View Full Version : Help with outboard selection

Howso77
22-01-2014, 06:28 PM

I am seriously considering a new Tabs Territory Pro 5000 side console and wanted to see if anyone out there has one of these, or experience with one and can tell me how they perform with the outboards they have. I am coming from a Trailcraft that was a bit underpowered so I don't want to get it wrong..

Specs on the Tabs are basically 5.15m overall length, hull weight approx 550kg with 110l fuel and motor would be 120-180kg somewhere. With esky, gear, 2-3 blokes I reckon 1.2t easy..

Boat is rated from 60-90hp with the 70hp Zuk favored by the dealer due to displacement (1500cc), lightweight and range with 110l tank.

Personally the 70hp seems only a small step up from my 60hp Merc on my Trailcraft which didn't have nearly the grunt for the weight of the hull (approx. 440kg plus fuel, gear, motor, etc to around 1T).

Any hands on experience would be appreciated.. The Zuk 70-90 are the same motor so presumably similar hole shot just different top end.

Thanks in advance

Howso

Moonlighter
22-01-2014, 07:24 PM
Get the 90 Suzuki. Great engine.

As you already know, they are the same block as the 70, just different setup/ECU mapping to get 90 hp.

From your experience with the Trailcraft, you already know the feeling of being underpowered.

I went thru a similar debate with my current boat, and eventually, my outboard dealer who is also a mate said to me:

"i have never had a customer come back to me when we have put max hp allowable on a boat and say 'gee I wish I didnt have so much horsepower', but i have had plenty who have said they would love some extra hp when we have gone mid-range".

Go max hp allowable. You wont regret it. There is no down side!

22-01-2014, 07:35 PM

Go max HP and secondly, look at all engines in the range, go for the biggest CC.

Eg, in the 70hp fourstroke bracket, the yamaha is HALF the displacement of the merc. crazy isn't it?

Then Weigh up allowable weights, features, dealer support etc...

Dan5
22-01-2014, 07:36 PM
90hp for sure......you can always go easy on the throttle.......underpowered will always be underpowered.....don't be left wondering........I thought they would have had up to 115hp rating actually .......Dan

Howso77
23-01-2014, 09:30 AM
Cheers Gents..

Yeah I am in agreement with you and will likely pursue the 90hp.. I did ask the questions about re-rating to 100/115hp (which in the Zuk is a 2L) but the answer was no..

I reviewed all the options with max allowable 90hp and the Suzuki still looks good due to the lighter weight and newer technology. For interest sake it loks like this..

Zuk 90hp - 155kg - 1502cc - 27amp - 5 year warranty
Yamaha 80hp - 170kg - 1596cc - 25amp - 4 year warranty
Merc 90hp - 181kg - 1732cc - 50amp - 3+2 year warranty
Honda - 163kg - 1496cc - 44amp - 5 year warranty

Has anyone had any experience with the Merc 90hp?

To be honest my first preference would still be the Suzuki but the Merc looks ok on paper.

Howso

Moonlighter
23-01-2014, 11:01 AM
The Merc is nearly 30kg heavier and when you see it, is actually a huge lump of a thing.

Go the new lean burn Zuke. No contest in this class, when looking at 4 strokes.

23-01-2014, 05:06 PM

I'm pretty sure i've heard on the grapevine that pretty soon most of the merc fourstroke line will be getting rejigged to become lightweight, much like the verado inspired 150 they had released last year or the year before that's getting rave reviews.

The suzy is still a good engine (I have the 70) but the thing i really don't like about it, is the power curve. The power curve is waaay to high in the rev range imo.

fisho8
25-01-2014, 02:26 PM
1 word Yamahardness haha they are a good motor sound good to. This is my 150.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hxcUa6qJPrM

fisho8
25-01-2014, 02:30 PM
This was my old Opti still like them better than the Merc 4 strokes. really god on fuel

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQhpGhJLn80

FisHard
25-01-2014, 03:07 PM
You're just teasing us Fisho, with this bad weather!!!

Lucky6
26-03-2014, 09:02 PM
Interested in your end decision - sent you a PM