View Full Version : If the sign on the bridge says no fishing then don't!

xxMothxx
13-01-2014, 06:57 PM
I've been out on the Nerang River that last two Saturday nights and both times there have been people fishing off the middle of the Bundall Rd bridge. On the last trip they managed to drop a 1/2oz 4/0 soft plastic onto the front casting deck just as I went under the bridge. It then promptly wrapped around all of the rods in the rod rack on the side of the console and ripped a guide off my custom G-Loomis rod. If the thing had been 30 cm to the right, rather than collecting the rods I would have enjoyed a 4/0 hook to the face.

Fillet`n`Release
13-01-2014, 07:06 PM
Sadly we have a similar issue on the Bribie Island bridge. There are clear signs, and yet we get people fishing from the bridge including over the navigation channel. We also get the delightful cast netters who dredge all the rocks and mud in their nets and dump it on the pedestrian walkway. People complain to police, council, and just get the run around as nobody wants to accept responsibility for enforcing the "No Fishing" sign.

youngy
13-01-2014, 07:48 PM
Unfortunately a common problem on the Coast, have spooled a couple of fishos on bridges while moving between whiting spots, cheers wayne

4x4frog
13-01-2014, 08:57 PM
Unfortunately a common problem on the Coast, have spooled a couple of fishos on bridges while moving between whiting spots, cheers wayne
That's the perfect solution Wayne

xxMothxx
13-01-2014, 09:02 PM
That's the perfect solution Wayne

Only problem is half the time you end up spooling them with your prop which means at least having to take it off or maybe a new gearbox seal.

youngy
14-01-2014, 02:15 PM
Just the thought of coping a hook in the face is the worry though, the last one was in my shirt, cheers wayne

nathank
14-01-2014, 05:17 PM
Not sure about up here but in NSW i used to fish a bridge with a no fishing sign on it.. There were next to no boats ever on that bit of the river in the little town i used to fish, Anyway one night a police car pulled up and asked if i was catching anything and we chatted for a bit. I asked him what the go was with the sign and he said that the DMR (dept of main roads) put it there and wasn't enforceable by anyone? Im sure though if there was crap left there all the time or ppl were getting hooked in boats surely someone would do something about it??

bennykenny
14-01-2014, 06:04 PM
crossed the jabaru Island bridge on the gold coast the other night and there was guys fishing from it, problem is that there is not much room between them and the cars they were fishing on the side without the walkway.

14-01-2014, 07:07 PM
I am pretty sure there is no fishing off ANY bridge in NSW, be it a road or rail bridge, whether there is signs or not, my local bridge (Windang) is a nightmare to drive under in your boat, walk over on the pedestrian path, even at times, dangerous to drive your car over without fear of getting flogged by a lure or sinker.

Triple
14-01-2014, 07:46 PM
And No jumping signs.. Gotta watch the kids jumping off the bridges for fun too.. Reckon I saved a kid of a life in a chair and big dents on someones deck on more than one occasion when boats coming under and kids about to jump without using a lookout down below.. Tallebudgera bridge is notorious for it.

goat boy
14-01-2014, 07:58 PM
When I lived at Kirra it was bad on the Tweed too, both the Boyds bay bridge and the pacific motorway overpass. Have run into lines on the pacific overpass at night, and had things thrown at me too.

NothinSuss
15-01-2014, 01:36 PM
Ease up you lot, not everyone can afford a boat, least they are fishing and not out stealing stuff. Everyone has the right to catch a feed on any water way, be it on land or by boat.

bennykenny
15-01-2014, 03:14 PM
Ease up you lot, not everyone can afford a boat, least they are fishing and not out stealing stuff. Everyone has the right to catch a feed on any water way, be it on land or by boat.

if a sign say no fishing then they don't have a right, not sure what your on about, but a little common sense goes a long way. ill look up and wave to you next time im going under a bridge.

xxMothxx
15-01-2014, 05:56 PM

So if you were playing a round of golf you wouldn't mind if someone decided to do a bit of roo shooting at the same time? After all everyone has the right to shoot a feed on any piece of land.

NothinSuss
16-01-2014, 07:27 AM
Righto then where did you fish as a kid, under a bridge, on a jetty. I know I spent heaps of time as a kid fishing land based, and like I said alot of people dont have a boat. To much of this country is being locked up by buearocratics, parks and wild life and the like. Just because you're on the water in your boat doesn't mean you have some right of way. Having a boat gives you a large range of options to access areas. To many signs up locking people out these days.

By the way I have three boats, and have shot roo's on a golf course ( with permission ) ( fire arms are a different ball game )

bennykenny
16-01-2014, 09:35 AM
yes under a bridge and on a jetty is not fishing from a bridge which is what this thread is about, maybe you should go and re read it.

NothinSuss
16-01-2014, 10:01 AM
Yeah or fishing from a bridge. I'd rather give way to a fellow fisher having a fish off a bridge, than someone on a public road on a push bike.

Yeah they should clean up after themselves, still reckon you need to ease up on fellow fisher trying to catch a feed.

Matthias
16-01-2014, 10:50 AM
I always fish off bridges and never had an issue with anyone in a boat because I use common sense. Its pretty simple. It becomes an issue when people have more than 1 rod out and can't wind their lines up in time (or just don't wind em up).

If ya don't like it then go jump...but not off any bridges cause you're not allowed to aye...

hainsofast
16-01-2014, 10:52 AM
Yeah or fishing from a bridge. I'd rather give way to a fellow fisher having a fish off a bridge, than someone on a public road on a push bike.

Yeah they should clean up after themselves, still reckon you need to ease up on fellow fisher trying to catch a feed.
here we go, another bloke with a chip on his shoulder that advocates running down cyclists, even the one fishing from the bridge is breaking the law and the cyclist isn't, I got a gopro on my bike for blokes like you mate.

NothinSuss
16-01-2014, 11:31 AM
hainsofast- When bike riders pay rego and insurance then you can bleet. Would never run down a cyclist mate, just annoyed you dont pay for the privilege to use the road and you think you own it.

sharkymark2
16-01-2014, 11:48 AM
Geez Louise who trod on your toes? We are all fishers and its fantastic that we are all out fishing but when we start to infringe upon our and others rights to enjoy free access then we need mediation. We all have rights but the authorities deem it safe and prudent to ban fishing on some structures. I am sure this website promotes safe fishing; and fishing off a bridge when the authorities have banned it is done for obvious reasons. How many times have you come into a boat pontoon to access the ramp and have to weave through the spider web of lines? I often have given these fishers a few fish that I could spare. We are kin not enemies. So nuthinsuss you need to get out fishing mate. Your carrying to heavy a load.

hainsofast
16-01-2014, 12:57 PM
hainsofast- When bike riders pay rego and insurance then you can bleet. Would never run down a cyclist mate, just annoyed you dont pay for the privilege to use the road and you think you own it.
what a stupid argument, I pay rego on two cars a boat and a trailer, when I do ride my bike I do less damage to the road and make more room on the road (I always use bike tracks) going to get your kids to pay rego???

thelump
16-01-2014, 01:13 PM

Not one for obeying rules or signs eh? We can only hope you come across one that says " STOP. Road Ends. Steep Drop "

hainsofast
16-01-2014, 01:18 PM
Y still reckon you need to ease up on fellow fisher trying to catch a feed.
by that logic we shouldn't worry about upping the white bucket brigade with heaps of undersized fish, I mean, it is against the law, but hey they are just trying to catch a feed.

NothinSuss
16-01-2014, 04:09 PM
Got a couple of ripper bites there. Anyway.. Glad I dont live where you blokes live, sounds like theres a rule for everything !!

You enjoy your bridge and your go pro, I'll enjoy my uninhabited 1000km of coastline and bush.

nathank
17-01-2014, 01:11 PM
All this crap about ppl fishing off bridges? really?? you guys cant be serious surely....I have some awesome memories as a kid fishing off bridges. Ppl that don't lift there lines up or throw lures at you etc.. Would be a minority of scum bags.. The other thing, someone post up the law that says you aren't allowed to fish off bridges and also the dept that enforces it.. If you want to see the white bucket brigade with undersize fish go have a look off the sandpumping jetty at night. Not everyone is lucky enough to own a boat and for some its the best option..
I dont know the exact rules but like i said i actually spoke to a police officer about it in NSW and he basically said its not against the law at all.

Shawn 66
17-01-2014, 01:30 PM
All this crap about ppl fishing off bridges? really?? you guys cant be serious surely....I have some awesome memories as a kid fishing off bridges. Ppl that don't lift there lines up or throw lures at you etc.. Would be a minority of scum bags.. The other thing, someone post up the law that says you aren't allowed to fish off bridges and also the dept that enforces it.. If you want to see the white bucket brigade with undersize fish go have a look off the sandpumping jetty at night. Not everyone is lucky enough to own a boat and for some its the best option..
I dont know the exact rules but like i said i actually spoke to a police officer about it in NSW and he basically said its not against the law at all.
Maybe instead of the wording in the highlighted sentence , you could replace it with " Not everyone is lucky enough to have worked their arse's off to afford a boat "
Shawn

cqfreshie
17-01-2014, 01:34 PM
I can understand why some fish of the bridges on the Goldie ... all of those canals and they're all someone's back yard, or patio in some cases, with no land access for anyone else to enjoy it.

gruntahunta
17-01-2014, 01:49 PM
Ok I intended to leave this thread alone buttttttt...... What are your thought on people fishing off the Pontoons at boat ramps, no signs to say fishing prohibited...I do not have a problem with fishing off them, infact I use my cast net off it occassionally to get live herring for bait....I do have a problem with the one bloke that yelled abuse at me for running over his line tho...he must have been at the toilet and left his rod and line out, I did not see it and really didnt look for one cause no one was fishing....End result was this bloke almost went for a swim, he was so lucky he stopped abusing at the exact time he did, I had had enough.

I dont think I mind blokes/kids fishing off bridges even if there is a sign saying no fishing, we all know bridge pylons are a good place to fish.... as long as they do the right thing, wind in, look before casting etc...I do have a problem with the blokes that think they are in the right and do what they want and disregards other when clearly they are doing the wrong thing.

nathank
17-01-2014, 02:34 PM
Maybe instead of the wording in the highlighted sentence , you could replace it with " Not everyone is lucky enough to have worked their arse's off to afford a boat "
Shawn

Some ppl work their asses off and still dont own a boat. It can be a miriad of reasons.. But i get what you mean.. I worked my butt off to get mine and to afford the upkeep, petrol etc

Camhawk88
17-01-2014, 03:04 PM
Good point re the pontoons Grunta. The ones up here have no fishing signs on them yet often there are people- mostly dad and kids fishing off them.
Generally I have no issue with it as long as they keep in mind the purpose of the pontoons is for boarding and disembarking boats. If a boat is coming in they clear their lines. I have had one instance a bloke thought he owned the joint but aside from that most of them are really good, often keen to have a chat or even help grab the boat. I don't have a problem with it but you always get the odd peanut that needs to be put in place. Its good to have the signs there to point out who is in the right in those cases.

Camhawk88
17-01-2014, 03:10 PM

Rubbish argument. Cyclists are helping to reduce congestion and the need for more road infrastructure to cater for an increase in vehicles. If anything regular cyclists should get a discount on rego.
You get the odd knob who thinks he is indestructible and doesn't pay due respect to cars and conversely there are plenty of knobs in cars who think they have no right to be there and pose mortal danger to cyclists.

I ride a bike but hardly ever on the road. I stick to the paths because I see way too many idiots in cars to risk trusting them.

Louis
17-01-2014, 04:45 PM
There are two sides to this but I tend to agree with NothinSuss. Governments are taking all our rights from us and not everyone can afford a boat. I know I couldn't when I was a kid.

I'd rather the Boating and Fisheries Officers cracking down on serious pro fisherman type offences involving tons of fish etc. than fellows on a bridge. And from what I've seen there are so few of them in the field that they can't respond to all calls.

I think there are all ready to many 'No Fishing' signs around. Governments in recent years have got it in there heads that us mere voters and workers who pay there salarys are simply here to be subjugated rather than to actually stay out of our way and let us enjoy what is our country and our lives. If I wanted to live under Socialism and laws for everything I would have moved to a former socialist block country years ago. Now it is ironic that China has more freedoms in law than we do here in Australia these days.

I think we as boat owners simply need to be more carefull when we go under bridges.

Remember we all started off as kids fishing off bridges etc, just years ago we were allowed to do it.

It is a shame that there are so many places that I fished 20 years or more ago etc. that I'm no longer allowed to due to some Greenie and moron politicians.

Louis

Camhawk88
17-01-2014, 05:40 PM
Disagree all you want Nsus- but you would be better off putting forward some sort of rebuttal if you can think of one.

sharkymark2
17-01-2014, 07:34 PM
See what to much wind does to you! Its like not having enough sex it makes you toey because you can't get out fishing. Some of you blokes need either to get out fishing more often or spend a bit of time wooing the wife. When i pull in at the pontoon I always am so thankful that I can afford a boat to give me that edge. One day I might be to old and stiff to climb in the boat but I will still be able to sit on a jetty with my grandchildren and soak a bait. We are all kin guys, take a step backwards and a few deep breaths.

Louis
17-01-2014, 07:56 PM
Quite right Sharkmark2,

We are all Anglers. And therefore kin. We need to be kind to one and another.

Louis

xxMothxx
17-01-2014, 08:27 PM
I think we as boat owners simply need to be more carefull when we go under bridges.

So what you're saying is I should have a looked up and behind as I went under the bridge and taken a hard to turn to the right when I saw the 1/2oz hook coming straight for me?

I have no problem with people fishing off bridges or weirs or pontoons or jetties. What I have a problem with is them picking the middle of the channel and then having no consideration for anyone else. While it might seem a bit dramatic there was only 30cm between me losing a guide off a rod that cost me three weeks pay when I bought it and me losing an eye.

As far as I'm concerned the middle of a channel marked for navigation is not a place to fish, especially when that bridge crosses a significant waterway that is used 24 hours a day. You don't anchor there and fish and you don't drop lines from 30 feet above and fish.

gruntahunta
17-01-2014, 11:24 PM
How is how much you paid for a rod or guide relevant? The kid May gave spent ALL of his money on that hook that you took off him.

Shawn 66
18-01-2014, 06:48 AM
There are two sides to this but I tend to agree with NothinSuss. Governments are taking all our rights from us and not everyone can afford a boat. I know I couldn't when I was a kid.

I'd rather the Boating and Fisheries Officers cracking down on serious pro fisherman type offences involving tons of fish etc. than fellows on a bridge. And from what I've seen there are so few of them in the field that they can't respond to all calls.

I think there are all ready to many 'No Fishing' signs around. Governments in recent years have got it in there heads that us mere voters and workers who pay there salarys are simply here to be subjugated rather than to actually stay out of our way and let us enjoy what is our country and our lives. If I wanted to live under Socialism and laws for everything I would have moved to a former socialist block country years ago. Now it is ironic that China has more freedoms in law than we do here in Australia these days.

Remember we all started off as kids fishing off bridges etc, just years ago we were allowed to do it.

It is a shame that there are so many places that I fished 20 years or more ago etc. that I'm no longer allowed to due to some Greenie and moron politicians.

Louis

Morning Louis ,
Mate , don't you think that may be a slight exaggeration .
Shawn

Louis
18-01-2014, 09:35 AM
Morning Louis ,
Mate , don't you think that may be a slight exaggeration .
Shawn

Good Morning Shawn,

It may be an exaggeration in some ways, and indeed perhaps even maybe over-all, but probably in many ways what I’m saying is probably not that far off the mark.

Now I wish to point out that I have never been to China and in particular have no independent knowledge of their Judicial system so I can’t talk with absolute certainty regarding this. I can only express opinions that I have formed from talking and working with those that are Chinese, (mainland Chinese), and those that have been there. Anyway here goes. This is what I have been led to believe is the state of affairs regarding freedoms etc in China today in a ‘Nutshell’.

The Government in China is still made up of evil people, (although what Government isn’t), and if you criticize the Government frequently or publicly you could wind up getting locked up. The Government has few checks and balances on how they wield power so if you get off on the wrong side of them, watch out. If you’re a career criminal in China then unless you’re tied in with members of the Government and being protected, (so a very, very small minority of people), then you’re career and you’re life will be short. They tend to give you a few chances and then take you away to be shot. Having said that a woman or man can walk with far more safety down the road at night than you can in Australia as a rule. Crime over-all is far less.

Over here we have career criminals because despite lengthy criminal histories spanning years, they often regularly receive penalties that they are quite happy with, fines and short stints in jail. Put simply, in their minds, the criminal lifestyle is worth the occasional hassles with the law.

Now personally I prefer to just go out and work and the thought of going to jail terrifies me, with the risk of sexual assault and bashings etc.

But obviously some in our community prefer to regularly go before the courts and even occasionally be sentenced to jail from time to time to avoid working and in order to make more money than I ever will working in a normal job.

I have a friend who is a Senior Solicitor who practices predominately in criminal law. And from what he tells me I get the shock of my life these days. Many times a good person who simply made a mistake or committed what I would consider to be a more trivial offence winds up with the same type of penalty as someone who is clearly a career criminal.

It seems that in the last couple of decades there has been an about face on what the courts and the governments perceive as serious offences and what they don’t.

Now career criminals also have the advantage of having been schooled up on what to say and what not to say to the Police etc, and have access to the best Solicitors and Barristers who are experts at their jobs, rather than the rest of us mugs who either have to represent ourselves because we can’t afford Legal Representation, or wind up with a junior lawyer from a large law firm being rushed to put his or her case together as quick as possible.

Anyway I have digressed. Getting back to it. My understanding is that when it comes to everyday things like where you can fish, camp, and everyday freedoms we used to take for granted in this country they still have them. Whilst in Australia we have literally libraries filled with law books with every type of law you can think of taking away our basic rights of freedom of speech, and just about everything else. At the moment the government doesn’t seem to enforce all these laws but they have been written for a reason.

One day they will.

Louis

Louis
18-01-2014, 09:42 AM
So what you're saying is I should have a looked up and behind as I went under the bridge and taken a hard to turn to the right when I saw the 1/2oz hook coming straight for me?

I have no problem with people fishing off bridges or weirs or pontoons or jetties. What I have a problem with is them picking the middle of the channel and then having no consideration for anyone else. While it might seem a bit dramatic there was only 30cm between me losing a guide off a rod that cost me three weeks pay when I bought it and me losing an eye.

As far as I'm concerned the middle of a channel marked for navigation is not a place to fish, especially when that bridge crosses a significant waterway that is used 24 hours a day. You don't anchor there and fish and you don't drop lines from 30 feet above and fish.

No I understand what you’re saying and you’re right. They are being disrespectful and causing a danger.

In instances like this I would like to see the Dpi come out and move them off to a safe spot etc.

I suppose I’m just lamenting the fact that so many freedoms regarding where we can fish have been taken away from us.

Louis

Tailortaker
18-01-2014, 11:14 AM
Honestly I don't care if people fish off the bribie bridge but when I get abused for going under the bridge in the clearly marked Chanel because that is where they stupidly decided to fish or when I nearly get a sinker through the windscreen of my car when crossing the bridge as they cast it really pisses me off. There is a big difference between people wanting to ruin others fun and people concerned about the saftey issues of the fun.

I shouldn't have to be concerned about following the channel under a bridge and I sure as hell shouldn't have to stop my car on the bridge to giveaway to someone casting.

Oh yer, I own a boat because I worked bloody hard to get it... nothing to do with luck!

Cheers, TT

Gon Fishun
18-01-2014, 11:52 AM
This is what can happen fishing "legally" under a bridge at night.
I have left one picture out, involves a humans eyeball, it would be disturbing, especially to a young reader.

19-01-2014, 05:52 AM
I have left one picture out, involves a humans eyeball, it would be disturbing, especially to a young reader.

I think it needs to be shown to these ignorant people whofish off bridges when clear signs are posted not to fish. It’s not about denyingyou a feed of fish – more to the safety of persons travelling through thewaterways in ocean going craft. Nuthinsuss – are you going to foot the medicalbills if one of your hooks ends up in the eye or ear of a fellow fisherman? Didyou ever think that stopping people fishing from bridges was a safety concern??Or would you like to live in a place (very much like the US of A) where we cansue each other for looking sideways.
If a person was fishing from a bridge with their kids (with nofishing signage) what message are they teaching their kids? Are they teachingthem it’s ok to disobey signage? It’s ok son but just do it when no-one islooking…..or it’s ok because those rich people can fish from a boat and we needa feed…..

SunnyCoastMark
20-01-2014, 01:23 PM

Ummm that can happen at anytime, lure fishing - dont have to be under a bridge. Sorry GF, but that doesnt contribute much to the non bridge fishing viepoint.

Mattg68
20-01-2014, 03:37 PM
UNBELIEVABLE & LUDICROUS - defending your "right" to fish in illegally marked zones. I could also go drag racing through the suburban streets and also play tennis on the highway but it seems i was blessed with a substantial amount of COMMON SENSE which it seems is a little thin on the ground nowadays. It's quite bloody simple frankly, signs says "No fishing off bridge" for christs sake don't.

I do not own a boat and yet it appears i'm one of a few that can find a multitude of spots which do not include ANY bridges (signed or not) to CATCH fish. These disobedient (& arrogant it seems) twits should be fined a substantial amount and it should be enforced vigorously, this would eventually stop the practice - it can be dangerous. The ability or right to catch a feed is irrelevant beyond mention. I will also add - for those that think land based fishos have it tough, that boat based fishos are policed and fined (more so it would seem) if illegal practices are being used.

There is NO rebuttal or argument against this and i will not be replying to any such, so please gentlemen, can we all just chill, sit back, enjoy our given freedoms, AND respect each others space when we are fishing, be it land based or from a boat. Neither has, nor should have the right to encroach on / or in to anothers "zone".

Now, finally a few keys words to finish with (this is not intended to offend nor incite - just take on board PLEASE)

Respect
Responsibility
Common Sense
Patience
Obey
and last of all Enjoy.
Next time your out fishing do the right thing, give a cheerio to your compatriots, teach our young ones the lost art of manners and let's end this male bravado bullsh1t.

Mattg

Louis
20-01-2014, 04:12 PM
"There is NO rebuttal or argument against this and i will not be replying to any such,"

Jawohl mein Herr

Louis

PS: If you come onto a forum and pass an opinion. People have the right to respectfully challenge and try to rebut your opinion.

NothinSuss
20-01-2014, 04:39 PM
Geez you southern mob are touchy about bridges, next time I'm down I'll makes sure I read all the signs and wont even think about having a fish of a bridge ok !!

Sharkmark was right- Went for a fish feeling fresh now.

No signs on bridges where I am, so found it a strange concept not being "ALLOWED" to fish off one.

Never seem to have many issues on the water or fishing from land here, everyone gives each other a wave and plays nicely together.

Gon Fishun
20-01-2014, 04:59 PM
Ummm that can happen at anytime, lure fishing - dont have to be under a bridge. Sorry GF, but that doesnt contribute much to the non bridge fishing viepoint.

Sorry, I didn't have a single hook pic with a prawn on it.
Go back and read the words SunnycoastMark. Pictures do tell a thousand words, but, sometimes you need to read what is written. Also, one night, you might pay the Bribie bridge a visit. Walk across it and drive your boat around under it.

banshee
20-01-2014, 06:55 PM
I've never had a problem with people fishing off bridges but will say this......On the Richmond (NSW) you will be fined heavily for exceeding four knots whilst traveling under a bridge.

SunnyCoastMark
20-01-2014, 09:12 PM
Sorry, I didn't have a single hook pic with a prawn on it.
Go back and read the words SunnycoastMark. Pictures do tell a thousand words, but, sometimes you need to read what is written. Also, one night, you might pay the Bribie bridge a visit. Walk across it and drive your boat around under it.

I wouldnt do that, might get a lure in my ear. I would also have to visit my inlaws. So, pass

The words say this is what can happen, not what did happen ( under a bridge) . I know im being silly now, sorry, cant help myself :-SS

.....AND...... reading a few more of your words - ONly half of your lies are true anyway - which means half of your truths are lies, so excuse me for being confused.. ;D :P

sparkyice
21-01-2014, 05:36 AM
there's a boutique at the shopping center that will put a hook through your ear (or anywhere else, for that matter) for a few dollars...

in my experience, it is the 2% that ruin a good thing for the 98% who respect themselves enough to respect their fellow man.
i don't think there is any harm in fishing off a bridge, in and of itself, but when you're line's in the channel and a boat is approaching, well, reel in and let him go by. he can't really find another way in or out except under the bridge now, can he? and if you create a hazard to motorists you should be sanctioned- an accident could easily be caused from a driver startled by an ounce of lead striking her windshield.
let's go fishin'.

fishychrissy
21-01-2014, 11:53 AM
I know I'm straying away from bridges but there was a group of ruff and ready looking dudes fishing right at the Spinnaker ramp one night, and I actually ran over a couple of their lines whilst beaching the tinny as it was too dark to see where they were. I said sorry and they apologised too for not bringing their lines out the way. Had a bit of a yarn, then they held the boat for me whilst I fetched the trailer, and even helped me winch it up onto it. Nice blokes, shows there are still some decent people out there, and more so that if we are lucky enough to have a boat we should still respect landbased fishos, as the majority of them do do the right thing, as we do have common interests and passions. After all, I was an avid LB fisho until the Finance Minister released funds so I could get my tinny. As previously mentioned in other posts, it's that 2% whose actions spoil it for others.

Damned67
22-01-2014, 10:52 PM
I don't pass many bridges, and do my best to see where any lines may be... and avoid them if I see them.
But as for the argument about 'working hard to own a boat', by far and away my biggest issue is those that have worked hard to own a boat, but fail to understand lighting requirements at night...

Oh, and people dropping crab pots around navigation markers... but, hey, that's legal!
That whinge aside, I do want to thank all those that do drop pots near navigation markers that use clearly visible floats. Actually, I would like to thank people that use clearly visible floats where ever they drop them. Clearly visible floats (ie nice and new/bright etc) make my night runs so much less stressful.

So while I have little to say about people fishing off bridges where they're not supposed to, my biggest issue is other boaters... but that's a whole other argument.

Gazza
23-01-2014, 11:21 AM
what a bunch of whingers..... :)
Solve the 'issue' , stop procrastinating!! :stop:

:o Gazza solution:
Just like life-savers have swimzone "flags" , cars have "no standing signs" with arrows pointing where you can't park ,etc.

Just Put 2 x NFZ signs? with arrow , to indicate the 'Zone' to NOT FISH...basically, where the water is deeper to ALLOW boaties to traverse unimpeded....safely.
JMO , and if you don't understand my suggestion , that's ok , just scroll passed.:P

[assumption: bridge is actually **safe to fish/cast from** ]

stonecold
24-01-2014, 09:08 PM
Unfortunately there is a valid argument for laws prohibiting fishing off bridges. Im not totally in agreement with it. I fished off bridges for many years. I Still have the occasional throw from our local bridges. Unfortunately common sense is, in many cases is a thing of the past. One of our local bridges, Prospect bridge, across North Creek in Ballina has become a bit of a hotspot for local crabbers. Some afternoons when there's a few crabs about there might be a dozen dillies tied off to the rails across the bridge. Mid last year a poor unsuspecting boatie passed under the bridge. His ring and index finger became tangle with a dillie rope. It peeld the skin and flesh off his fingers leaving the bone. You can still see the bent rail. Third panel in from the town side of the bridge....that'd have to hurt. I quite regularly see blokes fishing with 50lb braid...how would you go with that wrapped around your throat?...common sense? yeah in a perfect world all boaties would travel under the bridge at 4knts and be vigilant....and idiots wouldnt have 6mm rope tied off to the bridge at 5m intervals anchored to something heavy on the river bed...but its not always the case

28-01-2014, 09:00 AM
I am pretty sure there is no fishing off ANY bridge in NSW, be it a road or rail bridge, whether there is signs or not, my local bridge (Windang) is a nightmare to drive under in your boat, walk over on the pedestrian path, even at times, dangerous to drive your car over without fear of getting flogged by a lure or sinker.

Windang bridge was a shocker for it - it concentrated the fishoes over the channel ...... I got caught a couple of times when heading up the lake.

Lancair
29-01-2014, 08:04 AM
I've never had a problem with people fishing off bridges but will say this......On the Richmond (NSW) you will be fined heavily for exceeding four knots whilst traveling under a bridge.

I wish someone would fine the dickheads doing way over 4kts in the Canal/Fisheries Creek, not just past the ramp, the whole lot. I had a very near miss late at night with an unlit tinny going flat out in Fisheries Creek.

I seem to recall someone almost losing fingers or hand (not sure) from entangling a crab pot line whilst driving his tinny under the Missingham Bridge at night, but can not find the story in the local new sites now ?

I agree we all have a right to fish but do it sensibly and safely for every one!