM
Great thread Nagg!

this thread is of interest to me because I am in the same boat. About 10 years ago now I had to see an eye specialist because I was getting migraines when out in the sun for long periods. It turns out that while my eyesight is better than 20/20 I have an over sensitivity to light and glare. So polarised lenses are a must.

I've had most of the brands mentioned except the Maui Jim's. All bar one brand ended in disaster the same way. Because of my eyes I've always got my sunnies on my head wether wearing them or not. Every brand except one style of Mako eventually went slack in the hinges and became so lose they end up falling off and scratching badly.

If anyone can suggest a frame style that had endured with tight hinges for a long time it would be greatly appreciated.

28-01-2014, 07:02 AM
That's the big trouble with sunglasses - try them on in a shop Vs real world ....... & the reality is - it's still hit and miss , roll the dice stuff - isn't it ?
In recent times I've had several (4) pairs of Serengeti's .... 2 fantastic (1 drivers , 1 fishing) , 1 pair delaminated (slightly ) before being lost & the last pair started to wear the coating on the inside of the lense - So it goes to show that you can't even go by brand.

Does any brand carry very good warranty (one which is honored ) ?

Mrs Ronnie H
28-01-2014, 10:12 AM
My Hubby bought my spotters for my birthday about five or six years ago now. No problems with them at all except the other day i noticed a small crack about 1 cm long in one lens. I always look after them and go straight in the case when I am not wearing them so am baffled to how this happened. Have never dropped or anything either. I have contacted spotters in regards to repairing them, waiting to hear back.
Apart from that love them.

Mrs H

28-01-2014, 11:15 AM
My Hubby bought my spotters for my birthday about five or six years ago now. No problems with them at all except the other day i noticed a small crack about 1 cm long in one lens. I always look after them and go straight in the case when I am not wearing them so am baffled to how this happened. Have never dropped or anything either. I have contacted spotters in regards to repairing them, waiting to hear back.
Apart from that love them.

Mrs H

Thanks for that

Spotters certainly have a following - It's like the step up when someone wants a decent pair of fishing sunglasses .
From my own experiences .... I've owned a few pairs now (still do) - while I cant really say anything bad about them .... for the nearly $280 asking price (glass lense) , I struggle with the value and so really do want to look at alternatives that maybe sharper , lighter frames ..... better all round . Spotters are priced at a top of the shelf rate (close to it) yet I've had better for cheaper - I personally feel they are over priced by about $100 - same goes for Mako's (certainly for plastic frames & springless hinges)

That's just my opinion

lbger
28-01-2014, 12:59 PM
Ive had spotters, makos, maui jims, and ive got a pair of these cheap looking glasses called fish (super lightweight with awesome lenses) still the later were $170.. anyway all the others i lost through bad luck and stupidity.. If i could have one pair back it would be the Maui's any day of the week...

Pazz01
28-01-2014, 02:28 PM
I have bought my spotters from BCF and a sunnies place here in cairns when they are on sale. Glass lenses for $220 is pretty good in my opinion. I'm onto my second pair that are now 2 years old and still in good nick. I'm chasing a pair of prescription ones not so I don't have to wear contacts all the time. I think I better sit down when I get the price for them.

Scubafish
28-01-2014, 02:52 PM
Serengetihttp://www.opticsplanet.com/eyewear-store.html

hangar
28-01-2014, 08:40 PM
im happy with my spotters 3 years and no probs

29-01-2014, 09:51 AM
Has anyone been using the latest offerings from Oakley ?
Whilst in the past they were more a fashion accessory - over the recent years they have put some serious effort into the sports market and have a fairly decent range .

sid_fishes
29-01-2014, 12:17 PM
for what its worth, you blokes should really have a chat to dazza [2DKnBJ ].
he really knows his stuff.
ive had several prs done by him and once i find a set of frames i like [to fit my helmet ] he,ll be doing a set of perscriptions for me

ian

hainsofast
29-01-2014, 02:30 PM
I have prescriptions, used to always go Rayban, never had a problem except one of the little arm screws rusting out from sweat (after 5 years) went to Oakelys last time, they are good, but not as good as the Ray Ban, may go back to them next time around

Micadogs
12-02-2014, 08:35 PM
I have always used Oakley. They are relatively cheap circa 100 from the USA for gas can model. Polarising is good, light weight and no metal in them ie no rusty springs or screws. I have bought the hijynx for normal driving and fashion. Gas cans has been my fishing ones. I change the lenses from grey polarised to iridium depending upon brightness. Iridium are too dark for everyday driving use and mostly use the grey polarised. They do scratch over time, especially if dropped on bitumen etc. fitting seems to be good, never dropped off or felt lose after a couple years of use even leaning over retrieving fish etc. sure there is better and worse out there and cheaper and more expensive etc. just my review on ones I have used daily for a few years. Onto my third pair of gas cans. (About 2 years of daily use and abuse per pair) Only had the hijynx for 3 months but not using those for fishing etc.

cheers Adam

Dogtoooth
05-03-2014, 11:00 AM
Spotter's, Crown glass Polarised, AUSTRALIAN MADE . Enough said.

05-03-2014, 12:07 PM
I've actually given the Smiths Optics a go ..... (evolve)
Now I'm normally a glass lense fan - but these were really light & while they block out light from the side quite well - they allow air to move arond them meaning that it is less likely to fog up & stay fogged up when wearing a buff .

They are pretty good to drive in as well

Time will tell

05-03-2014, 12:08 PM
I've actually given the Smiths Optics a go ..... (evolve)
Now I'm normally a glass lense fan - but these were really light & while they block out light from the side quite well - they allow air to move around them meaning that it is less likely to fog up & stay fogged up when wearing a buff .

They are pretty good to drive in as well

Time will tell

05-03-2014, 04:39 PM
Just thought I would pipe in here. I got a set of Gill sunnies as a prize when I won the winter series 3 years ago (yeah yeah, rag boat stuff) and they are still going strong today. Best boating sunnies I have ever owned, and I have been through a lot of them over the years. If I ever destroy the pair I have, I will be going back for another set.

Stressless
06-03-2014, 06:52 AM
Bought first pair of prescription spotters 4 years ago, had to get a slightly stronger script (my knots were getting fuzzy) so stuck with penetrator spotters, my next pair will be spotters. Same pair for driving and fishing.